We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Expedia.comUSD 155*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,015 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 981: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
 Click to rate
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

will never stay in this hotel again, room was tiny, it was filthy freezing cold they gave us blankets with burn marks on them. they put us over the bar with a young child so we got no sleep. we had my daughters communion there on the saturday they told us the package had a dj and a kids entertainer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My room was small with a double bed, tea facilities for some reason placed in the wardrobe with no socket. Had to relocate. Towels in wardrobe, no rail in bathroom. The wash basin was inset in a stand but was placed back so difficult to clean my teeth. Room had been renovated but some parts of the hotel looked very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish R
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Trish R Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear your accommodation did not meet your expectations. We are continuing to upgrade our bedrooms in the hotel. We do hope you would considering staying with us again in the near future

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We'd planned a weekend of birthday celebrations in Dublin and by some massive piece of luck ended up here instead. We caught the air coach in to Bray and our first impression of the hotel was a bit confusing as it looked nothing like we expected. Don't panic though if you find yourself in the same position. The view from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Ian F Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are continuing to upgrade the hotel. As you can imagine it is a large property which is very time consuming. McGettigan's bar has something for everyone. Glad you enjoyed the music and dancing and we do hope...

Antrim, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Thank you for a lovely two night break, when we arrived there was problems with my online booking, the excellent staff on reception ensured we were able to stay and had a lovely refurbished room, food good, leisure complex great, the dinner was very good and the excellent waiting staff made sure we had a lovely meal, the refurbished rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosiemarieStirling6
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear RosiemarieStirling6 Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor We are delighted you had a lovely stay with us and had the pleasure of staying in our newly refurbished rooms. We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I was booked in here for 4 days for work related training but upon seeing my room I immediately decided to booked an alternative hotel in the area which was so much nicer (and cheaper). The food was adequate and the conference/training rooms were ok but I seriously wouldn't recommend staying here. I didn't use the pool or leisure centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DerryGillian
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear DerryGillian Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor We are disappointed to read your review and that you did not stay with us. We do hope that you would consider staying with us in the near future.

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Dear Maureen   We arrived at your hotel on Monday afternoon and checked out on Wednesday at 12.  Below is a summary of our experience.   Room 119: Roaring generator noise, requested a room change, member of staff came up to room stating that it gets turned off at 9pm, when asked what time it would be turned on at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear John C Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor We are very sorry to read your review. I would be most grateful if you can contact our sales manager in the hotel as this is certainly not standard practice for the hotel. We look forward to hearing from you

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night with family and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were modern and very clean. Food in bar was very poor and overpriced. Though the food in the restaurant for the evening meal was lovely. Pool was ok but very dark and could do with a good clean. Asked for early check in but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clongriffin888
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Clongriffin888 Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Check in time in the hotel is after 3pm, however were possible we try to accommodate for early check in and we are sorry we could not honour your request. We are delighted you had an enjoyable meal in our Quin's Bistro. We look...

Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a few nights last week. This was our second visit. We were allocated on of the refurbished rooms and had an enjoyable stay. The staff are all very friendly. Breakfast was fine in the morning's and we had a meal in McGettigans as part of the deal. All in all everything was fine and I would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beth R
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Beth R Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your comments are greatly appreciated and taken on board and relayed to our management team. We do look forward to welcoming you soon!

mayo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Only word i can use to describe this place is Closed. That is what it should be and would be if not for staff. Cant fault them at all Really nice people but feel sorry for then. Got a devemt room on 4th attempt. McGettigans a bit of a kip. Would be more suited im spain. Not a comfortable hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gwal
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear gwal Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor We are very disappointed to read you review. The hotel is continuing to upgrade our rooms. We do hope that you would consider staying with us again in the near future.

Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolute dump the room is older then my grandmother old windows that don't keep the cold out.. the roof was falling down in our room.. the curtin was full of ciggiette burns.. the rooms and bed were tiny.. DONT BE FOOLED BY THE PICS ON THE BOOKING WEBSITES.. rude staff.. I had forgotten my swimming togs so went and bought...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gillian M
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Gillian M Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor, We are extremely sorry for the experience you encountered in the hotel. All of your feedback has been relayed to the relevant departmental managers in the hotel. We do hope that you would consider staying with us again in the near future.

235 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.8 km away
The Martello Hotel
2.1 km away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
428 reviews
1.1 km away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
985 reviews
12.8 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,954 reviews
9.9 km away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A very warm welcome to The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club, one of the largest hotels in Co. Wicklow with a proven reputation in hospitality excellence for many years.We pride our selves as being children and famliy friendly . ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Address: Main Street, Bray, Ireland (Formerly The Royal Hotel Bray)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Price Range: $107 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bray
The Royal Hotel Leisure Centre
Bray Hotel Royal Wicklow
Royal Hotel Wicklow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms that have been refurbished are the best maybe not facing the front of the main road”
RosiemarieStirling6, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't book in the first place”
johncC1793ZJ, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms on 3rd floor seems to be renovated and it was a very quiet floor.”
Clongriffin888, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room.”
bethr780, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a recently decorated room as some are very worn and tired.”
BelfastTraveller2016, 1 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 155* /night
View Deal
CancelonUSD 168
Orbitz.comUSD 160
TravelocityUSD 155
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates