We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Alcock & Brown Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alcock & Brown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alcock & Brown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 282: English reviews
County Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Enjoyed our stay very much, room clean bright an airy. Food was very good, bar nice ad cosy. The French waiter/barman was an added bonus with some of his travelled stories. Hotel itself very central, overall a very enjoyable stay. Vincent & Anne Carty Sligo

Thank Vincent C
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your favourable comments on many aspects of our hotel and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the near future. Regards, Aideen

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 June 2015

booked one night, first impression and the lasting one is that they must still live back in the 70s. How any hotel can think they could charge a PAYING CUSTOMER for having a drink in their room which was not purchased on site is laughable. As my partner did the checking in, I did not have any interaction with any...

3Thank mirjon
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sorry you did not enjoy your stay. You have raised so many issues, it is clear this hotel is just not for you. One point I should make - the hotel does not close at 11pm. We do shut the front door at 11.30pm Sunday to Thursday and 12.30 Friday and Saturday. The bar...

Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in this hotel on a escape voucher deal which was excellent value for money. The hotel is in the town so can walk to other pubs for music and a bit of craic in the evening! Staff were all very friendly with one exception of a older woman who didn't have a friendly word or...

Thank SMBun
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SMBun, thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. I take your comments on board. Regards.

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

Brilliant, slightly retro hotel in the heart of Clifden. No car-parking linked to the hotel but ample parking outside (free from 6pm-11.30am) Staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. Our room was lovely, light, spacious, clean and comfortable. (View was a brick wall but we weren't in our room long enough for this to bother us.) We had our evening...

Thank Marie M
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our food and our hotel. Next time you may like to opt for one of our superior front facing rooms with a view of the Square. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here again in the near future....

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015

a classic Bank Holiday in Ireland , wet and windy on the west coast in wonderful Connemara , three friends arrive at the hotel looking for lunch . the main restaurant was not open but , the smaller section was . time was 2.30pm , and this area was serving off a limited menu . the three of us decided...

Thank larry p
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Larry, thank you for taking the time to review our food. I can agree that the Chowder is wonderful but I am glad you said it out loud !! I hope you will visit again and perhaps stay the next time. Regards, Declan.

Saint Andrews, Canada
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Damp ,no lift ,miserable unhelpfull receptionist, try and charge corkage for any drinks you have in your room good food but limlted menue we stayed on a voucher with late check out but left straight after breakfast Cliftden has lots of great BB and pubs that will be a better deal In summary just dont stay

3Thank william c
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear William C, thank you for your review. I remember you and I spoke with your partner on departure, who advised of the issue with our receptionist. Firstly, you are right about the smell in Reception - we were painting that day and there was quite a strong smell. Happily, it is long since gone. Regarding the receptionist, I did...

Athlone, Ireland
Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

had lovely stay in hotel rooms where good clean warm service was good but the jem here is the food will definitely be back hats off to the chef keep up the good work its a wonderful location whit lots off lovely views and walks

1Thank cathaltone1981
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cathal, delighted you had such a good time. The Chef says a big thank you and we all look forward to your next visit. Regards, Declan.

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Good option in Clifden. Located in the center of the small town so all the restaurants/pubs are only blocks away. Limited number of rooms which are adequately furnished even if beds are somewhat firm/lumpy. If you enjoy watching TV in the room then this will be a disappointment as the monitor was basically no bigger than a laptop screen. Clearly...

Thank Spike1947
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Spike, thank you for your review. Very happy you enjoyed your stay and I note your helpful comments. Hope to see you again sometime. Regards, Declan.

Reviewed 25 May 2015

This hotel is in the centre of clifden which is a bonus. The staff were lovely and friendly. We had a baby and a buggy so no lift up to the room was a barrier......we were told that we could put the buggy under the stairs but at the price we paid for it I prefer to have it with...

Thank Terlt
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Terit Dingle, Thank you for your review. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I remember you from the cycle weekend, but did not realise you were unhappy with the hotel. Regarding the issues you raised, I will deal with each. Along with most of the properties in the area we have no lift. However, the...

Khao Lak, Thailand
Reviewed 17 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night. Very friendly check in. Very helpful and full of info. The room itself was fine. A real lack of bed side plugs for charging s phone etc. I found two in the entire room. It's a must in this day and age. Breakfast was nice. Overall a pleasant stay at a decent price.

Thank Ciaran M
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.We appreciate your comments. Hope to see you again! Regards, Aideen

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (13)
View from Room (2)
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (24)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Dining (7)
Room/Suite (5)
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.4 km away
Clifden Station House
2.2 km away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 km away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
220 reviews
0.1 km away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
260 reviews
0.2 km away
Barry's Hotel
Barry's Hotel
#7 of 7 in Clifden
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Alcock & Brown Hotel

Address: The Town Square | Connemara, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Price Range: $95 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcock & Brown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Alcock & Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcock Brown Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alcock & Brown Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Galway, Ireland
Castleblayney, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Alcock & Brown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a corner room overlooking the street, as the middle ones only look onto the backside of the hotel entrance roof.”
 of 5 bubbles MacPow, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“higher floors better view”
 of 5 bubbles robertbowman1, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I didn't spot any elevator, so if you have a lot of baggage, it might be best to choose a room on the lower floor.”
 of 5 bubbles darrylgriffith93, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Town views from the panoramic front rooms are terrific”
 of 5 bubbles rickbon, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Our room had a lovely room over the village of Clifden!”
 of 5 bubbles joekarigabby, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5