We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ice House Hotel

Save
Traveller (528)
Room & Suite (177)
Dining (38)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good23%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“hot tub”(93 reviews)
“the river”(450 reviews)
“chill spa”(41 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,414)
There are newer reviews for The Ice House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,405 results
Traveller rating
813
332
158
63
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
813
332
158
63
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubthe riverchill spaon arrivalfloor to ceiling windowsriverside suiterelaxation roombartra suiteheritage suitespa treatmentsspa areaglass walloutdoor saunavoya productswooden bathmoy suitesteam room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 1,405 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a night with dinner included. Room for B&B was €150 for the night. Very reasonable priced.. we really liked our room. Very comfortable and clean. Relaxing colours and a large bathtub. Only one issue with the room. It was on the ground floor...More

Thank D8Venturer
Response from ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, General Manager at The Ice House HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay but have also noted the issue with the ground floor room. It is with this information that we can try and improve each guests...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very disorganised in the bar and dining area.Service was slow and staff very poorly trained.Our bedroom beside an exit door meant we could regularly hear bottles and bins being emptied resulting in a noisy experience overall. NOT relaxing and definitely overpriced. Would not recommendMore

4  Thank judith D
Response from ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, General Manager at The Ice House HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Judith, Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We were disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience with us , if you would like to discuss this in more detail please call us on 096 23500. Regards Niall Kerins...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We celebrated our anniversaries with some good friends last night, and this is one of the most enjoyable hotels I have stayed in. We had a very large traditional suite, and our friends booked a new modern suite. Both had great river views. We enjoyed...More

1  Thank DavidCAnnahilt
Response from ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, General Manager at The Ice House HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind review on trip advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff here will appreciate the kind comments regarding your stay. We hope to welcome...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What hotel hires a window cleaner to clean outside my bathroom window at 9am. Imagine how I felt when I came face to face with a strange man after I came out of my shower. You think you’re in a safe environment on the 2nd...More

4  Thank Stella C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly I want to say that myself and husband just spent two nights here as a break from kids and family life etc... all in all we had a lovely time. But honesty I feel that was because of the break rather than the hotel...More

1  Thank aineplunkett
View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
USD 170 - USD 338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
USD 170 - USD 338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (528)
Room & Suite (177)
Dining (38)
Pool & Beach (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mollykinz
1 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Keitho75 | Reviewed this property |
Parking is exceptionally limited. They say they have 32 rooms but they don't have 32 spaces. it was an issue for us the weekend we were there and ended up having to park on the foothpath. to get to spa from room you have to... More
1
Vote
Maria-Goretti C
25 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from eleanor c | Reviewed this property |
I agree with the above but anytime we have stayed which is very often I have seen kids . Ballina is a vibrant town there is a play area on the cathedral road and a play area near the large store called Archers There are... More
0
Votes
Abigail B
30 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from SunshineGeraldine | Reviewed this property |
No bath but fabulous walk in shower
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Traditional suite is huge and has a great bed, modern rooms are closer to the edge of the river, both great"
Read review
"Don’t stay on lower floor as looking out at crappy railing. The higher the better. The older rooms/suites..."
Read review
"The River view suites are spacious."
Read review
"Upgrade to a Riverside room - views are spectacular"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing