We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cliff House Hotel

Booking.comUSD 130*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 130*
USD 130*
USD 130*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Cliff House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cliff House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
County Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 24 August 2016

When the kids were small,we used to stay here all the time.the hotel is overlooking the beach and is only a 5 minute walk away from it.I stayed here lately for the first time in years,and was surprised. the carpet and paint look so dirty and tired! during the night,you could here the people above you walking around and talking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emily, Thank you for taking the time to re-view us on Trip Advisor, I see from your re-view you are a repeat customer to the Cliff House, I would like to acknowledge that and thank you for your repeat business. As you could see we have refurbished a lot of the hotel since your previous years of staying with...

Dublin
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Myself and my family spent 3 days here during the recent August Bank-holiday. Weather was very good so the beach and golf courses were well used. The location of this hotel, particularly with is sea-view rooms , is spectacular. Convenience to the beach is unbeatable. The building itself is ok although a bit quirkly, as it have been added to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul19642013
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for the amazing review on trip advisor, especially your kind words regarding the staff, I have to agree we have a wonderful team here that always go the extra mile. Our location is indeed great as its very close to the beach and golf courses. Our team in the kitchen were delighted to hear you enjoyed...

Kilflynn
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The most delightful place. The nicest view, staff, and management. Very romantic to sit and watch the sunset over the Atlantic ocean. Great atmosphere and music in the bar afterwards. Very well run by Fiona O'Callaghan.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ainenilaoire
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and your kind words about our hotel and staff. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Fiona O'Callaghan

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Booked cliff house for 6 nights for our holidays,stayed in a sea view,beautiful modern rooms. Food amazing,both breakfast and dinners,no need for lunch we where so full. Great variety and close to all amenity's.music on a nightly basis. Staff are lovely and it was great to see the family who owns the hotel to get stuck in and assure excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank losullivans
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review, your kind words and your recommendation. So glad you enjoyed our Sea View Room and our filling meals. We pride ourselves in being a family run business with top quality customer service so your lovely comment about our staff means a lot. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Fiona...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Just returned from a stay at this hotel which was very enjoyable. We had 3 young kids with us , party of 9 in total. We went for the 2 nights and were impressed by the quality of the bar food, freshly cooked breakfast was also excellent. The hotel is well located overlooking the beach. Fiona & staff were lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nora273
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nora, Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review on Trip Advisor. Your kind words about our freshly cooked meals and lovely staff are very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Fiona O'Callaghan

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Stayed 2 nights with a group. Usually try to afford 4 star hotels but this 3 star has a good location beside the beaches, great sea views and better than expected food. The room was simple but clean, with a good bathroom. Storage limited if you were staying longer. Staff were very friendly and helped us celebrate a birthday at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WhereNextl
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post this great review on Trip Advisor. Your kind words about our food and staff are much appreciated. We hope you enjoyed your celebration and hope to see you again. Kind regards, Fiona O'Callaghan

Reviewed 11 August 2016

On a day trip to Ballybunion we decided to have lunch at the Cliff House by virtue of the fact our car was parked nearby and it was the first place we came to when we came up from the beach. It did not disappoint. We perused the menu over a particularly delicious glass of sauvignon blanc. I ordered the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank omooney1975
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We take all comments on board and we will endeavour to recreate the croque monsieur so it is just as tasty as the crab claws you enjoyed. Your kind words about the claws and scampi are much appreciated and I will pass onto the chef...

Bourne End, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016

From start to finish we had a fabulous stay at Cliff House Hotel. The welcome you get is warm and friendly, the service is superb and the staff are always on hand to help. We had food in the bar and the restaurant both evenings aswell as breakfast and we all thought it was great and again the service was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thebreens2016
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate your kind words about our staff, service and food. So glad to hear that we will see you again. Kind regards, Fiona O'Callaghan

IRELAND
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We attended a birthday party here recently and we loved it.When we arrived the receptionist was really friendly and gave us a very warm welcome.We met the manager/owner Fiona and she was just wonderfull.She could not have been more helpfull.The atmostphere in bernie's bar for the party was amazing.The food was excellent and all the staff were very friendly.Fiona had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank COTTONEYEDDJ
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I'm so glad you had a ball at the party and that your room over the bar during music wasn't an issue. Breakfast in bed was the least we could do, because we all know the feeling of not wanting to move after a night...

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Its was good food not so great service u had to ask for everything no check bacpks at all. Felt I was annoying them asking for a top up or for more mayo . But food good nice view to the sea nice and clean smell and vibe .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank samsumpter32
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sam, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry you had this experience with our staff, but am glad you enjoyed the food and the wonderful view. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Fiona O'Callaghan Manager

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
14.8 km away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 8 in Listowel
347 reviews
1.8 km away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
378 reviews
1.1 km away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
2.1 km away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
171 reviews
1.1 km away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: Cliff Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Price Range: $168 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ballybunion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliff House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cliff House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The view from the sea view rooms is spectacular”
BigNidriFan, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front higher floors”
racerevellers, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request a seaview room!”
78naomis, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the front with a balcony.”
Hyponic, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“order chowder”
11patrickh, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 130* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 130
PricelineUSD 130
Agoda.comUSD 131
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates