We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lantern Townhouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lantern Townhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lantern Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 264: English reviews
Huelva, Spain
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Katharine and Thomas, you guys have an amazing b & b here! The Latern is smack in the middle of the main street, excellently located to all restaurants, pubs, and sights in Dingle. The breakfast was TO DIE FOR. Homemade breads, belgian waffles, greek yogurt, tea and delicious coffee; needless to say I was excited to wake up both mornings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LinneaSevilla
LanternDingle, Owner at The Lantern Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Past Guest Thank you for taking time to post lovely comments about our Lantern Townhouse. We are delighted that you were very happy with our homemade breakfast choices, our comfortable rooms and our recommendations! The location of The Lantern in the heart of the town allows our guests to enjoy the Peninsula’s thriving and unbroken traditions of language and...

Reviewed 7 April 2012

Amazing For brazilianz, Irish and everybody . The best place B&B in Dingle.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FelipeS2
LanternDingle, Owner at The Lantern Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review! We hope that you can visit Dingle again soon and from our central doorstep, discover more beautiful scenery and archeological sites for example the monastic ‘beehive’ huts and Ireland’s oldest stone-roofed church. Thank you for staying with us. Warm regards Katharine and Thomas, The Lantern Townhouse, Main Street, Dingle

Atlanta, GA
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed here in early April with our family of 5. Our 3 teen daughters had a triple and my wife and I were in a double. The rooms were very clean as were the bathrooms. Breakfast was delicious and Katherine was a great help in planning our day. I would absolutely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teamhurst
LanternDingle, Owner at The Lantern Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking time to post it and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoy helping our guests to plan their day on the DIngle Peninsula as we want to ensure that they get the most out of our beautiful surroundings. We are delighted that you also...

kerry
Reviewed 27 March 2012

just back from an overnight stay in dingle. stayed in the lantern and was very happy with this b+b. friendly and helpful owners.rooms very clean and comfortable. very central and the breakfast was to die for. the owners katherine and thomas were very helpful with regards to information on where to go and what to do.yes i will return and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KerryCocolate
LanternDingle, Owner at The Lantern Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Past Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at The Lantern. We are looking forward to the Art Festivals that are due to begin over the next few weeks, for example Feile na Casca beginning Sunday 8 April and Feile na Bealtaine art...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had a very comfortable stay here. Our room faced the back which had a nice view and no street noise. Katherine always seemed to have a ton on the go, which probably explains why she charged us twice. We eventually got the second charge refunded.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peepsy
LanternDingle, Owner at The Lantern Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Past Guest, Thank you for posting feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Apologies for the oversight in charging your card twice - this has not happened before and will not occur again. We are glad that we rectified this issue swiftly and that you were happy with this. We are delighted to...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We enjoyed the location of the place but there was no jug or facilities to make a cuppa. When we asked for one the hostess procastinated each day, and even after three days had no replacement. It did put a dampener on our experience

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank louise h
LanternDingle, Owner at The Lantern Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Guest Firstly, we are sorry that our service did not live up to your expectations. We always strive to provide the best service possible and we pride ourselves on the many compliments we receive regarding same. We now have tea and coffee making facilities in all of our rooms together with complimentary bottles of water and treats. We also...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Katherine is an absolute pleasure. As a local, she knows Dingle very well. So when I was doing the day-long Slea Head Drive among my three days in Dingle, Katherine's help was invaluable. She is very friendly and relaxed, yet professional. Her breakfast service was excellent (particularly the Belgian waffles) and anything I needed, Katherine was only too happy to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael F
Florida
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Having visited Dingle on six prior occasions before my most recent visit in late September 2011, I know a thing or two about Dingle accomodations. The Lantern Townhouse on Main St. in Dingle is by far my favorite place to stay in Dingle. Katharine Keane and her family are the quintessential Irish hosts, offering my niece, nephew and myself the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FloridaJustentime
Langley
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I booked multiple rooms for the two families travelling to Dingle. We were greeted by friendly Katherine upon arrival, and found her to be very helpful in organizing our time in Dingle. She directed us to a great little local pub I don't want to even name on here as we were the only tourists and that's why we liked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Craig B
Kilkenny
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We called Katherine at the last minute after seeing her number the hotel window. She was very helpful, calling down after hours to give us a room and some tips on where to go for our time in Dingle. It was a nasty night but the location in the heart of Dingle town meant we didn't have to give long...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brendankilkenny

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.1 km away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
698 reviews
0.3 km away
O'Neills Bed and Breakfast
0.9 km away
The Lighthouse B & B
The Lighthouse B & B
#7 of 78 in Dingle
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 78 in Dingle
352 reviews
0.4 km away
Murphy's B & B
Murphy's B & B
#13 of 78 in Dingle
289 reviews
0.9 km away
Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lantern Townhouse Dingle is a warm, friendly and welcoming bed and breakfast in the heart of Dingle town. Our priority is to make you feel welcome and comfortable in a clean and cosy environment. We also provide a daily bed "make up" service. All rooms are en suite and tastefully decorated. We are happy to provide you with our local knowledge about Dingle and its environs! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lantern Townhouse

Address: The Lantern Townhouse Main Street, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Price Range: $104 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lantern Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lantern Townhouse Hotel Dingle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lantern Townhouse staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Lantern Townhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good size for family/4 adults in one room!”
 of 5 bubbles 47lexiem, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The parking is free street parking, and there is no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles lorihansen, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Owners are excellent resource for local tips and sights.”
 of 5 bubbles Knox_TN_Trav, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Think you can chose a room facing the back. I'm a light sleeper & the noise can be a little bothersome cause your central....”
 of 5 bubbles KillowenCork, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in back if you're worried about noise...or up front for a view of the street!”
 of 5 bubbles pippakay, 28 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5