We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Surrone House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Surrone House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Surrone House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 60: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Visited July 2016 (not for the first time). The usual warm welcome, excellent room, a very comfortable night, altogether fantastic facilities. I highly recommend Surrone House to anybody looking for accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out from your holiday, to write your review, this is much appreciated. We were pleased to welcome you back again, and are equally pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to meeting you both again in the future,

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 15 June 2016

A welcoming, clean and comfortable B&B with thought given to room and ensuite facilities. Great value and a great place to land once you've made to it the Scottish Border! A hot breakfast which is a bonus before heading off on your next destination and hot meals available on many nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Our family are quite awkward when it comes to food. My son and I are vegetarian and my daughter has coeliac disease and has to avoid gluten. How refreshing then that the hosts here could offer a cooked breakfast to accommodate all of our dietary needs. The room was immaculate and our welcome warm and helpful even at 9.30 pm....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billyandchell
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your review. We are happy to accommodate any dietary requirments if given prior warning. We are pleased to know you were happy with your stay. and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Red Lake, Canada
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Excellent place, value, hosts and service. The room had plenty of space and the bath was recently redone. Great value and an excellent breakfasts. Beautiful gardens and surroundings. John gave us great advice for sights and pulled his fine collection of maps to show routes. Christine provided excellent breakfasts and we ate one dinner there over our 4 night stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandandsunshine
Athens, Georgia
Reviewed 19 April 2016

This hotel is a bit away from main street, which means quiet. Good size rooms, excellent lounge with comfy eating and fireplace (and drink on request). Helpful owners and tasty good breakfast. Close to restaurant and pub. All in all, very happy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank no9e
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are always happy to hear our guests have been happy and satisfied with their stay. We hope you had a safe journey home, and hope to see you again in the future.

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2016

I was looking for a B&B at short notice and I had tried a few in Gretna, but they were all full. Surrone House, offered me a room although they were in the middle of decorating. My room was excellent and had everything that we regular travelers require. I will certainly use them again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank itsbob_13
Alabama
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Our stay in the Surrone House was a quick overnight between Wales and Scotland on a family trip. The hosts were amazing. They offered us a change from the family room we reserved due to some roof work going on at the time. We had reserved through a service and they were unable to contact us earlier. Rain was expected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mom23kids2015
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Pluses:- Room nice, bathroom lovely, breakfast adequate, bed comfy. Minuses:- Having to pre-order breakfast and stipulate a time! Only 4 milk portions on tea tray (however owners were happy to provide a jug of milk) We went to breakfast 20 minutes early and definitely felt we should have observed our stated time, owner wasn't rude but did not attempt to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsDoasyouwouldbedon
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very sorry if you felt you were ignored at breakfast, we try to converse with all our guests, however, human nature being as it is errors do occur. With regard to your comment regarding a buffet table, we appreciate that this would be a good idea, but due...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the surrone house on the 22nd of August. If your looking for a place to stay whilst in gretna then this is by far the best value . For what we paid it was great value . Spotlessly clean and friendly owners and right in the centre of gretna. Beautiful place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015

We stayed for 2 nights for a family wedding. From the start we were welcomed & shortly after arrival a tray of tea & homemade cakes were waiting for us in the comfy residents lounge. Our room was spotless, great decor & very spacious. Lovely bathroom products & an excellent hospitality tray. A faultless breakfast from excellent hosts. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen S

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.1 km away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
143 reviews
0.6 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
856 reviews
1.0 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
384 reviews
0.1 km away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
299 reviews
0.9 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Surrone House

Address: Surrone House Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Price Range: $114 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Surrone House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surrone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Surrone House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The family room is right next to the lounge.”
679astan, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If size matters, talk to the hosts about requirements.”
MyraW423, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms overlook parking, but are far off the main road.”
mom23kids2015, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are good and clean, but also quiet.”
dcoder3, 10 Jun 2015 | Read review
“This is a great location where you can leave your car and take the short walk into town. All the attractions are close by.”
John2358, 27 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5