We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,406: English reviews
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 November 2015

As it was a last minute weekend trip away, i booked the junior suite as it was the only room remaining. I'd hoped i'd be treated to something a bit better then the average room. Instead what i got was a fairly large room with just two extra arm chairs in the middle of the room. Apparently this identifies it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tboy33
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Sitonmagee I really appreciate you letting us know about your experience during your recent visit. Please accept apologise for any shortcomings during your stay. Next time you are coming to stay in our hotel, please let me know as I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to us. Kind Regards Sinead Marron General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Stayed here for one night. The hotel is ideally located for a stay in Athlone. Downtown Athlone is within 5 mins walking distance as well as restaurant and bar areas. Excellent location. Lovely breakfast and helpful staff. Members of our party received a complimentary upgrade to a suite with beautiful view of the River. Would def go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryFil
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear MaryFil Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone and also for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is greatly appreciated. I do hope we will have a chance to welcome you back to us again soon. Kind regards Sinead Marron General Manager

Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 2 November 2015

The radisson has a brilliant location, it is within walking distance of town, and has nice views of the river. The rooms were warm and clean with a lovley big bed. The breakfast was excellent, they even had a gluten free section and different types of milk if you need that type of thing. And a pancake maker! Breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MDMB
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear MDMB Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to give us your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to place such a wonderful review following your recent stay at Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. Thank you also for taking the time to give us your feedback about the prices. I am delighted...

Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

Booked a suite for last Saturday night and tickets to see Keith Barry. I have stayed in the suite before and asked to have same one room 311 my request was seen to room was spotless. We had lunch on arrival in the bar the waitress was excellent and the food well presented. The function was very organised and seats...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Lee B. Thank you so much for taking the time to place such a wonderful review following your recent stay with at Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. We are delighted that you had such a great experience and we cannot wait to see you again in near future. Kind Regards Sinead Marron General Manager

Ireland
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed her twice in the last two months and both times without any problems. Rooms are nice with lots of room. Fridge and safe free to use. Only negative thing was that they hike the prices for a stay when there's an event on in the hotel. You should be trying to attract visitors rather than overcharge them. Plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig_Wade
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Craig_Wade, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone and also for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is greatly appreciated. Thank you also for taking the time to give us your feedback about the prices. Kind Regards Sinead Marron General Manager

Richhill
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Stayed in a Business Suite as it was on offer and it was amazing. Large window overlooking the Shannon and Athlone castle. Superb facilities, large bed bathroom had a stand in shower and a bath and 2 wash basins. All the extras robes toothbrushes, razor, fridge etc. We are on the bar And the meals were very tasty. Due to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CoArmaghontour27
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear CoArmaghontour27 Thank you for taking the time to place such a wonderful review following your recent visit in our Hotel. We are delighted that you had such a great experience and we cannot wait to see you again. Kind Regards Sinead Marron General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Spent one night in the Radisson Blu. Great location for the town centre, had lunch when we arrived very tasty and quick, service very good and staff very very helpful especially regarding the access to the WiFi. Our room overlooked the Shannon which was really nice and it was spacious with two 3ft beds together. We were due a glass...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 562Christine
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Christine, I really appreciate you letting us know about your experience during your recent visit and thank you for choosing to stay with us. Please accept my apologise for any shortcomings during your stay. Next time you are coming to stay in Athlone, please let me know as I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to us....

County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We stayed here for a short break in October and really enjoyed our stay, the food was absolutely beautifully, the dinning room very cosy, the staff very helpful and friendly (Avri). The rooms were spotless and very comfy and we definitely would return to this hotel. Grace Donegal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace G
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Grace, Many thanks for your lovely feedback about your experience at Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. I will personally ensure that your very kind comments are passed on to our staff member Averil. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon Kind regards Sinead Marron General Manager

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 23 October 2015

Had lunch in Radisson Bar recently. Food was very appetising - buffet - very helpful server. Comfortable bar overlooking the Shannon. Good value for money and generous helpings. Plenty of room to sit around.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tereva
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Tereva, Thank you for taking the time to place such a wonderful review following your recent visit in our Quayside Bar. We are delighted that you had such a great experience and we cannot wait to see you again. Kind regards Sinead Marron General Manager

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 21 October 2015

This is a beautifully modern hotel on the banks of the Shannon! The room was clean and bright with lovely products in the bathroom. The headboard was quite funky with the lights and colours. There was ample parking at the hotel . . you only have to leave your vehicle registration at the hotel reception to avail of the free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Karen M, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone and also for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is greatly appreciated. I do hope we will have a chance to welcome you back to us again soon. Kind regards Sinead Marron General Manager

664 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (387)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Business Class Double Room (56)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (58)
Viewed
Junior Suite (53)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Suite (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.5 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,742 reviews
5.7 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,903 reviews
0.3 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.3 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
841 reviews
5.7 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Element's Bistro
Element's Bistro
Cuisines: Irish, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: $84 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor and Booking.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“spacious and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles andydowe, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room on the end floor was lovely an quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 177eileenf, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the river Shannon”
 of 5 bubbles FaraiB, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the lake are stunning...”
 of 5 bubbles garethclements1971, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Improvements needed in gym facilities, especially mens showers and the steam bath needs an overhaul.”
 of 5 bubbles TravllingCEO, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5