We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hydro Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hydro Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hydro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 148: English reviews
Ennis, Ireland
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Let's say you give three stars for an average rating and start from there. I am giving one extra star for the cool magazine covers and framed pictures that decorate the lobby. Then I am giving another extra star for the location of this hotel which is perfect for touring around the area. That gives us a five star rating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robbiekeane2016
Marcus W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to find out you haven’t been totally satisfied by the facilities of our hotel. The hotel with 140 years of age and history bears 110 rooms which get upgraded from time to time. So the rooms are distinguished by size and furniture, but all...

Reviewed 9 June 2016

This hotel was lovely, the staff were very friendly and helpful with any queries we had. The location was perfect right on the Main Street of lisdoonvarna a beautiful little village in the west of Ireland. The hotel provide plenty of information about tourist spots an scenic views which was very helpful as we got to do and see a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette M
County Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the Hydro in Lisdoonvara in April for five nights solo. The hotel is really beautiful and the staff fantastic. There are many interesting paintings and the owner has clearly invested a lot of love and pride in the hotel. It's got real character and my room was comfy large and warm. There is great attention paid to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen O
County Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Ideally situated for exploring The Burren and all Co Clare has to offer. Staff were so eager to please. Food was delicious. The diverse mixture of staff nationalities ensured people from all over world received a warm welcome, and an Irish session and dome Orish dancing every evening ensured great Craic was had by me (a dub) and my husband...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrispauree
Norn Ireland
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Stopped off here on a road trip with two friends We could not get over how brilliant we were treated The staff were so friendly The rooms were spotless The food in the restaurant was top class I will return here with my family Thanks again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UncleHerbie
Dublin
Reviewed 8 October 2015

visited this hotel during the Matchmaking festival, nice hotel and decor and location. Very brightly lit dining room, 3 of us ordered, 1 steak meal, 1 fish meal and 1 turkey/ham, well to say the fish was the worst i have ever been served in a restaurant EVER is an understatement! frozen fish which was soaked in oil, obviously had...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank beachbabeatheart
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visitor experience. We are sorry to hear that you did not like your fish and you have received the explanation of fish preparation in our restaurant. Our guest satisfaction is very important to us and we always try to meet the needs of our guests as best as we can....

Reviewed 6 October 2015

This is an old style hotel, with good character and great staff. The rooms are good, not great, with good bathrooms and basic facilities. The breakfast is typical hotel fare, and during the height of the festival this place deals with a huge crowd of people. Free parking, good security, decent value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and especially the world’s famous matchmaking festival! Thank you for a positive feedback on our staff, rooms and hotel facilities. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards, Management

Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

I visited this hotel on a busy weekend the matchmaker festival,as expected it was very busy a great crowd,i work in the hospitality industry too and am very aware of the stress of a busy night. A beautiful hotel and very helpful and friendly staff on reception.I wish i could say the same for a member of the bar staff,i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share you visitor experience during the matchmaking festival. Thank you for the positive feedback on our friendly staff. We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience that you have encountered. However we are glad that you have enjoyed the festival overall. Kind regards, Management

roscommon ireland
Reviewed 23 September 2015

stayed here this weekend ..and had the best time ever ..due especially to the lovely declan who was running the bar ..what a fantastic guy ..had us all in stitches all evening ..hope marcus promotes him further up the ladder ..definitely an asset to management ;)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank murph48
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take a great pride in our team and we are so glad to hear that our colleague Declan made your stay so memorable! Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Just returned from a brilliant weekend stay at the Hydro.From checking in to our departure this morning the service and friendless of all the staff was amazing.This is our sixth year staying at the hydro and look forward to many more.thanks to all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 445pauline
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your regular stay with us. We are extremely happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us again. Thank you for such a positive feedback on our staff and their friendliness. We have a great team of colleagues and we are pleased to hear that they have made your...

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.1 km away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
295 reviews
1.6 km away
The Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
151 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal Spa Hotel
Royal Spa Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
925 reviews
13.7 km away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
242 reviews
0.2 km away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Hydro Hotel

Address: Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Price Range: $104 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Lisdoonvarna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hydro Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
10 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Hydro Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room with a view is lovely. Higher floors quieter during the festival.”
 of 5 bubbles iloveipanema64, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“1st floor is best”
 of 5 bubbles Sean072013, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“In the main building is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not in the section with no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles nadioo, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“This hotel has beautiful views from all sides”
 of 5 bubbles 75antoinettem, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5