We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Talbot Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Talbot Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 334: English reviews
Start your review of Talbot Hotel
 Click to rate
Mountmellick, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Everytime when on business on The Shell Gas Line I always stay in The Talbot as I love it here. Greeted every time so pleasently, the staff are lovely and so accommodating. My early breakfast request was no problem to the girls or the chef! Rooms are so modern and each room is different and has its own style. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perfection. If I could have given them a one word answer that would have been it. But I can't. Such a wonderfully stylish place with staff who are second to none across the world. Stay there again? When do I check In. Amazing place, amazing hospitality Loved it!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davev65
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, It's great to hear our staff are out there with the best and that you are already thinking of returning. When ever you get the chance we will be delighted to welcome you back and remember all our rooms are different so feel free to ask for another room to try.

Lake Forest, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Talbot is a wonderful hotel with so many great qualities. Honestly, I was shocked when I walked into the room and the finishes to the room were outstanding. As you see so many reviews and wonder what is real, i was greeted by two lovely woman and they were very friendly and helpful. From the four posted bed, to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stalkinghorse
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I personally picked the interior and spent many late nights sourcing everything, so It's a joy for me to hear this, in the beginning the builders thought I was mad with some of my choices, they had me worried but thankfully being different has worked well...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were one of two large groups in the Talbot on a recent Saturday evening. Mixed into this were quite a few locals casually drinking and dining. All this to explain a very busy buzzy atmosphere. The food and drink was good, service faultless. It's a fine place well laid out. I have the impression however that drink prices were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mushroomking
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We aim to impress and are so delighted that you enjoyed your visit and especially our staff and the food. We always hope to be competitive with our prices and having just returned from Dublin where the pint was 2.40 more than our dearest pint we thought we were great value, our cheapest pint of...

Galway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well all I can say is get in the car, drive to Belmullet, stay in the Talbot and go walking by the cliffs...heaven! It's a two hour drive from Galway, on the Wild Atlantic Way, but not busy and probably not too touristy yet! Try the Children of Lir Loop walk, and see some amazing coastline. Doreen, Kelly and breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Widget123
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, Your comments hit home as we are a small boutique hotel in a beautiful scenic area with great local people but the area is mostly undiscovered. We have cliff's as high as the Cliff's of Moher that people don't know about, so it's great to hear that you discovered the children of Lir Loop...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here on a business trip. This hotel is a beautiful boutique hotel each room is different. My room was amazing with huge bed and all the essentials, I ate in the bar and the choice of menu was great. I opted for the fish which was beautiful. I would recommend this hotel for business...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krossikatzDublin
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for recommending us, this is a great help for a small business like ourselves. Hopefully you will get a chance to return again.

Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed over as I was attending a friend's wedding in nearby hotel.From the moment we were greeted by the lovely receptionist I was very impressed.The room was beautiful-spacious,spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated-the bed was very comfortable and I had a great nights sleep in it.The breakfast the next day was lovely and the waitresses were warm, friendly and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We always tell our team that all we want is happy customers, so it feels good to read your review. I thank the staff for making you happy because none of us can do it on our own it takes a team and thankfully we have a good one..... The staff read the reviews a...

Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Lovely unusual decor, the receptionist upgraded us to a suite when we arrived which was very generous of her (thank you!!). Beautiful food and breakfast, lovely bathroom and very comfortable bed. The one downside was the jacuzzi in our bathroom wouldn't work despite our great efforts!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona_Sligo
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us but I cringed when I saw your comment on the Jacuzzi because I know they are all working (I checked to make sure) and I am guessing that you didn't notice the main switch for the Jacuzzi power is outside the bathroom....due to regulations I think!...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Knowing a bit about the history of places like Belmullet, the last thing you expect to find is a place like the Talbot Hotel. We stayed two nights, spending most of our days at the Carne golf course rather than in our hotel rooms, but were nevertheless charmed from the first moment to the last. Rooms, breakfast, dinner - all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ex-expat-1964
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, Having stayed in many 4* hotels we know that we offer great value in Belmullet...but it's nice that you appreciated it. I hope you enjoyed your days at Carne and that you will return soon.

Castlebar, Ireland
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed on a Friday night with a group of friends and it is an absolute gem of a hotel. The rooms are absolutely fantastic and the hotel deserves its four star rating. The rooms are of a really high standard and very comfortable with all modern conveniences. The place is really relaxing from the moment you check in and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ros1943
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, It's nice to know you enjoyed your stay so much, I am especially pleased that you are already thinking of returning. I can't always guarantee a sing song of such quality but we can do our best. Word of mouth is very important to a small hotel like ourselves so thank you for recommending...

171 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (43)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
0.8 km away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
468 reviews
0.2 km away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
60 reviews
37.7 km away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#9 of 15 in Westport
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.6 km away
Stella Maris Country House Hotel
0.0 km away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
223 reviews
0.3 km away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Barony Restaurant at the Talbot Hotel
The Barony Restaurant at the Talbot Hotel
Cuisines: Seafood, Irish, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Talbot Hotel Belmullet is Irelands Newest boutique hotel and the first four star hotel in Erris.The Talbot Belmullet County Mayo is a family run hotel offering luxury boutique accommodation in the centre of Belmullet town. Each of the chic, quirky 21 guestrooms has its own special charm...including an iPod dock, complimentary Wi-Fi. Butler tray, and oh joy, an espresso machine as well as a mini bar stocked with tempting treats, oversized fluffy bath robes and towels, slippers and spa toiletries.At The Talbot, all suites have double deluge rain showers, and their own fireplaces, just enough to leave you feeling tickled pink! You can plan your trip around Belmullet taking in all sorts of places of interest and activities - from heritage and culture to food and drink, to folklore and music! Belmullet is the capital of the Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking) region of Erris, an area that offers unspoilt beauty and glorious beaches and is the ideal place for that get away from it all holiday. Car hire is available at Ireland West Knock International Airport . ... more   less 

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Address: Barrack St, Belmullet, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Price Range: $149 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Talbot Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Talbot Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The back of the hotel rooms are quite”
 of 5 bubbles stalkinghorse, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hotel is on a busy street but all rooms are to the rear and away from the function rooms.The air conditionedrooms are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 1Glenellen, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They are all Good”
 of 5 bubbles Finn1960, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 10 was beautiful with a large leather sofa to relax in, you wouldnt want to leave this room”
 of 5 bubbles paulineweir, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Had a room down the back of the hotel on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles Brendan20132013, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
*
View Deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates