We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room
See the most recent reviews
Showing 178: English reviews
London
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Stayed overnight in the main accommodation (not wigwams), prior to tackling Hadrian's Wall. Comfortable, generous breakfast, with friendly and accommodating staff. I didn't sleep well on what I think was a memory foam mattress but I think it was just different to what I'm used to. If you're looking to go to the tea room, check when it's open as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tr4velbug1000
Wallsend-Guest-House, Owner at Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry if you didn't have a good rest- we do have memory foam mattresses in some rooms and most guests find them comfortable. Our tea room opens every day from Easter to the end of September. We open it as soon as we are able to after breakfast, as the same dining room is...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We stopped for tea and scones after we completed Hadrian's Wall Path and they were really delicious, served in beautiful flower china. The fruit scones were really good and were served warm. All to the highest standard. Very good indeed. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vndimitrova
Wallsend-Guest-House, Owner at Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed our tea room and hope to see you again before too long.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We were very fortunate to spend 3 nights at this wonderful B&B. It is ideally situated for walking Hadrian's Wall. Our room was very clean and spacious and had a lovely view of the large, beautiful garden. Lynn and all of her staff are welcoming, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is delicious, plentiful and there are lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shellp633
Wallsend-Guest-House, Owner at Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your time in the area. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed in wigwams on campsite here! It was great, clean simple and with great facilities! Bed was comfy kitchen functional and bathroom very impressive! Shower was more powerful than many hotels!! 10/10 would defo go back! 5 min walk from very welcoming pub was a bonus too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick V
Wallsend-Guest-House, Owner at Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, We're pleased that you enjoyed your Wigwam time and hope to see you again soon.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We arrived at the hotel at around 2030 in the evening ready to walk Hadrian's wall the following morning. We were greeted by an irate, rude woman who insisted that our rooms may not even be available as we had not called ahead to state that we would be late. Having drove 9 hours up the M6, this was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jefftilley
Wallsend-Guest-House, Owner at Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your review illustrates an important issue which should be clarified. We are not a hotel as you classify us. We are a guest accommodation which means that we do indeed choose to share our lovely home with paying guests. We do not claim to offer the same levels or range of services as a hotel...

Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Spent our first two nights at Wallsend Guest House at the outset of our west-to-east Hadrian's Wall trek; our first time to Northern England and Cumbria. We were put in a nicely-sized, very clean, and nicely appointed room; there is also a wonderful sitting area on the ground floor and beautiful gardens to walk. Breakfast was well-done and generous. Your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
Wallsend-Guest-House, Owner at Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you had a fabulous experience along The Wall.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We needed a bed for the night whilst attending 'Clayfest' and the nearby tavern suggested this delightful guest house which has been renovated to the highest standards one might wish for the price quoted and with every possible need provided for in advance and every new request dealt with likewise. The bedroom was very comfortable and the 'tea tray' had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rossergruffydd
Wallsend-Guest-House, Owner at Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and such high acclaim. We're delighted that you were able to recommend us so highly and hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We travelled over to see the fabulous lakes, with our friends who are also a couple. We are all in our late 20s and never had before experienced the beauty of a Wigwam. We spent 2 nights in our Wigwam which is very basic but we were happy with the facilities provided. We paid to have 2 bbq packs and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gamboisthatyou
Wallsend-Guest-House, Owner at Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room, responded to this review

Clearly yours is an isolated example of how host and guest standards and expectations can be incompatible. As previous reviews attest, our staff team maintain the highest levels of guest comfort throughout and we know that the majority of our visitors appreciate this.

Borlange, Sweden
Reviewed 15 July 2016

As almost all the B&Bs we frequented during our walk along Hadrian Wall path, this also held a high class. We were greeted with hot tea and a home baked cake. Boy, did this feel nice after this rainy day! It cleared up after dinner and we took a stroll along the shore in the setting sun :-) Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank itto99
Wallsend-Guest-House, Owner at Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

I would strong recommend. This was booked for us by our specialist agent, Macs Adventures, who obviously know their stuff because this accommodation (along with all the others) was excellent. The two of us had a Wigwam which was really a spacious, 2 double bed brand new blaming "hut" in a lovely sunny and quiet spot 2 mins from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pangers-on-tour
Wallsend-Guest-House, Owner at Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your Wigwam cabins. We're glad that you enjoyed your 'glamping' experience. The Continental breakfast is offered to our Wigwam guests if they are not self-catering, with the option of a cooked breakfast after 09:00 when our tea room is open.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness on Solway
5.1 km away
The Corner House Hotel
18.8 km away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#13 of 20 in Carlisle
201 reviews
11.2 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
140 reviews
10.4 km away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
370 reviews
15.8 km away
Comlongon Castle Hotel
Comlongon Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarencefield
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated at the edge of the village on the Solway Firth coastal estuary, at the end of Hadrian's Wall Path, and within a Government designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (A.O.N.B.). Four star Silver rated bed and breakfast accommodation in en-suite rooms. Wigwams are luxury ensuite camping cabins sleeping up to four people. Licensed Tea Room open daily Easter to October. Camp site accommodates up to 8 tents with electric hook ups available, shower block, laundry facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room

Address: The Old Rectory | Church Lane, Bowness on Solway CA7 5AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Bowness on Solway
Price Range: $16 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the south side wake up to a wonderful sunrise”
 of 5 bubbles Bridgethhcc, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 has a great view of the garden”
 of 5 bubbles shellp633, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“While no fault of the Wallsend Guest House, there are few dining choices in Bowness.”
 of 5 bubbles 979charless, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms appear to be equally good”
 of 5 bubbles Rossergruffydd, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Taxi to Carlise £32”
 of 5 bubbles lindacT6850OP, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5