We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Doolin Hostel

Hostelworld.comUSD 43*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 105*
USD 43*
USD 105*
USD 105*
USD 43*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Doolin Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Doolin Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 276: English reviews
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 7 June 2016

As a family we were delighted with our stay in doolin hostel. It is located in Doolin near good restaurants, pubs and it is walking distance from the Pier where you can get a ferry to the aran Islands. Also you can walk to the Cliffs of Moher in 2 hours and get a bus back to Doolin. ( 6...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maeveelizabeth41
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Great to hear you and your family had such a great time in Doolin with us and that you got to enjoy the wonderful spell of amazing weather which always visits in late May early June as exam time comes around schools. Warmest regards Anthony and Deirdre

Austria
Reviewed 5 June 2016

First off I have to say I was only a guest of their Cafe and didn't stay overnight. But I did have a look around and it looks great, clean, modern, bright, good facilities. The location being central in Doolin and positioned up a little higher offers great views. And so if the Cafe / ambience is anything to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lara O
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendation and great to hear you enjoyed our Cliff Coast Coffee Cafe. Warmest regards Anthony and Deirdre

Crofton, Maryland
Reviewed 4 June 2016

I recently stayed at the Doolin Hostel with my 3 sons (14, 18, 20) in a private 5 person room. I chose the 5 person because there wasn't a 4 person available for the night we needed (if they have 4 person??). We were all completely pleased with the clean,spacious room, bathroom, comfy common area, cafe and included continental breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Great to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and got to enjoy Doolin. Indeed our central location is great for walking to the pubs, Aran Island ferries and being located at the start of the Cliffs of Moher Coastal Walk makes it all the more enjoyable. I hope the rest of your holiday in Ireland was...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Friendly staff with a wealth on information about what to do and where to go while in the area. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was delicious- healthy and nutritious- set us up for the day!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeganS123
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments and great to hear you enjoyed our healthy continental breakfast buffet, full of slow burning food to keep you active for a jam packed day of adventure. Warmest regards Anthony and Deirdre

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Nice clean hostel. Some dorms are mix-genders but single-sex dorms are also available. Nice breakfast is included. The staff is busy but helpfull and there is a lovely cafe on the ground floor. Great value for the price. Very convenient location for visiting Cliffs of Moher or Aran Islands. Nice local pubs with life music. Advance booking recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jana19732016
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and good advice for those who wish to come as booking in advance is recommend to avoid disappointment. Our best rates are when you book direct and we show all our availability on our own website. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the live music in the local pubs. One of the great...

Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with a friend after being hiking the cliffs of moher and I really enjoyed my stay there ! First, there was the best breakfast I ever took in all the hostel I've been staying by FAR (and we know how breakfast is important ) and then we had a problem with the deposit back and the hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaux M
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for all the compliments but also I am thrilled to hear that we where able to handle your issue so professionally. We have a great team but we make mistakes from time to time, but we love when the issue is brought to our attention so we can fix it and ensure our guests...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We stayed in a private room for about 3 days. Because we planned our trip throughout Ireland on the fly, we were so happy with how quickly they were able to respond to our many inquiries and book us in while we were on a bus riding around the country. The room and premises were well maintained, clean, safe and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for all your feedback and great to hear we where able to assist you so last minute while on the bus. (we also have a lot of information on the hostel and the local area as well as being able to book last minute rooms directly at the best price on our website). It was a pleasure to...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 18 May 2016

I like this hostel because the rooms were very modern and clean. I loved the way each bed had a light and a plug point each. The beds were very comfortable and the area was in a nice quiet location near the Cliffs of Moher. I liked everything about the hostle but I thought the sitting room was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evan H
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments and it was a pleasure to read that you found our new bunk beds with their own socket, light and lockers so comfortable and handy. It was a pleasure to have your group stay with us in our group building and thank you for highly recommending us. Warmest regards Anthony and Deirdre

Reviewed 18 May 2016

A group of us stayed in Doolin hostel for our surfing weekend. First off, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Secondly, the rooms were some of the best hostel rooms that we have stayed in. Very nicely furnished, great facilities, and a powerful shower. I would recommend the hostel to anyone staying in Doolin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ddan C
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have your group stay with us and that you got to enjoy the great local surf. For lessons we recommend Ben @ Lahinch Adventures and if you are more skillful there are stunning waves at Doolin Point, Crab Island and Aileen but advanced experience is essential. For Surfers we also have an area in the...

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2016

We had two different family rooms. The first was in the building across the road from the main building, the room was great but the bathroom was so tiny. The kitchen in the building was closed which was a pain. We stayed again on return from the Aran islands and this time had a room in the main building, this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulesA73
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for identifying our two room types in our two buildings. Our main building has the cafe, kitchen (open 7.45am-9.30pm) and dining room. The private SUPERIOR rooms are more B&B / Budget hotel in style. Our Annex building has a common area (there is a kitchen but this is only used for group rental the...

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (19)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
557 reviews
2.1 km away
Aran View Country House
4.8 km away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 16 in Doolin
282 reviews
0.6 km away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#4 of 53 in Doolin
380 reviews
0.3 km away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#5 of 53 in Doolin
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winner of Irish Travel and Tourism Responsible Accommodation of the Year, Lonely Planet "Top Choice" recommended. Located in the Heart of Doolin, overlooking the Village and out to Sea. At the start of the Cliffs of Moher Coastal Trail, 100m to O'Connor's Irish Music Pub, Located at the Bus Stop and a 15 minute walk to Doolin Pier. ------------------Free WIFI, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Internet Access, Free Parking. Dorms, Standard and Superior Rooms with King beds available. ----------------We cater for individual explorers, families and outdoor adventurers. We do not accept Stags, Hens or similiar parties. ---------------Cafe en-site (open April to October) serving home baked goods,local produce and Irish Craft Beers and great Coffee. ----------------Other services include Bus Eireann Ticket office, Tourist Information, Bureau de Change and full Self Catering facilities including outdoor area to wash activity ware. ----------------We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Anthony and Deirdre Moloney ... more   less 

Additional Information about Doolin Hostel

Address: 1 Fisher Street, Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Price Range: $54 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Doolin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Doolin Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Doolin Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in a room with a private en suite. Highly recommend.”
BrettJRogers, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Go to O'Connors for great Irish music!”
Behhy, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We chose en -suitefor the two of us, loads of room and lovely shower.”
133pollyj, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the top floor at one end. Nice and quiet.”
anita201607, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“book ahead if traveling during high season”
chrisyh, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
USD 43* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 105
Booking.comUSD 43
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates