We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Panoramas (24)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 881: English reviews
Start your review of Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
 Click to rate
Pattaya, Thailand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall Score 4/10 Primarily due to the impressive reef surrounding the hotel and immediately outside of our over-water villas. Mostly everything else was a massive disappointment relative to the price paid and 5 star rating. Room 5/10 The hard and uncomfortable bed needed added support after a dreadful first night’s sleep. The shower would jam between the rainshower and hand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelEnlightenment
Machchafushi, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review

Dear TravelEnlightenment, Thank you for choosing Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa for your recent stay in the Maldives. We have read your comments regarding your overall stay in our resort. We are so sad hear your disappointments that we were not able to meet your expectations. This we find to be very unusual and for sure a one of...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we were met at the airport to the time we had to leave, we had the the holiday of a lifetime. We stayed in a deluxe water villa and it was perfect. To wake up each morning to the amazing view we had was so special. The villa was kept so clean (thank you Jambee). It was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisoliver14
Machchafushi, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review

Dear chrisoliver14, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service, the activities, the food selection and that, you are gratified with your holiday trip in the Maldives. We have already passed your feedback to all staff at our resort and...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Centara Island was an experience unlike any other. I cannot quite put it into words but I will give it my best try. First, me and my family are very thankful to the staff who went above and beyond for us. Some notable mentions are Senthil, Babita, Krystal and Cel, who all work at the magnificent "The Club." We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aqib S
Machchafushi, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review

Dear Aqib S, First of all, thank you for choosing Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa, Maldives your destination of your holiday. It is great to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and thank you for praising our service. We invest a lot of time in effort to train our team to ensure the highest level of...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a long trip from Scotland but definitely worth it. Just back from an 8 night stay. On arrival you are greeted on the jetty by a selection of senior staff to welcome you to the island. The welcome is genuine and for the whole 8 nights we were there all of the staff were superb. Great activities and especially...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Martin S
Machchafushi, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review

Dear Martin S, It was indeed a wonderful review to Centara Grans Island Resort & Spa, Maldives. Thank you for the amazing score and we have already shared your comments to our team. There is no better feeling than to be rewarded with such wonderful feedback and we are so happy to hear that we were able to make your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The service, rooms, and staff were amazing. As vegetarians the chefs made our stay even better with specially made food not on the menus. This was great for my 4 year old as he had the option to order what he liked. The chefs would go out of their way to prepare food for lunch and dinner for us. Asish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dipen P
Machchafushi, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review

Dear Dipen P, We thank you for taking time to convey this beautiful feedback on our resort and thank you so much for staying with us at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives. We have already passed your feedback to all our staff and they are so delighted to hear about your awesome post. There is no better feeling...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

6 days were not enough! Next time we intend to stay longer it was just paradise. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you and the ladies in the Spa were amazing. Definitely planning another trip. The Beach Villas were perfect for a relaxing holiday. Thank you Centara.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pamdavies56
Machchafushi, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review

Dear pamdavies56, There is no better feeling than to be rewarded with such beautiful words and we are so happy to hear that we were able to make your Maldives holiday a memorable one.Thank you so much for appreciating our staff and services. This is truly inspiring and gives us so much motivation to do more. Once again, thanks for...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from Centara Grand where we spent 9 fantastic days. We had never been there before so did not know what to expect however our hopes were up and they did deliver. We stayed in a Beach Villa with pool and it was fantastic, very clean and in a great location. We found that after a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Craig M
Machchafushi, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review

Dear Craig M, That's truly a fantastic review. We have already passed your feedback to all staff at our resort and they are so delighted to hear about your awesome post. For us it is always a pride to see a happy guest and this is exactly what we strive for, that is, to create an experience that will be...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We could not get the water villa we wanted but the one we had was very good. We were a bit surprised as the majority of clientele is from China, with only a few occidental people. The benefit of this is that you can snurkle almost alone around the island (as asian people mosly cannot swim) and enjoy the good...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mikael M
Machchafushi, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review

Dear Mikael M, We thank you for taking time to convey this beautiful feedback on our resort and thank you for choosing Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives your honeymoon destination. For us it is always a pride to see a happy guest and this is exactly what we strive for, that is, to create an experience that will...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wonderful holiday. I would compare the island as being nearest you could imagine to paradise. All members of staff were so attentive to all our needs. The chefs in Azzuri Mar (Italian Restaurant) and The Club restaurant went anive and beyond call of duty to cater for our needs. The waitresses and waiters too in all restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
Machchafushi, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review

Dear Elaine S, First, allow us to thank you for spending your Maldives holiday at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa. We love to hear that our guests found our resort a good place to stay, and that you enjoyed the menu and food at our restaurant. This truly warms our hearts and reminds us why we are in this...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my partner visited Centara as the second leg of our honeymoon, and we are so glad that we did. The island is beautiful, with crystal clear waters and white powdery sand it is postcard perfect. We stayed in a pool villa and would recommend 4/5 because of the location. They are more like having a suite and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waynie41188
Machchafushi, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review

Dear Waynie41188, Thank you for choosing Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa your honeymoon destination. We really appreciate your wonderful feedback about your overall experience in the resort especially to service and staff. “We are here for you”, it will be our joy and delight to have you a wonderful holiday with memorable experiences from the resort. This is exactly...

2,836 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2020)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (397)
Viewed
View from Room (161)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (278)
Viewed
Dining (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (312)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (695)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (745)
Viewed
Amenities (170)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Beach Suite (129)
Viewed
Other (130)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Dining (233)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (26)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by the blue ocean of the South Ari Atoll, and distinctive with its timbered walkways and colonial-style buildings, Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives is a barefoot paradise with a palm-fringed beach and shimmering lagoon that offers the perfect island holiday for everyone. With 112 spacious villas set over-water, and suites blending harmoniously with the natural setting, the island has a wealth of activities and superb facilities that makes this an ideal hideaway for couples and honeymooners, or a fun-filled destination for families. There are exceptional opportunities to discover the exotic life of Maldives underwater, with a house reef that is a kaleidoscope of colour for snorkellers, a shipwreck dive site just off the island, and easy access to some of the most famous dive sites in the world. With our Ultimate All-Inclusive concept, your stay on our tropical island is absolutely carefree, with dining, rejuvenating, playing and exploring all included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Address: South Ari Atoll
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Centara Grand Island
Price Range: $1,012 - $2,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Island Resort And Spa
Centara Grand Island Hotel Centara Grand Island
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives staff and other travellers.
133 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (133)

Questions? Get answers from Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All views from the deluxe villas are excellent.”
chrisoliver14, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sunset view”
620aqibs, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Beach Villa has veranda and direct access to the beach. Pay more for private pool. Water V's have stairs to the sea.”
766MartinS766, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 29 was great beach room..it is a little walk away from the restaurants but not a major issue. Great views!”
  • Room 29
916dipenp, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Luxury pool suite or sunrise water villa for privacy.”
L9844QGmichellep, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5