We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crake Trees Manor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Crake Trees Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 109: English reviews
Wales
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the shepherds Hut, it was in a very lovely and secluded area! Nice to not have WiFi, plug sockets or even lights - survived by candles and a wood burner. Breakfast was also provided - fantastic! Would definitely recommend as a break from the world. Expensive taxi if you want to ear out in Penrith, but cute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gussie b
ladyofthemanor, Owner at Crake Trees Manor, responded to this review

I am so pleased that your last minute decision to stay in The Shepherds Hut at Crake Trees Manor was a successful one. We have a good selection of places to eat locally, without having to travel to our nearest town, Penrith.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We fell upon this area when we strayed from the Lakes and Dales Loop, a cycling route taking in the Lakes and the Yorkshire Dales this summer. This is a "get away from it all" destination. A Postman Pat village to wander round, landscapes offering fabulous sunsets, and fields to walk through. Pure white bed linen, fresh toiletries, wonderfully quirky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SCC53
ladyofthemanor, Owner at Crake Trees Manor, responded to this review

It is so lovely to have guests who really enjoy the many different things that our local area has to offer. The Lakes and Dales Cycle route has quickly become popular this summer, and a slight deviation from the route brings you right up the gorgeous Lyvennet valley.

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and i booked via booking.com so i could pay on check out. When i got home after 5 days realised id left my Swim suit there so asked on email if she could check the drawers, really surprised by response the owner gave me! She said she had come across a draw full of clothes but had destroyed...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ann K
ladyofthemanor, Owner at Crake Trees Manor, responded to this review

I am sorry, but the paramiters of good customer service do not extend to searching through a guests forgotten laundry, sorting, packing and posting it. There was no black swimsuit visible amongst the assorted underwear and socks. In the previous month I had returned to guests an expensive watch, several items of jewellery, a new walking jacket and a toilet...

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Always wanted to try life in a shepherd's hut so when I saw an offer on Groupon just a couple of hours drive away jumped at the chance. We had no problem finding Crake Trees Manor and when we did arrive no one was around so we were able to explore, we met the friendly old cat and "afternoon tea"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrfinnegan
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We stayed as a family (2 adults, 1 child under 2) for a weekend in July 2016. We booked via Groupon on what appeared to be a good value discount. In the Groupon Fine Print it told us that 1 night stays on a Fri/Sat would incur a £25 surcharge and the owners' confirmation email, after we had booked and...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Gary C
ladyofthemanor, Public Relations Manager at Crake Trees Manor, responded to this review

Some sad people would be better off staying at home I suspect.

Chalford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We stay here for 2 nights last weekend and Ruth is great, breakfast was wonderful and our bed was amazingly comfortable. The location is great for those that want to get away from it all, peaceful and incredible scenery. The drive way was interesting!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracay M
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

We've just returned from 3 nights in the Shepherd's Hut. After not really knowing what to expect I can honestly say it was a really enjoyable experience. The location is stunning and the hut was so cosy and warm with a most comfortable bed! The shower room come tea making and boot storage room is ideal and being able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sal905
Leigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Just returned from an overnight stay here and found I could just sit and look at the view all day long. It really is so peaceful and beautiful and great for walking. The room had the tallest bed I have ever slept in and I felt like a little girl clambering into bed at night, very comfortable and warm. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie6570
ladyofthemanor, Owner at Crake Trees Manor, responded to this review

I imagine you stayed in Demesne room. It has its own entrance from the courtyard , with a complete wall of glass. So those views from the antique iron bedstead are right down over the farm to the Eden Valley and the Pennines beyond. Breakfast just outside your bedroom door on a warm morning is lovely and so many guests...

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

I didn't get to book a stay in what looks to be a lovely shepherds hut because the owner, Ruth, was so rude when I tried to make the booking. Sounds like she's had enough of Groupon customers from her attitude. I honestly wouldn't want to stay and requested a refund from Groupon (which I got by the way Ruth,...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Andrea M
ladyofthemanor, Owner at Crake Trees Manor, responded to this review

I have requested this review to be removed. The request was refused. I cannot make any comment other than......that the person presumably tried to book and could not be accommodated because we were fully booked, end of story !

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

A quirky place with obects of interest everywhere you look. Bedrooms spacious and comfortable. Views fantastic. Quality breakfast . Loads of areas to just sit and enjoy the views. Within walking distance of The Butchers Arms where there was good beer and a warm welcombe, the food not so great at the time but were advertising for a chef. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
ladyofthemanor, Owner at Crake Trees Manor, responded to this review

Drive up the track, we are just 10 minutes from the M6 Then..... you now can relax and relish the views, the peaceful walks in every direction, and a super, local breakfast. With plenty of choice...... A continental tray of hot croissants with homemade marmalade, fruit and yoghurt. A sleepy farmers breakfast in bed of bacon,sausage and egg bap with...

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosby Ravensworth
9.6 km away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 15 in Penrith
595 reviews
5.3 km away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shap
70 reviews
9.1 km away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Penrith
899 reviews
8.1 km away
Appleby Castle
Appleby Castle
#7 of 15 in Appleby
27 reviews
8.0 km away
Wild Rose Park
Wild Rose Park
#1 of 4 in Appleby
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wonderfull barn conversion at the centre of our family farm.Modernist design with an easy mix of antiques modern art and handmade oak furnishings.Bed &, Breakfast in 3 rooms with superb views over the rolling farmland to the mountains beyond. Or sleep in The Shepherds Hut, down by the pond , just right for romantics of adventurous spirit. Crake Trees Manor is remote and peacwfull , yet only 15 mins from the M6 in Cumbria. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crake Trees Manor

Address: Crosby Ravensworth | Near Penrith, Crosby Ravensworth CA10 3JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Crosby Ravensworth
Price Range: $133 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Crake Trees Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crake Trees Manor Hotel Crosby Ravensworth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crake Trees Manor staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Crake Trees Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The weather was warm and underfoor heating made it very warm but there are rooms with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles D9320OLlisac, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ruth has a wealth of knowledge of what to do.”
 of 5 bubbles andersonla, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“Peasland suite”
 of 5 bubbles margaretpk2016, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All are lovely;Shepherds Hut would be fun for kids.”
 of 5 bubbles RomaSubRosa, 1 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Be prepared to do a little driving as Crake Trees is quite remote.”
 of 5 bubbles L3rxst, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay