We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Hotels.comUSD 58*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 60*
USD 58*
Great Deal
USD 60*
USD 59*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 459: English reviews
Start your review of Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
 Click to rate
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent rooms, very comfortable bed, lovely evening meal and breakfast. Service second to none - staff extremely helpful and facilitating - special mention to Rory on reception who provided first class service and couldn't have been more helpful. Lovely hotel, good food and very good value for money - would highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CK0031
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your 5 star review and wonderful feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great time at our family run hotel. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Rory who will be delighted. Rory always makes sure to look after our all of our guests....

Craigavon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

If you are looking a five star hotel, it ain't one. What it is however is a great value three star hotel with all that you would expect from a three star hotel... And a bit more, Service was superb, well looked after, owner always around. I noticed a comment about cleanliness, I take it this has been dealt with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LesByrne
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear LesByrne, Thank you so much for leaving this review for our family run hotel. We take all feedback very seriously and do indeed act on any negative comments that we receive from our guests as we want guests to enjoy their stay so that they will return to visit us again. We have completed a huge amount of refurbishments...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a lovely family run hotel. We came from Bristol for a family wedding. The wedding was excellent with great attention to every last detail. We were all made so welcome and the food on the day was delicious. We stayed on for 2 following days and really enjoyed the rest. Room was great with a very comfortable bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Hello Patricia B, Wow what a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this. I am just thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you were well looked after. We take great pride in offering the personal touch being a family run hotel. We love hosting family events and weddings...

Athlone, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a family meal with Trisha on your front desk for my daughters confirmation in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. She was extremely helpful with any questions I had, especially regarding the menu. I also dealt with Emma and Rory also on the front desk who were equally helpful to me, I have to say, from the booking to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine O
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine O, Thank you so much for your glowing review. We love family occasions at The Shamrock Lodge Hotel so it is our pleasure to make your event as comfortable and happy as possible. I am delighted that all of our staff looked after you all so well and I hope that we will be able to welcome you...

Dubai, U.A.E.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for the first time & we were not disappointed. As we arrived, we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist who was very helpful with all our requests. The room was spacious & comfortable with a front facing balcony. We requested a room near the lift & we got exactly what we wanted. The restaurant closed at 9.00...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silverfox711
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear silverfox711, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our family run hotel, we truly appreciate it. I am delighted that you were well looked after and had a comfortable room as you requested. Athlone certainly has some great restaurants so I am glad that you got to sample some of the cuisine on offer. It would be...

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very relaxing and comfortable break with my wife. Check in was quick and all staff very friendly and knowledgeable of the surrounding area. Room was large and clean. Bar area was large and both food and drinks excellent. Breakfast was buffet style with lots of hot and cold food available and fresh and tasty. All staff we encountered were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Consetter
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Consetter, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this wonderful review. I am thrilled that everything was to your satisfaction and that you were well looked after by our staff. It is great to hear that you would recommend our hotel also. I do hope that we can welcome you back again in the future and...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was my first visit to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone. The Lady behind the desk was really nice and helpful. Room was beautiful very clean bed very cosy. Bar Staff very nice and food excellent. Breakfast beautiful.Grounds of Hotel really nice. Hotel overall would give it Five Stars. Will be returning shortly. Keep up the good work. Many Thanks, Josephine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephine349
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Josephine, Thank you so much for your 5 star rating for our family run hotel, it is hugely appreciated. I am glad that you found our staff, bedrooms, food and grounds to your satisfaction on your first visit to the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again at another time. Thank you so much...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked the relax and unwind package with the hotel. On arrival everything seemed fine and the room which was nothing fancy still seemed ok. Going to bed however the mattress was incredibly uncomfortable and dipped and sunken in middle. It definitely needs replacing. During the night after 2am there were shouting and screaming coming from outside. In addition loud...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Rosita, It was great to talk to you over the phone and get to know exactly how your stay was. I was delighted to hear about the many positives but also very disappointed to hear about the negatives. I am sorry that music kept you awake however as I had explained, there was no function in the hotel on...

Cong, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very relaxing and comfortable will be back good value and great food. Very comfortable room with free wifi, Withen walking distance of lots of bars and restaurants. Sean bar oldest pub in Athlone ....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann H
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Ann H, Thank you so much for your 5 star review and lovely words. It is wonderful to hear that you think of our family run hotel as a 'home from home', the perfect compliment! It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again and if we can ever assist with anything request, please do not hesitate to...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The grounds were pleasant and green. The room was nice and we had a peaceful night. The bar was a little bit sad and uninviting. Some comfortable seating and dimmed lights might help. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful however. Emma at reception was very good, the older lady was less welcoming. The breakfast was poor - fruity diet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrosserFan
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear CrosserFan, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear about your downfalls on your visit. We have refurbished many parts of the hotel in the past year with constant improvements being made to ensure our guests enjoy their stay. Feedback is very important as it highlights areas that we need...

438 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (49)
Viewed
Standard Double Single Room (63)
Viewed
Suite (113)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
1.0 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,822 reviews
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.8 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
895 reviews
5.8 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,986 reviews
3.9 km away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: $72 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All Rooms are quiet”
Josephine349, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“The rooms behind reception are the quietest.”
CrosserFan, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the room are of a very high standerd .”
Sspierin, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Any room would be quite because the area around the hotel is very quite.”
187paddyh, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I was on the ground floor and I found that I could hear the radio outside my door so perhaps go for a room on an upper level”
tonysteph, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 58* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 60
Booking.comUSD 59
TravelocityUSD 60
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates