We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballyvolane House

{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice 2018 Winner
Ballyvolane House is an authentic historic Georgian House built in 1728. Six luxurious bedrooms with huge comfy beds, crisp linen, fluffy towels and big baths you can stretch out in. Delicious home-cooked country house cuisine served in the grand dining room. Glamping during the summer months. Breakfast served till noon. Free wifi throughout the house. Vast gardens and woods on the estate. Salmon fishing on the river Blackwater. Fly fishing school. Stocked trout lakes on-site. Tennis court. 7-a-side soccer pitch. Croquet. Badminton. Woodland walks. Help feed the farm animals after breakfast - pigs, ducks, hens and pigeons. Dog friendly. Lots to do in the local area and we are always delighted to help plan day trips. Also, Ballyvolane House has a distillery in the farmyard where Bertha's Revenge Gin is distilled.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport Transportation
Meeting Rooms
Tennis Court
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Non-Smoking Hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Cork Airport31 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
117
15
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
117
15
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful grounds honesty bar hot water bottles drawing room delicious food wedding reception glamping tents the barn communal dining new friends wedding venue open fire pre dinner drinks fishing trip lively conversation gin distillery memorable stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Yesterday was a very important day for our company, bringing people from three locations together to have fun and a little bit of more serious stuff. Location of Ballyvolane House was fantastic for us! Close enough to Cork but not too close. We had the...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Seamusbuckley
Response from Justybusty, Manager at Ballyvolane HouseResponded 4 days ago

Dear Seamas, Thank you very much for booking with us and for the wonderful review. We are delighted you and your colleagues had a great time at Ballyvolane House and we enjoyed having you all here. Our close proximity to Cork and indeed the privacy...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the minute you arrive,you are embraced into a charming old world of that house.Its relaxed yet perfectionism to the core.The staff are very well trained and knowledgeable.The tasting menu was delivered piping hot and with a detailed explanation of what we were being offered....More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank annemcconville
Response from Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Anne, Thank you very much for dining with us and thank you for the great review. I am delighted you enjoyed your dinner and I will share your kind comments with the dining room team and our house chef Steve. Thanks again and I...More

Reviewed 15 October 2018

We went for one night for a birthday celebration. It was expensive for B & B and then 60euro per person for dinner on top. Pluss's: The staff were lovely and very welcoming. The room was nice - though the bathroom was tiny and hard...More

Date of stay: August 2018
2  Thank Grainne888
Response from Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane HouseResponded 18 October 2018

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food and glad you did enjoy most aspects of your stay. Please could you give me a call on 025 36349...More

Reviewed 12 October 2018

The food at Ballyvolane has remained consistently fabulous over our 4+ stays there - since the mid 1990s. We hadn't been there since 2003 and so very pleasantly surprised to see it was as good as ever. We love the communal dining - you never...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Rosemary B
Response from Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane HouseResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Rosemary, Thank you very much for staying and for the great review. I am delighted you enjoyed the communal dining and the food. So many people remark that the communal dining is brilliant fun and the best night of their holiday. We always have...More

Reviewed 18 September 2018

We were there a couple of weeks ago on a ladies' trip to Ireland in celebration of a friend's birthday. The Ballyvolane House was her top pick to enjoy her birthday dinner. And we loved every minute! We enjoyed gin & tonics in their parlor,...More

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Kathy L
Response from Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane HouseResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you very much for dining with us and for the fantastic review. I am delighted you all had a great time. Dave is a gem and I will share your kind comments with Steve our house chef as well as with Dave. I am...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
DBCMacclesfield
13 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Justybusty | Property representative |
Thank you very much for your message and I am delighted you are thinking of glamping with us. We have two sizes of tents and the large one would easily accommodate you all. Dogs are most welcome too. Please email us via our... More
1
Vote
Mary J
1 September 2014|
Answer
Response from Justybusty | Property representative |
Hello, thank you very much for your enquiry. We have a self-catering cottage available and please email us via the Ballyvolane House website with your dates and I will revert back with prices. Thanks again for your interest... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Front of house rooms probably best"
Grainne888
14 Oct. 2018
Read review
"Go for the glamping, it won't disappoint!"
AislingCCorcoran91
15 Aug. 2017
Read review
"All rooms are great."
MLFL
28 Apr. 2017
Read review
"Any room would be a delight as they are all different."
wynonahclaire
16 Mar. 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
USD 181 - USD 295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ballyvolane house hotel fermoyballyvolane hotel fermoy
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterFermoy
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing