We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

544 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 538: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My second and last visit to Ballymascanlon. I first visited about 5+ years ago with extended family. We came back again this past weekend and what a difference. I've never seen such rudeness from senior staff and such indifference from the restaurant staff. The only nice staff were in the bar. I was never asked how my stay, food was.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dub2012_13
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your recent stay with your family, it is important for us to receive feedback from our guests be it positive or negative. On this occasion we are disappointed that the service you received within the hotel did not meet up with your expectations following a previous stay... More 

Aarau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

the hotel is beautifully located in vast greens. the mainhouse is beautiful. the rooms offer enough space to feel at home. the hotel itself has a lot of rooms with a lot of guests on a saturday night. there were a lot of parties going on.

Helpful?
Thank hirnograph
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and felt at home. We hope to welcome you back to Ballymascanlon Hotel in the near future. Kind regards More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My little sister got married here at the weekend and the wedding was absolutely brilliant! Eileen was fantastic, everything went so smoothly and nothing was too much bother. The event room was lovely, as was the reception room, the staff were smashing and the food was really, really good, which is no mean feat, for over 250 people! The bedrooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank arosato
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your very kind review on tripadvisor, we are so pleased that you, your family and of course your sister and her new husband all enjoyed this happy occasion at Ballymascanlon House Hotel. I will be sure to show Eileen your review and will post it on our staff notice board so they can... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
310 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful location and grounds which are kept very well. Stayed a few nights here recently and hotel was very busy which is always a very good sign. Everything about this hotel is excellent - rooms, service and food. The dinner menu was excellent. Look forward to coming back.

Helpful?
Thank Beahive
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards More 

County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a beautiful room & hotel is very comfortable. Staff are very friendly & helpful. Restaurant & bar food very good, would have liked cheese & cold meats at breakfast. Plenty of sitting areas to relax & Christmas lights outside were magical.

Helpful?
Thank Flutterbyflutter
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time at Ballymascanlon and I will mention your comment regarding breakfast to our senior management team. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic experience in this hotel. Two days in conference with a large group of colleagues. Service, food and venue all fantastic. Grounds stunning. Well done to staff and management. Would highly recommend for business travel.

Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachael, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent two day conference in Ballymascanlon Hotel. We are delighted that you and your colleagues found everything to your satisfaction and were able to enjoy the facilities on offer here at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed with two night stay. Rooms are generally good but lacked 4 star touches. No bottled water. TV system, B&B.standard, saorview only. Heating didn't work at all and a Dimplex Heater was introduced but was unable to heat sufficiently. Bar was like the 19 th hole in your local golf club, not a 4 star Hotel Bar, decor characterless.... More 

Helpful?
Thank James H
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay after availing of one of our pigsback offers, as we appreciate all feedback both positive and negative. I am sorry that you feel that you did not get the experience you had anticipated but I would like to clarify on some of your comments.... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I recently visited this hotel for lunch, I got a chicken Caesar salad, it was terrible basically a head of lettuce with a small small bit of chicken and a real fishy taste of it as there was 3 small cuts of fish underneath for some reason! My partner got a burger and chip but the chips were half frozen.... More 

Helpful?
Thank flsfuels
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following a recent lunch in the hotel. We welcome all feedback both positive and negative and we were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your lunch with us. I would just like to point out that we serve a classic Caesar Salad which would include anchovies... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel food was tasty . The room was big and the bed very comfortable. The bar was very busy and sometimes could have done with more staff. The leisure facilities are great and we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank hxddpc
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ballymascanlon Hotel in the near future. Kind regards More 

ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

A lovely hotel beautiful grounds comfortable room with a great view of the mountains and great food. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Nearby Carlingford is so quaint and picturesque with lovely eateries and shops. A great short break

Helpful?
Thank donegallady
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed your short break here at Ballymascanlon Hotel as well as enjoying Carlingford and all that it has to offer. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again soon. Kind regards More 

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
6.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
8.6 km away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#3 of 8 in Dundalk
592 reviews
3.6 km away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#4 of 8 in Dundalk
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
590 reviews
16.2 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
4.5 km away
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
#7 of 8 in Dundalk
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Address: Ballymascanlan House Ballymascanlan House 173) Carlingford Road (R, Dundalk, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Price Range: $189 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballymascanlon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Ballymascanlon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymascanlon Hotel Dundalk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ballymascanlon House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
northern ireland

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ballymascanlon House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to not betoo close to function room as when events are on can be a bit noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles kdaniel2015, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“New wing where we stayed was excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles Oceanspray46, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms were good, maybe it is lovely te be in the oldest part of this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 979mail, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all room have lovely view of the grounds”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We were on the second floor. Lovely view and very little noise.”
 of 5 bubbles leosea6, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay