We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Great National Hotel Ballina

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Great National Hotel Ballina
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 150: English reviews
Bethpage
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Great service . Good food: breakfast & craving. Nice atmosphere. Lovely hotel. Just a short drive to the town center. I would definitely recommend & stay again at the National Ballina Hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marymI6646PK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here weekend of 6th &7th of January and want to be honest, the hotel is perfect clean and spacious also room was same ,breakfast wasn't great but the dinners were lovely, all the staff were very helpful and friendly bar 1 lady in the bar/restaurant which I mentioned at reception on checking out,in all my years of going away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vinnie C
Reviewed 1 week ago

There are pluses and minuses to this Hotel..,.and I am trying to make a fair and honest assessment...also noting that this review refers to a 3-course lunch provided for a goup of approx 25 ladies (booked in advance). The plus for location is that this hotel is close to Ballina..but off the main Foxford / Ballina road, visible from the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Caroline B
A TripAdvisor Member
Clane, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Attended a family wedding here. Staff were extremely friendly & provided a great service. The food provided at the wedding was tasty. Service was a bit slow, which I put down to the fact the wedding was quite a big one. The bar in the function room is a bit small to cater to big weddings but the bar staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ballina, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with my granddaughter , bedroom was lovely plenty of room , warm as it was freezing outside location is perfect no noise from outside 2 minute drive into town Swimming pool fabulous ,nice size and lovely and warm , stream room nice and hot Breakfast was nice girls serving where lovely very friendly and helpful Would reccomend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerry s
Jane_OHora, Sales and Marketing Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this review

Hi Kerry S, Happy New Year! Thank you so much for such a lovely review. I am so delighted to hear that you and your granddaughter enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your feedback onto the staff and in particular, the breakfast supervisor. We hope to see you back at the Great National Hotel Ballina again soon. Kind...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed new ur eve ..v disappointed with the music /lack of decoration and over all spirit of a new yrs eve party.!food service was v poor having to clean off your own table is a no no having to ask waitresses 3 times to clean the table and then cleaning it your self is not on... Entertainment!!. Well having been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
Jane_OHora, Sales and Marketing Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this review

Hi Alan, Happy New Year! I am so sorry to hear of your poor experience with us here on New Years Eve. We like to provide a 4 star standard across all areas of the hotel so to hear that you were clearing your own table is really disappointing. I will pass on your feedback to the bar manager on...

ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this hotel last minute through supervalu. Was delighted we did as hotel was very clean throughout, well maintained and modern . Good free wifi throughout the hotel. Top marks to all staff as were very friendly and knew their job well. Only complaint was breakfast plates were too small. Felt very greedy when the standard breakfast wouldnt fit on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maj55555
Jane_OHora, Sales and Marketing Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this review

Hi Maj55555, Happy New Year to you and your family! Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so nice to hear good feedback and I will make sure to pass it onto all staff. We're delighted the kids enjoyed the Kids Club. I will pass your feedback about the children going to the toilets alone onto the...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely few days away in Ballina with the family. Nice and clean hotel, rooms very spacious. Staff were great. Had a meal in the bar on the first night, very nice it was. Watch Liverpool win on sky which always adds to the event. Only 20 mins drive from the beach at Enniscrone for the morning walk....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seanconn695
Jane_OHora, Sales and Marketing Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this review

Hi Sean, Happy New Year to you and your family! Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you all had a good time and enjoyed your stay (personally I am not so happy on the Liverpool win!). We will be running weekly Kid's Entertainment shows as well as the regular Kid's Club at peak times during the...

Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

attended a wedding in mount falcon hotel in december.stayed in this hotel the night before & the night of the wedding.ideal location only about 10 minutes drive between the hotels.receptionist in hotel ballina arranged taxi(jimmy's taxi) to bring us back after the wedding.taxi arrived on time,cost €10,perfect.lovely hotel.plenty of room for parking.clean & spacious bed room.tea/coffee making facilities in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
Jane_OHora, Sales and Marketing Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this review

Hi Matt, Happy New Year! Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a lovely time at the wedding. Hopefully we will see you back here soon for a break away with us. Thanks, Jane

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to this hotel for a weekend as we had a wedding. The hotel is 10 min-drive away from the train station. If you don't have a car, there are a few taxis in town that can help you (make sure you get a driver's card for later if need be!). The bedroom was very spacious and clean. Bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aurore_Frenchette
Jane_OHora, Sales and Marketing Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this review

Hi Aurore, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you liked the bedroom and felt it was spacious. Also, we are really happy that you felt the hotel gave good value for money. It is very disappointing to hear that you had a negative experience at breakfast. We aim to deliver a 4 star standard across the hotel...

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
2.9 km away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
425 reviews
3.9 km away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
540 reviews
4.7 km away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ballina
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#2 of 9 in Ballina
977 reviews
5.3 km away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#1 of 9 in Ballina
459 reviews
13.8 km away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Great National Hotel Ballina

Address: N 59 Dublin Road, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Price Range: $56 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great National Hotel Ballina 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Great National Hotel Ballina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ballina
Ballina Ramada
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great National Hotel Ballina staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Tucson
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Great National Hotel Ballina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Everest is great for Indian food in the town.”
 of 5 bubbles seanconn695, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ground floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles monica227, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room is a good room, stayed as a couple & room very spacious & very comfortable!”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Very close to Ballina Town Centre. Good selection of rooms. good dining service.”
 of 5 bubbles alma1dolan, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The view from most rooms overlook the garden areas.”
 of 5 bubbles martinT8985FJ, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay