We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chapters Hotel and Restaurant

Orbitz.comUSD 77*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 77*
Great Deal
USD 78*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 323: English reviews
Start your review of Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
 Click to rate
Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

A one night stay whilst the hotel appeared to be up for sale. Lovely location on the market square. The entrance was up the lane that led down to the stream. Our room was at the front overlooking the main hub of the town. Creaky old atmospheric staircase and corridors just gave the place more character. Nothing modern but all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank northotheborder
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear northotheborder Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us I have passed your comments onto the whole team and look forward to seeing you next time you are in Stokesley Regards Jeff & the team

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here last night was nice only thing I can say is on the website they mention about their cocktails however when we asked at the bar he didn't have no clue how to make them and said 'we only do them when we have the stuff to make it' I think that it should not be advertised on their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kcarter_xx
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you kcarter, Thank you for your review. I have spoken with the member of staff as we can provide cocktails, he was just unaware that the ingredients are stored in a separate cupboard in the bar area We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Stokesley Regards Jeff & The Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Looks good from outside, halls up to rooms unhoovered, walls tired, needing paint, bedrooms old and tired, mound is growing well in the bathroom and breakfast not bad if you have an hour and a half available till the food arrives.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Michael S I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your time with us. I have spoken to the relevant teams to find out what has happened during your stay. As you can imagine in any old building, maintenance is a continual role within the building and I have highlighted your concerns to our maintenance team I...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in room 7 and we felt we were in the staff quarters . Horrid room . 3rd floor . No lift access . No porter service And although breakfast was ok I couldn't believe they only had filter coffee as I find that awful for boutique hotel . At least offer a cafetière if u don't have a decent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant G
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mr Gain, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. With a 250 year old listed building, Chapters does come with restrictions and notably one of them is the installation of a lift to our 2 floors of accommodation. The quirkiness of the building and the layout of the rooms are also within...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here last night for work, found parking right outside, in the middle of the village. Stayed in room 3 lovely big comfy bed, staff very welcoming and helpful, the lamb was cooked perfect for me. The bathroom was clean and shower was powerful Only gripe Is i wish I could stay one more night Thank you for a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Anne M, Thank you for this lovely review, we are over the moon to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. We do look forward to seeing you again in the near future Regards Jeff & the team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We Stayed in Room 1 it was a fantastic huge room plenty of space, would recommend this hotel to anyone! Staff were polite and professional especially Neil :) Who checked us in and served us on the bar and in the restaurant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan L
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Nathan L Thank you for your lovely review We are over the moon to hear that you have enjoyed your time here at Chapters Hotel and look forward to seeing you when you are next in Stokesley Many Thanks Jeff & The Team

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

On business in the area. The hotel room was really small and the bed uncomfortable. I had no desk to put my laptop on. However, I really enjoyed the restaurant and the staff was lovely both at reception and breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank albertomanfredini
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you albertomanfredini for taking the time to write this review. We do appreciate all feedback so we can see areas for potential improvement but also praise staff for good work. As you can imagine with the hotel being in a 250 year old building, the rooms are all of different sizes. I am surprised to hear that you said...

Yarm, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

A very average venue since the change of ownership. A shame as it used to be amazing. Service was pretty terrible. The extensive menu and fine dining has been replaced by pub food and disco music. There are far better places to spend your money in the local area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sackheed
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sackheed, Thank you for taking the time to write this review - we do appreciate all comments good or bad as we are always able to learn from points given to us from our customers I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will speak to the team regarding your comments on...

Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

This was our second stay at chapters, We were not disappointed! After a warm welcome by the lady on reception we were guided to our room, we were in the same room as last time and again it was very clean and tidy. We dined in the restaurant and enjoyed a delicious three course meal and a few drinks. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh R
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Ashleigh R Thank you for your lovely comments. It was great to see you back, I have passed your comments onto Rachael and Ashleigh and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us We look forward to seeing you again in the near future Regards Jeff & The Team

MIDDLESBROUGH
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

I purchased a groupon for afternoon tea and was unsure what to expect. We were seated and greeted promptly by lovely staff and served our coffee, unfortunately we had just been served at the bar cold drinks too so the coffee went cold, however we we're given a fresh pot when our afternoon tea arrived. I did feel we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PARMO
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Parmo Thank you for taking the time to review our afternoon tea - we do appreciate feedback whether good or bad, as we take all comments on board and learn from mistakes we may have made unknowingly. I am sorry to hear that you haven't enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and I have relayed all your comments to...

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (119)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Other (22)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokesley
3.0 km away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
209 reviews
12.6 km away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,429 reviews
18.9 km away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
279 reviews
4.1 km away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
326 reviews
23.6 km away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chapters is a wonderful listed hotel full of character, dating back some 300 years. It is situated in the Market place in Stokesley, at the foot of the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors National Park. It is a favoured destination for many business travellers because of the hotel's convenient location for the Tees Valley business community, and also perfectly situated for those who wish to spend a relaxing weekend among our beautiful attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chapters Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 27 High Street | Stokesley, Stokesley TS9 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Stokesley
Price Range: $102 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chapters Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chapters Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chapters Hotel and Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try a different hotel, unless you get on with unhoovered carpets and mould.”
H6143MWmichaels, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 or 2”
nathanl794, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of hotel overlooking the market place”
184sandiem, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 14 if you can make it, great little room where none of the floor is actually level”
ShaunWilliamB, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1, 2 & 14 are Executive rooms”
396sandrae, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 77* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 78
Booking.com
TripAdvisorUSD 77
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates