We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Holyrood Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Holyrood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,022 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Holyrood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,017: English reviews
carnlough
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

15 of us stayed late November to celebrate our Dad's 70th birthday. Food was excellent as were the staff from reception to bar Staff and night staff. Leisure spa was a bonus. Only downside was that rooms were a bit dark and the decor in rooms could be modernised. Aside from that, the Hotel is grand and situated in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garybhoy16
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Garybhoy16, Thank you for your kind comments following your stay with us. We have a great team here at the Holyrood who are always willing to go the extra mile for our guests. I will pass on your kind comments to the team. I hope you and all your family enjoyed your dads birthday celebrations and we would love...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We went for a weekend we loved it .we couldn't get outside as the weather was atrocious .so thank goodness hotel was very comfortable, the staff were lovely and helpful, the rooms were nice, and the food was yummy .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimbetts
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kimbetts, Thank you for your recent review. It is with great pleasure to read your positive feedback. I will pass your comments on to the staff. I am so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you back to the Holyrood Hotel in the near future for another stay.

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Our room was very basic with very worn furniture. The dressing table surface was completely worn with flaking varnish. The sofa was very dirty. The shower was over the bath and almost impossible to switch off, brute force was required. The carpet was almost thread bare. To be honest it didn't create a good first impression. On the positive side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Teresa, Thank you for choosing to visit us and for taking the time to provide a review of your experience with our hotel. As a family run hotel it is important to us that guests are satisfied with the service and hospitality provided and I am sorry that there was elements of your stay you were unhappy with. I...

Reviewed 7 December 2015

Just back from a girls only Christmas weekend. The hotel is lovely. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfy. The spa was excellent, I had a back massage which was fab. We had breakfast both mornings and a 4 course dinner in the restaurant . The entertainment was great, music both nights and a disco on Saturday night. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lsell15
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Isell15, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am delighted you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and had time to relax in our Escape Spa. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards Audrey McEniff

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015

would like to thank everyone at the holyrood hotel we were there from the 4th - 6th december for a christmas party weekend and had a ball. Food was great staff so friendly spa treatment was so relaxing cant say anything bad about the stay. The price you would not get this treatment for the price we paid weather was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank margaret6253
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and had time to sample some treatments in our Escape Spa. I will pass on your kind words to our staff and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards Audrey McEniff

Reviewed 2 December 2015 via mobile

Had a fantastic weekend in the Holyrood celebrating my mums 50th birthday with a large group of girls!From beginning to end was a great stay, loved the rooms, the food and the fabulous spa, treatments very well done and reasonably priced (loved my make up!!)such great value for money!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aislinn D
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Aislinn, Thank you for your positive feedback. I am delighted you all enjoyed the birthday celebrations and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards Audrey McEniff

Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

When we arrived we were given the room key . Not sure if the receptionist thought we had stayed before but no directions to room etc ..even in the room the information booklet didnt even have the breakfast times in it or the bar opening times .. very poor standard in room old decor beds very uncomfortable and space under...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jacquelinemac67
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jacquelinemac67, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for choosing to stay with us. I would like to apologise on behalf of myself and the team that there were elements of your stay which you found disappointing. We did have an ongoing problem with our steam room which has now been fixed and I am...

Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

Went here for a spoiling break, great value for money, seaweed and hydro baths were bliss, we had our 4 course meal on the 2nd night and it was amazing, the 2 young bar waiting staff were very attentive under the pressure of the packed restaurant,the only bad thing about the whole experience was the smell of smoke inside our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fooddrinktaster
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review. We believe that recommending us to your friends and family is the highest compliment. I am delighted you had time to relax in our Escape Spa. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards Audrey McEniff

Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

We r just back frm a 2 nite spoiling deal stay and we couldn't fault it excellent value for money the seaweed bath and hydro bath were included and we both enjoyed them the 4 course meal on our 2nd nite was delicious as was breakfast on both mornings the room was clean and cosy staff were v friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Audrey McEniff

Reviewed 23 November 2015

Fab hotel,great staff and very comfy rooms,overall great value for money. Great location,handy to everything,facing amusements which is handy for familys,food is lovely and you get a great service,really friendly staff which go out of their way to make sure you have all you need.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adrienne m
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adrienne, Thank you for your recent review. It is with great pleasure to read your positive feedback. I will pass your comments on to the staff. I am so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you back to the Holyrood Hotel in the near future for another stay. Kind Regards Audrey...

321 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (131)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.3 km away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
947 reviews
0.1 km away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
330 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
149 reviews
22.0 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
668 reviews
9.1 km away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Price Range: $123 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Holyrood Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Holyrood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring some biscuits as none are supplied with the tea / coffee in the room ,”
 of 5 bubbles pattyUlster, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the sea are good”
 of 5 bubbles Bracken2014, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room was facing the Atlantic I don't have any complaints”
 of 5 bubbles rosiemullan22, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“get a front facing room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles ethnamurray1, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room far from the bar if you dont want to hear loud live music in your room”
 of 5 bubbles 355clarer, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay