We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Athlone Springs Hotel

Booking.comUSD 73*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 114*
USD 73*
Great Deal
USD 100*
USD 114*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

895 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Athlone Springs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 873: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Not sure. Who was responsible for the 4 star rating of this hotel. I would say 3 star. The have. "Coloured mood" lighting throughout so you can't see anything!!, the mattress on the bed was one of those spring mattress which literally had spring popping every time you turned. Lighting in the room was also very poor so impossible to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Gearoil
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gearoil, Thank you kindly for your very valued feedback. I would hope to speak with you a little further and see which room you stayed in so I can make sure this does not happen again. We have never received a complaint on our mattresses before and usually our guests find our beds extremely comfortable. I have taken all...

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2014

Just back from a weekend away with the whole family. Staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful. ( especially Donal and Elaine in the bar). Rooms are very spacious and have everything you need , hair dryer, iron and board , safe , tv, tea, coffee and toiletries. Pool was great with sauna and steam room. Restaurant food was very...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank THE-DOWN-CLAN
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear THE-DOWN-CLAN, What a fantastic review thank you so much. I am so glad you got to experience Athlone. It really is a great town to visit and there is just so much to do. Great that you mentioned " Sean Pub" which was just reviewed by The Lonely Planet travel guide. All of the team are delighted you enjoyed...

Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 17 October 2014

Just returned from a great family weekend at the lovely Athlone Springs hotel. We had generations staying there and everybody from young children to grandparents thoroughly enjoyed their stay. The rooms were bright and spacious and from start to finish the staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful. The food in the restaurant was very good and...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Tom O
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Tom O, Wow what a review! We are just delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. The pool is always a popular activities for families. Maybe on your next visit you can take in some of the local activities such as Athlone Castle, Glendeer Pet Farm or take a cruise...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 14 October 2014

We have just stayed in the Athlone Springs, there were 5 of us on a girls night away, we got a really got B&B, dinner and 30min spa treatment rate. I and all our party will definitely be back - I couldn't fault it. From arrival to departure I have to say the staff couldn't have been more pleasant, friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sb1rk1nshaw
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sb1rk1nshaw, What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for your very valued feedback. We are delighted you and your girls enjoyed your stay. The therapists in Zen Beauty are thrilled to read your review and it just makes all their hard work worth it. You are right, girlie breaks at Athlone Springs Hotel are great value and Athlone...

Ireland
Reviewed 9 October 2014

We stayed here for two nights, Saturday and Sunday night. There was a function on in the hotel on the Saturday night, hence little or no sleep due to the noise. The bedroom was clean however the bathroom not so clean. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The velvet chairs are stained, the hot food stainless steel holders are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dawn032
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dawn032, I am very disappointed to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have brought your review to our management team and we will address all your feedback. If you would like to contact me directly to discuss your stay I am available any time. Looking forward to hearing from you soon. Kindest Regards Victoria

cavan
Reviewed 9 October 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my son during the summer & we both loved it. Room was great food was lovely & we enjoyed the pool! The only complaint we had was that the room was too warm at night but the staff sent up a fan straight away so that helped us have a comfortable nights sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheekie_cat
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cheekie_cat, Thanks so much for your lovely review. I am delighted to read you and your son had a lovely stay. We hope to see you again soon. Victoria

Reviewed 7 October 2014

Stayed Saturday night for hen party. Was very disappointed with room. Stain in toilet, dirt around sink, floor in bathroom had not even been swept. Gave key back to have room cleaned but when we went back it was still the same. Other people in our group had similar problems. Definitely not 4 star..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sue67m
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sue67m, Thank you for your feedback and I am so disappointed to read you did not have a pleasant stay. I have addressed your comments with our housekeeping team and if you would like to speak with me regards your stay please contact me any time. Kindest Regards Victoria Whelan 090 644 4444 vwhelan@athlonespringshotel.com

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Not to be all about the negatives I would like to begin by saying that in general the staff are friendly and accommodating when asked. Also, the food was tasty. However I will not stay here again and this is due to the lack of cleanliness in this hotel. Hotel reception area had stained/sticky chairs and dirty tables, I was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sjryan27
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sjryan27, Many thanks for your review and your nice feedback about our team. We have taken all your comments regards cleanliness on bored. Since your stay we have a housekeeper full time on our public areas. We also have recently had our carpets cleaned and our furniture is scheduled to be cleaned in the next few weeks. I do...

Dublin
Reviewed 2 October 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with partner,bedroom really nich with xlarge bed.The best part was the fantastic hot shower.Breakfast was very nice with plenty of variety and efficent friendly staff, Food in the restaurant also of same quality.The hotel bar was abit of a letdown,lacked athmosphere did'nt really feel like a bar more of an extended food area. Pool and spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam o
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liam O, Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay. We have taken your feedback regards our bar in bored. It is feedback like yours that makes us better and we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon. Victoria

Roscommon, Ireland
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Attended a family wedding here, & I have to say this is a fabulous hotel, from the moment we checked in to checking out everything ran so smoothly, the service at the meal was very good, food was fabulous & our room was spot on it was a large double room, the décor was lovely & the room was spotless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josiejump1975
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Josiejump1975, Wow! What a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the wedding. We hope to see you in Athlone again soon. Kindest Regards Victoria Whelan

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (100)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.7 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,822 reviews
5.4 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,986 reviews
3.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
8.5 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: $102 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#6 Family Hotel in Athlone
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Athlone Springs Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Ireland
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Athlone Springs Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front of hotel, away from kitchen fans”
ShellBK, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“just ask at the desk or contact the hotel directly at the time of booking - staff so helpful!”
helenr92, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor suites are fab!”
X3188KLpauld, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we were on the first floor and only had a short distance to go to the pool.”
annepgorman, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Dont matter which room..”
589jimn, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 73* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 100
CancelonUSD 114
Expedia.comUSD 100
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates