We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Smuggler's Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Smuggler\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Smuggler's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 120: English reviews
Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel, The Netherlands
Reviewed 20 August 2016

You probablt shouldn't visit the Smuggler's Inn on a Friday night if you don't like children. We dined here on both a Friday and a Saturday evening and that was like night and day. Absolutely packed on the Friday and rather quiet on the Saturday. Didn't matter for the food though as the quality was equally high on both occasions....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hans S
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting The Smugglers Inn. I hope anyone reading this is not put off visiting us on a Friday night because there were a lot of children on the Friday you visited - every day is different and now that summer holidays are over and the children are back at school then no doubt it will be quieter....

Ballyclare
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Warm welcome after a long drive, great pint on Guinness and breakfast was above average. The room was clean but lacking the finishing touches, matching chairs, antique tv, dated bathroom, weak shower etc. Worst experience were the beds, we had two twin rooms and all of the beds were extremely uncomfortable, couldn't sleep at all!! Sorry had to leave a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peterhkirk
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Our room outdated. (Double room no 8). Other rooms looked nicer on passing. Coffee with breakfast was completely tasteless. Although i love eggs the omelette was way too eggy with very little veg filling. My partners full Irish was nice. Nice location beside beach and bar cosy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanq6
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to learn you did not fully enjoy your visit to The Smugglers Inn. There are plans being made to update and renovate the whole property in the near future so all rooms will eventually be upgraded to a higher standard. Again sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your breakfast.

Cambridge
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

From the outside the Smugglers Inn looks tired and in need of some significant new investment. On the inside, it's a fairly normal and unremarkable bar with an adjoining conservatory-restaurant. The restaurant is the main attraction and deservedly so as the quality of the food is superb. The B&B accommodation however is very dated and felt like a trip back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaxonMan
Irish in Malaysia
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We were arriving in Waterville for the first time. We heard mixed reviews but chose to stay at Smugglers Inn anyway. The rooms were clean and all the usual provisions were in place. There are so many beautiful views and the Inn has interesting decor and taxidermy displays, however... The staff had no interest in us. We didn't feel the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gannygab
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We went to the Smugglers Inn in the Summer of 2015. We had a group of 11. We ate 4 meals and spent two nights at the hotel. The rooms were fine, but the Food was outstanding. The seafood dishes were fresh and well done. The staff was really nice and accommodating, particularly the first night when we got in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tmbrown64
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for both staying and dining at Smuggler's Inn. Plans are in being made to renovate and update the rooms in the near future so hope you will visit again and it will be more than fine. Delighted you enjoyed the seafood - all produce supplied fresh from local suppliers and local fishermen so we...

Maryville, Tennessee
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Best views of any hotel in the area as it is directly on the waterfront. We arrived in the early evening and were able to check in very quickly. Parking was very convenient. Our room was at the end of the building on the road side but we were able to see the ocean with our side windows. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank malinda h
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that in your opinion the room was average standard but plans are being made to renovate and update the whole property in the near future so any issues will be addressed at that time. Thank you for dining with us during your stay and delighted that you enjoyed the best...

grand junction, United States
Reviewed 21 June 2016

sits alone and next to bay and within walking distance of the waterville golf course. If you don't mind small old rooms but nice location and food then this is the place for you. They lock the doors to the reception area at night, we were trapped upstairs until someone finally showed up after 8am. The only way out was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sorry to hear that you did not like our rooms. There are plans being made to renovate and update the premises in the near future so changes will be made to the rooms. We do not have a night porter here so the front door and reception area doors are locked but we advise...

Boise, United States
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Stayed 2 nights on a golfing trip. All meals,especially dinners, were excellent with excellent service. Our room was beyond small, as were many. They do have some "normal" sized rooms but they were 50 euro/nt more and we didn't have that option. I would definitely eat there again (though a bit pricey) but would not stay there again. Wifi was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SSKD12
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Smugglers Inn and for reviewing us. Some of the rooms are smaller than people expect but you will be pleased to hear that plans are being made to renovate and update the whole property in the near future so hope you will reconsider staying with us once those works have been completed. In the meantime...

West Huntspill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016

The views are stunning and the food is excellent, the beds are very comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. The only criticism was the bar area, it was more like the reception area and we had to drink in the lounge that only had 5 seats, (but again had stunning views) so not too bad. But all in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JenniferWestie
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and dining at The Smugglers Inn and glad you enjoyed your stay. The bar area is quite small and sorry you thought it was more like the reception area. Again the residents lounge is on the small side but there are plans being made to renovate and update the premises in the near future and any...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Smuggler's Inn

Address: Cliff Road, Waterville, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Price Range: $107 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smuggler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smuggler`s Hotel Waterville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Smuggler's Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Smuggler's Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Maybe avoid the small rooms facing sea.”
186605Dublin, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Restaurant only -- but the food was great!”
QRooBound, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a larger room if you want something a bit nicer, but we were fine in the room we had.”
tmbrown64, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“wifi is slow and blanks out often”
V6684USdavidh, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 10 & 11 had sea views”
JenniferWestie, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5