We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barnabrow Country House

Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Barnabrow Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Barnabrow Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 March 2016

I attended on the 1st of March 2015 at Barnabrow County House for one night when I was on business in Midleton. It appealed to me very much on the website and it exceeded my expectations. I got room 1 which is a lovely room beautifully furnished. It's a period property and throughout is furnished so well full of antique...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank getawaybreaker
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Visited Barnabrow in December which is wonderfully located in the peaceful countryside. Helpful and professional staff who were very attentive. Excellent food and a house with plenty of character. Overall very welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorb107
Ennis
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We stayed in the main house in Barnabrow and it was a fantastic fun night with amazing food and staff. We had a cookery demo from the head chef Stuart which was fantastic. The house and surrounding area is just a great place to relax and enjoy the countryside. Will definitely return and stay longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne B
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 20 February 2016

This is a unique wedding location for a couple who want a wedding with a different country feel to it. The old stone buildings are beautiful and the informal gardens are in keeping with the classic estate. The food was absolutely beautiful, the couple (my sister and brother-in-law) opted for the sharing menu for their 150 guests. Everything was done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

I was in Barnabrow for my friends wedding, wow what a place. The staff were very welcoming, very nice, and the food was outstanding. On arrival we were greeted, by two wonderful staff who showed us to our room. We were then directed to go to the next building where we were greeted by mulled wine and a roaring fire....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enrique C
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 19 February 2016

I attended a wedding celebration at Barnabrow Country House and was very impressed by the place and the staff. It is a really beautiful setting, and an enchanting and characterful venue. And the food was wonderful too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Unbelievable quality and value!! My husband and I enjoyed a valentines dinner for two at Barnabrow house last weekend. The price of €35 for a 5 course evening meal including glass of prosecco was fantastic value. We were blown away by the menu and standard of the evening. It was a surprise from start to finish. We had the amuse...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna L
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

Had a great get together with friends in this lovely old house with bags of charm. Fabulous dinner, met Chef Stuart Bowes, who talked to us about his food and how he sources great local produce. Our rooms were cosy yet stylish. Staff so helpful. After a hearty breakfast, we walked for miles on a sandy beach 5 minutes drive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We were recently lucky enough to be invited to a wedding in Barnabrow and we were bowled over by the gorgeous location in East Cork and the intimate and private day that the bride and groom and their friends all enjoyed. We loved the fact that the whole premises was given over to the wedding party and their guests which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ally H
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed with room number 1 in the main house. There was no heating in the bedroom after we came back from Dinner or when we woke up in the morning. The bathroom was like an ice box and the shower was only luke warm. There was a banging noise all night which we eventually realised was the window. I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sinead B
geraldine k, Owner at Barnabrow Country House, responded to this review

While I appreciate that you were understandably unhappy that our heating system had broken down overnight, it is untrue to say that we were not interested in feedback. We repeatedly apologised to you and explained what had gone wrong. The receptionist also asked you to write down all of your complaints explaining that such feedback is helpful to the business....

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midleton
4.9 km away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,576 reviews
8.0 km away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
656 reviews
5.9 km away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
395 reviews
14.4 km away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,009 reviews
4.7 km away
Kilmahon House
Kilmahon House
#2 of 5 in Shanagarry
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Barnabrow Country House, dating from 1639, has been lovingly and extensively restored over the past ten years. It now proudly stands as one of the most stunning wedding venues in Munster. It sprawls over 35 acres, has 22 individually-designed bedrooms and a large medieval-style banqueting hall that seats 150 guests as well as some traditional self-catering cottages. It is relaxed and friendly and offers a truly different ambiance for celebrations that are bespoke and exclusive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barnabrow Country House

Address: Cloyne, Midleton, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Midleton
Price Range: $138 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Barnabrow Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnabrow Country House Hotel Midleton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barnabrow Country House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Barnabrow Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms outside the main house are very small and far from comfortable.”
TomandHope, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We had the bridal suite which was fab!”
aineniriain650, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in the main house but room 11 is lovely, as are almost all the rooms.”
erma942, 14 Oct 2015 | Read review
“I stayed in the main house. I heard from some guests in the cottages that their accommodations were better.”
Tomatonose, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Dont be in a rush for a shower in the morning as the water takes time to heat up. Only wifi in certain areas.”
Carmel51, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates