We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nesbitt Arms Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 99*
View Deal
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 212*
USD 99*
USD 103*
USD 212*
USD 99*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nesbitt Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 239: English reviews
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2015

Music went on to after 2am, despite phoning down to reception, who kept saying that they where finishing up 1 am and 1.30 am. No apology in the morning for the noise. They have no car park so when the town is busy you have to park some distance away and carry you bags. Room was comfortable but unable to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorraine G
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.. Reviews and feedback are invaluable for us to ensure that we are keeping our standards the way we would like them. We do encourage our guests to park car outside the door and drop off their luggage and then secure a parking place. Being a town centre hotel...

Letterkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 9 November 2015

The Nesbitt Arms is situated in the centre of Ardara town, with no parking and you have to park on the street (if you get a space). Breakfast was pretty average, and being a vegetarian, I was surprised they didn’t even serve mushrooms. The bar menu also lacked vegetarian options and costly for bar food. The room we were given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicelady17
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for you recent review of our hotel. I am disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations during your visit. This was the weekend of our biggest festival in Ardara. We are sorry that our heritage rooms were not to your satisfaction. Coming to the end of the season, hotels spend winter months updating...

Kiltimagh, Ireland
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed here during summer. Only getting to review now. Stayed here in 2014 was disappointing with mediocre food and tired staff. This year couldn't be more different, staff were friendly well presented and happy in their work . I am told there has been change in management and it shows. Food was top class steak night a big hit with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharon What a great review of our hotel and thank you so much for taking the time to do so. We are delighted that you noticed all the changes here at The Nesbitt Arms under the watchful eye of our new General Manager Liam Mc Gill. Our team here are looking smashing with their new uniforms! A relaxed team...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights as I was working in the area, I could not have been more happy during my stay. Staff are so friendly and welcoming, couldn't do enough for me. As for the food, Wonderful. Breakfast,lunch and dinner all 3 days were the so tasty and will be coming back again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mullenman
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, A very special thank you for your very kind review. We are thrilled that your time here was an enjoyable one. Our team here are magnificent in making all our guests feel welcome at all times. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Nesbitt Arms again soon. With kind regards Claire O Reilly

Waterford
Reviewed 21 October 2015

We recently had a family wedding at the hotel. And the staff were brillant. They could not have done any more for us. Food is lovely. we also ate in hote barl night before wedding, lovely evening menu and service. Rooms are very clean and bathrooms tidy and clean. Children are very welcome. Special words of thanks to Claire and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorettaobrien06
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Loretta, Thank you so much for your very kind review following your family wedding here at The Nesbitt Arms. We are truly delighted that you and your family enjoyed the first wedding in our new ballroom, The Weavers Suite. A special thank you to all our team here especially Philomena and Claire for making your time here a memorable...

glasgow
Reviewed 16 October 2015

reviewed hotel before,in july,where I had an amazing meal.Returned again ,with family this week,We were all disappointed with our meals, My sister didn't even know what cut of meat she was eating,as what came out wasn't what she ordered,I wanted food to go go bak,but we ate it, But think,it wil be another few holidays,down the line,before I venture bak,Service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank irish00
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear about your experience with us on this occasion. As we are renowned for our great food, we are very disappointed that we did not live up to our reputation this time. Yours sincerely Claire O Reilly

Essex, UK
Reviewed 6 October 2015

This was our first time in Ireland and we were made so welcome by everyone at the Nesbitt arms. Good room, really friendly, and excellent food. It was end of September & even the weather was accommodating. THe only tiny issue is no beer garden, but as we were assured, this was the first week of the summer where sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank familymiles
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks you so much for your very kind review of our hotel. We are all glad you enjoyed your trip to SW Donegal and that you will return. A special thanks to all our team here who go our of their way to make all our guests stay a memorable one. As Ardara is the home of Tweed...

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We stayed one night here, my daughter and I, during a tour of Donegal in August 2015. The Nesbitt Arms was quite all right and we had no real complaints. The hotel and room are fine, the service, the people, were great, so far as I'm concerned. Kind, polite, helpful. You know, we've stayed at 4- and 5-star hotels around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bentleius
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Wow what a detailed review and thank you so much for taking the time to do so. You are so right about Donegal, its a place where you change down the gears, slow down and just chill out. We do have Wifi all over the hotel but I am glad that you didn't feel the need for it...

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We only took our lunch here, but it was excellent: attentive waiter (he took into accound the diet limitations and came with solutions), very good food. Most definitely you must order the day's special or the seafood pizza - delicious! Free WiFi - ask for the password.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefan G
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, A special thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your experience here with us. We strive every day to give every guest or visitor a real genuine feeling of the true "Donegal". At this point may I thank our team here for their continued support after such a...

Belfast, Maine
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Rooms were clean and comfortable enough. But as we were on a group on deal we were segregated from the other diners and had a choice of 4 items on the menu. Fish and chips, burger, veg pasta, or chicken curry. The quality of the food was more like a greasy spoon lunch rather than fine dining. Do not go...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan_cairns123
NesbittArms, Guest Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We thank you for the review you put up. We are quiet perplexed as we do not do Groupon deals in this hotel. I would be delighted if you would kindly contact the hotel on 074 95 41103 or email us at info@nesbittarms.com and leave us your phone number and we can give you a call to gain...

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardara
14.1 km away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
14.0 km away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 3 in Killybegs
541 reviews
8.4 km away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
23.0 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
695 reviews
24.4 km away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
3,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Nesbitt Arms Hotel is the only hotel in the beautiful heritage town of Ardara in SW Donegal. An ideal location for discovering Donegal's Wild Atlantic Way. Our hotel consists of 49 ensuite bedrooms and is family run. We are very unique in that all our team here are local so our guests can be assured of a true Donegal experience. We are very conscious of our carbon footprint in that most of our team here walk to work and all share a vast knowledge of the area often imparting great information to our guests about the little gems in the area. All our public areas have been remodelled consisting of a chick traditional bar/restaurant called Ramblers. We also have a 70 seater restaurant and private dining facilities. Weavers Suite is an ideal place for your wedding or party. The hotel offers FREE WIFI to all our guests and visitors. There are an amazing amount of activities and attractions in the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nesbitt Arms Hotel

Address: Nesbitt Arms Hotel Main Street, Ardara, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ardara
Price Range: $113 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nesbitt Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Nesbitt Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nesbitt Arms Ardara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nesbitt Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Nesbitt Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all the roooms seem ok”
 of 5 bubbles eundoc, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just ask Claire or her staff!”
 of 5 bubbles mgould99, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be nice at Reception and keep your fingers crossed.”
 of 5 bubbles DAMSON59, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for your requirements, staff will oblige where possible.”
 of 5 bubbles 315Jimwayne315, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Wifi Free and really good throughout hotel”
 of 5 bubbles mullenman, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 99*
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 103
TripAdvisorUSD 99
AMOMAUSD 212
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates