We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rising Sun Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Rising Sun Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

576 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Rising Sun Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 569: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Booked this hotel for a two night break .From arriving we were made to feel very welcome ,the girl on reception was very helpful and check in was quick . Our room was very clean and warm and the view was amazing .We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food was very good and all the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aggs321
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. Simon

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

The food was great as usual, never had a bad meal. When we arrived the bar staff had no idea what drinks were available. The staff were more interested in eating behind the bar than serving the customers. A very unpleasant experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emzybear21
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for this information, I will certainly be looking into it. Simon Jones

Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Such a pleasure to always support this place while travelling in The Cotswolds. Staff are lovely, food is good, view is amazing, clean, free parking... need I say more? Do yourself a big favour and pop in for a meal or just a drink. I highly recommend putting aside enough time to soak up the beautiful view, regardless of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kev1409
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! Simon

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Decided to book in for a special family Boxing Day meal. After having had many enjoyable meals here we were really looking forward it, unfortunately the food really let it down, and after speaking to the staff it was very obvious that they weren't that bothered either. Very doubtful of a return visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 772Kate_b
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Very sorry to here this, I do hope the many enjoyable meals outweigh tis poor experience and that you return to us, If you wish to contact me direct please feel free. Simon Jones

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Was offered this hotel as an alternative to our usual one at Birdlip by "Olde English Inns" Central Reservations Office. We requested a "dog friendly" room and got the last one. I also asked the "Res.Office" if it would be possible to reserve a table in the bar as opposed to the restaurant as we had the dog. The Advisor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoff G
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for the feedback. We do not take bookings in the bar as a general rule, but we do try to cater for all of our guests. I am sorry my team member could not get Sofie any quicker for you. Simon Jones

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Visited this pub on the lead up to Christmas. It is a regular after a walk on Cleeve Common. As per usual, it was packed and under staffed. This time, we were spoken to quite rudely, with a slow blink and no eye contact (what I like to call the alternative eye rolling gesture). Staff are clearly run off their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunnydays9980
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to here this, with the exceptionally dry and bright weather we did find ourselves a little busier than expected, I am sorry you felt like your custom was not wanted and were not spoken too appropriately. Simon

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2016

We have stayed in this hotel a few times over the past years, and although it's not perfect, we like the views from the rooms, the pleasant staff, the delicious breakfasts and being able to have an inexpensive evening meal without going far afield. The room was a little small, but was clean as was the bathroom. The bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jane527
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your feedback, I will pass it on to my team. Simon Jones

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

After a long walk up Cleeve Hill, this is a great, relaxing place to eat. Whether it was just luck on the day, no pre booking was necessary as we got a table straight away (we were a table of 4). You order at the bar and the food arrived promptly and was hearty pub food. Resonably priced and lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, we do try to cater for everyone that descends(from the hill!!) on us and booking is not a necessity for smaller groups. Glad you enjoyed you time with us. Simon

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Okay so this is probably not relevant to most visitors. However what I am annoyed about is lack of transparency. We had Christmas party booked and were surprised to find the bar closed at 11 (for a Christmas party!) No discussion or even a call of last orders! What grated particularly was that colleagues had booked rooms on basis of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael C
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, you did indeed book for our Party night, and this is the first year we have run them so your feedback is appreciated, however may I remind you that we did not advertise late opening nor was this requested from us before the night. As the restaurant was open to all guests on the evening this...

mansfield
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed for one night as she had an interview locally. We didn't arrive until 9pm, were swiftly and efficiently checked in and in the bar 5 minutes later. The atmosphere in the bar/restaurant was delightful, Christmas decorations are lovely, and the service friendly and welcoming. We were very impressed with the menu and were saddened that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hankat22
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, glad you had a nice stay with us. I hope the interview went well! Simon

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleeve Hill
8.5 km away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
460 reviews
4.7 km away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
496 reviews
1.6 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
1,576 reviews
4.5 km away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
415 reviews
5.3 km away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Cleeve Hill, Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Cleeve Hill
Price Range: $108 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rising Sun Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Rising Sun Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request room facing valley looking across the hills”
 of 5 bubbles maplethorpepaul, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get wifi code from reception it's not listed in room”
 of 5 bubbles I9261LPsamanthab, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“One with the stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles KateH99, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Limited rooms, only a few twin or single”
 of 5 bubbles CatherineL6924, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 12 is the bext”
 of 5 bubbles jamesgandolfini, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5