We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballyvolane House

Save
Traveller (101)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (12)
Overview
Castlelyons Co. Cork, Fermoy Ireland See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Suites
2.5 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
115
15
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
115
15
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bottles drawing room honesty bar wedding reception glamping tents delicious food the barn new friends wedding venue open fire pre dinner drinks fishing trip lively conversation memorable stay high expectations little touches wonderful christmas
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

We went for one night for a birthday celebration. It was expensive for B & B and then 60euro per person for dinner on top. Pluss's: The staff were lovely and very welcoming. The room was nice - though the bathroom was tiny and hard...More

1  Thank Grainne888
Response from Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane HouseResponded 2 days ago

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food and glad you did enjoy most aspects of your stay. Please could you give me a call on 025 36349...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The food at Ballyvolane has remained consistently fabulous over our 4+ stays there - since the mid 1990s. We hadn't been there since 2003 and so very pleasantly surprised to see it was as good as ever. We love the communal dining - you never...More

Thank Rosemary B
Response from Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane HouseResponded 1 week ago

Dear Rosemary, Thank you very much for staying and for the great review. I am delighted you enjoyed the communal dining and the food. So many people remark that the communal dining is brilliant fun and the best night of their holiday. We always have...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were there a couple of weeks ago on a ladies' trip to Ireland in celebration of a friend's birthday. The Ballyvolane House was her top pick to enjoy her birthday dinner. And we loved every minute! We enjoyed gin & tonics in their parlor,...More

Thank Kathy L
Response from Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane HouseResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for dining with us and for the fantastic review. I am delighted you all had a great time. Dave is a gem and I will share your kind comments with Steve our house chef as well as with Dave. I am...More

Reviewed 27 August 2018

We are quite used to country house hotels near our home in the Cotswoods. However, Ballyvolane offers so much more, with the owners actively involved in every aspect, and the freedom to roam the extensive grounds. Firstly with only 6 large double rooms crammed with...More

1  Thank cotswolds47
Response from Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane HouseResponded 1 September 2018

Thank you very much for staying with us and for the super review. I am delighted you had a great time and enjoyed the ambience, dinner chats with the other guests and the company of our dogs. We all really enjoyed having you here. Thanks...More

Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Very comfortable room in a well used period grand house. Smaller room in main house seemed much better value than the glamping. Good hosts. Lovely grounds for a walk. Convivial single table evening meal a good way of creating atmosphere. Dinner pricey at 60 e...More

Thank MADelargy
Response from Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane HouseResponded 18 August 2018

Thank you very much for staying and for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the communal dining. I very regret that you felt the dinner itself was a disappointment and over- priced. You are absolutely correct in your observation that the...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Ballyvolane House is an authentic historic Georgian House built in 1728. Six luxurious bedrooms with huge comfy beds, crisp linen, fluffy towels and big baths you can stretch out in. Delicious home-cooked country More house cuisine served in the grand dining room. Glamping during the summer months. Breakfast served till noon. Free wifi throughout the house. Vast gardens and woods on the estate. Salmon fishing on the river Blackwater. Fly fishing school. Stocked trout lakes on-site. Tennis court. 7-a-side soccer pitch. Croquet. Badminton. Woodland walks. Help feed the farm animals after breakfast - pigs, ducks, hens and pigeons. Dog friendly. Lots to do in the local area and we are always delighted to help plan day trips. Also, Ballyvolane House has a distillery in the farmyard where Bertha's Revenge Gin is distilled. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Tennis Court
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites
Number of rooms
6
Price range
USD 184 - USD 258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Ballyvolane House Hotel Fermoy
,
Ballyvolane Hotel Fermoy
Location
Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fermoy
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites
Number of rooms
6
Price range
USD 184 - USD 258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Ballyvolane House Hotel Fermoy
,
Ballyvolane Hotel Fermoy
Location
Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fermoy
Photos
Traveller (101)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (12)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
The Grand Hotel Fermoy
143 reviews
11.03 km away
Midleton Park Hotel
810 reviews
15.69 km away
Lodges And Mews Houses
42 reviews
18.24 km away
Castlemartyr Resort
1,998 reviews
18.24 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 23 nearby restaurants
The Forge
137 reviews
10.98 km away
Thai Lanna Orchid
94 reviews
10.92 km away
The Heron Cafe
24 reviews
10.94 km away
Bella Cafe
66 reviews
10.98 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 8 nearby attractions
Corrin Hill
34 reviews
9.23 km away
Tir na Si
37 reviews
11.22 km away
Jameson Distillery Midleton
1,752 reviews
15.88 km away
Barnane Walk
22 reviews
11.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
DBCMacclesfield
13 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Justybusty | Property representative |
Thank you very much for your message and I am delighted you are thinking of glamping with us. We have two sizes of tents and the large one would easily accommodate you all. Dogs are most welcome too. Please email us via our... More
1
Vote
maryblaen
1 September 2014|
Answer
Response from Justybusty | Property representative |
Hello, thank you very much for your enquiry. We have a self-catering cottage available and please email us via the Ballyvolane House website with your dates and I will revert back with prices. Thanks again for your interest... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Front of house rooms probably best"
Grainne888
5 days ago
Read review
"Go for the glamping, it won't disappoint!"
362aislingc
15 Aug. 2017
Read review
"All rooms are great."
MLFL
28 Apr. 2017
Read review
"Any room would be a delight as they are all different."
wynonahclaire
16 Mar. 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing