We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Hotwire.comUSD 69*
View Deal
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 86*
USD 69*
Great Deal
USD 86*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,001 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 967: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
 Click to rate
Leamington Spa. Warwickshire
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This Hotel is good, the down stairs is much better than the bedrooms, our room was good, but the view was dreadful, just of a back yard & the bathroom was awful, very small the silicon round the bath & sink was black in places with mould, not very nice. The food was good, but they must of bought a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlen9
Rochestown, Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Not a very clean hotel. Outdated rooms. Slow WiFi. Not conducive to a good night sleep. I would not stay here again. On the positive side the staff are very friendly. I'm struggling to say more than that really

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KennethOC
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

In room 325.. very cramped room with serious dirty wall stains on walls beside bed.. a bit of jif would have cleaned them. For the price it very disappointing regards size of room and cleanliness.. bed comfortable and clean. On the plus side the bar in hotel great for food and music.. 5 euro to stay in carpark overnight. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne k
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear anne k Thank you for your recent review on Trip advisor. We are very disappointed to read your review and you did not have an enjoyable experience with us. Your feedback has been relayed to our accommodation manager. We are continuing to upgrade our rooms at present. We are delighted that you had a pleasant meal in our McGettigan's...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed with a group of family members to attend the Christmas Party overnight, but the beds are tired, rooms are cold and there was no hot water in the evening to shower and get ready for the party. We enjoyed the breakfast which was plentiful and cooked well. Staff were friendly and helpful when our parents requested an extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ydv74
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Ydv74 Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very disappointed to read your review and can only apologise for any inconvenience caused. We do hope that you would consider staying with us again in the not so distance future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a few times when visiting family in Bray. I have always found it very welcoming. Staff are very helpful especially Karen on reception who gives great customer service and goes above and beyond. The staff in the bar and restaurant are excellent. Definitely worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovesgrey
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear lovesgrey Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor. We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel Bray soon!

Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to Bray many times over the years and always pass this hotel on the way in but have never stayed there until March this year. I must say that it was a very pleasant surprise. The hotel has excellent facilities and is located on the edge of town and only a ten minute walk to the sea...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Francis T
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Francis T Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and we would only be delighted to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon!

Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The 3 of us were staying here after we did the Bray 10km race. We were expecting the hotel to be pretty basic. The staff were super friendly and efficient. The decor of the reception area was very nice. It's obvious that a major upgrade has taken place.. the room (156) was very good too... spacious and clean. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SballNewry
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear SballNewry Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip advisor. Congratulations on your achievement of 10Km. We are delighted you had a nice stay with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel Bray soon!

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When we arrived renovations were underway on the Leisure club which meant there was a lot of excess equipment in stairwells and we could only access the pool by going outside around the building works. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, the room was adequate for 3 people sharing although the walls seemed paper thin as we could hear the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vgfdhigtcvjiy
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear vgfdhigtcvjiy Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor. We apologise you had some difficulty accessing the leisure centre. Our refurbishment programme is well under way and is causing minor disruption midweek to our hotel residents. We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel soon

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very friendly staff and excellent breakfast but fell short on evening meal and general appearance. It was obvious that it is being redecorated but it definitely looks very jaded. When choosing a room it is worth while checking if it can be accessed from the lift without having to climb additional stairs. Ate in the bar on both evenings during...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheatreMo
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear TheatreMo Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip advisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be discussed internally with our management team. The hotel is continuing to upgrade our bedrooms which will be on-going for the foreseeable future. We are disappointed that your evening meals were not to your satisfaction. We do hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with the family as part of a birthday group of 22. What can I say? Fantastic hotel!!! Clearly recently refurbished to a high standard. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic and fairly reasonably priced. Didn't use the leisure facilities but they looked fabulous and very clean Can highly recommend this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chelleys
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Chelleys Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you all had an enjoyable stay with us. It was our pleasure to look after your party. We do hope to see you all again next year!

235 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.8 km away
The Martello Hotel
2.1 km away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
423 reviews
1.1 km away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
1,957 reviews
7.1 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
977 reviews
12.8 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A very warm welcome to The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club, one of the largest hotels in Co. Wicklow with a proven reputation in hospitality excellence for many years.We pride our selves as being children and famliy friendly . ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Address: Main Street, Bray, Ireland (Formerly The Royal Hotel Bray)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Price Range: $108 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bray
The Royal Hotel Leisure Centre
Bray Hotel Royal Wicklow
Royal Hotel Wicklow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 338, the outlook was deadful but it was quiet.”
Marlen9, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one of the newer refurbished rooms”
153francist, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check that the lift gives access to the floor where your room is sited”
TheatreMo, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 337 had a shoddy window and was very dated compared to room 339!!”
lisaq550, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not a room at the front of the hotel”
LillianA_12, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
USD 69* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Booking.comUSD 86
TripAdvisorUSD 69
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates