We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges North Sydney

Hotwire.comUSD 107*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 232*
USD 107*
USD 119*
USD 232*
USD 107*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges North Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

810 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges North Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 800: English reviews
Tokyo
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. A very nice hotel, friendly staff, clean and comfortable. Trouble is I was really looking forward to watching an in-house movie! Not sure why, I am kind of boring that way. So was surprised there is no in-house movie system. I know, it is a first world problem, but always like movies in the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tuffguest
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear tuffguest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay us and that you were well looked after by our staff. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind Regards, Rydges North Sydney

Cambewarra, Nsw
Reviewed 18 March 2017

I stayed here solo as I was attending a nearby business conference. I have stayed here previously and I was pleased to see that the standard is maintained. There is an additional charge for parking but free wifi and very comfy bed. The room I had was a good size for a couple and the small issue I had with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fangfluffy
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear fangfluffy, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and honest review. We are lucky to be in a convenient location that suits our guests and we pleased to hear that you agree. It is always a proud moment to hear that our staff are looking after our guests, I will be sure to share this...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 March 2017

The rooms are tired and a little worn. The bathroom has a cheap floppy toilet seat and a cheap shower curtain. My room service turned the requested glass of red and glass of white wine into a glass of coke and a glass of lemonade (which was quickly rectified). The meal was luke warm. Reception staff were excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ozjon
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Ozjon, and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I apologize for the misunderstanding that occurred with your room service order, however I am glad to hear that it was quickly resolved. Your feedback in regards to the meal have also been shared with our Food & Beverage Manager to further follow up....

Macarthur
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Had an enjoyable stay from the check-in where we explained to the desk clerk that we had friends staying on the 4th floor so he moved us to the 3rd floor where we received a room with a view. Lovely comfortable bed in a nice size room. Delicious choices for breakfast as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lillibet_11
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Lillibet_11, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rydges North Sydney and for taking the time to provide us with this outstanding review ! I am pleased you enjoyed the views your room had to offer and that our enjoyed your popular Rise Breakfast options. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rydges North Sydney. Kind...

Auckland
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Have visited this hotel several times in the past, as it gets worse every time. Staff were helpful at check in and even offered a upgrade to a harbour view room however the room was in a poor state and the service levels dropped from here. The hotel bar/restaurant only opens from 530pm on weekends (Room service starts at this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NZL_Carl
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear NZL_Carl and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your feedback and comments have been shared with the relevant managers. On a more positive note, I am pleased to hear that you were well looked after by our staff during...

Gorokan
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Nice, clean and tidy hotel. Little dated but lots a greenery around which is pleasant for a city. Harbourview room view is a little blocked. Easy access to car park then a quick trip on the train into the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisa H
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Elisa H, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rydges North Sydney and taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next one will be just a pleasant. Kind Regards, Rydges North Sydney

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Was put up in Rydges after Flybuys Travel lost my booking for McLaren Hotel. Pretty nice room this time, 2nd floor with a kitchen and huge living area. Still a bit dated but at least quiet at night. Think it's next to a school though because I woke up one morning to tuba rehearsal of some sort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Junyan T
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Junyan T, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Rydges North Sydney

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Needed to attend party at The Oakes Hotel Mosman. Booked into Rydges North Sydney, enjoyed Priority Drinks at the bar before heading out to Mosman. Our hotel room was large and roomy, very quiet and clean. Good powerful hot shower Room service was really good as was the full breakfast The location is so central to north Sydney region

 Report
Helpful?
Thank innovativeceremonies
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear innovativeceremonies, Thank you for this outstanding review! We are lucky to be in such a convenient location for our guests and are pleased to see that you agree! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed room and all aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Rydges North...

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We've been here several times and I suspect this will be the last time. Each time they don't seem to improve. Looks its not that its really bad but for what we all pay it represents really poor value for money. From sandwiches that had bread that must have been out for the last week to cheese and tomatoe sandwiches...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BC1123
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear BC1123 and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your overall experience did not meet your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our Conferencing & Catering Department to further follow up. We truly appreciate your feedback as it...

Reviewed 1 March 2017

I stayed here for work for a week and thought the location was great but the week day staff need more training. The coffee was terrible, the service was slack and the dinner was awful. The breakfast was great and on the weekend the weekend staff were brilliant. I think you could get a barrister for during the week or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita P
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Anita P and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do apologize if you felt the service from the restaurant team wasn’t up to standard. This certainly isn’t the normal high level of feedback we receive on our...

493 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Park View Suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (100)
Viewed
Waterview One Bedroom Suite (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
199 reviews
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
369 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges North Sydney is perfectly situated for the discerning traveller, within close walking distance to the North Sydney business district and only a short journey over the iconic Harbour Bridge into Sydney’s CBD. Completed in March 2011 a $2 Million accommodation upgrade included all corridors, completely refurbished bedrooms including carpet, curtains, cabinets, loose furnishings and freshly painted room. Dine in your room or MUNDO Grill and Bar offering an eclectic and exciting menu open 7 days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges North Sydney

Address: 54 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Price Range: $154 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges North Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
Rydges North Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges North Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges North Sydney staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges North Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take binoculars for "harbour views".”
171bluep, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Upper levels are more quiet.”
hollamby2017, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Make sure that you know the rate, especially if you will stay for more than 5 days”
Y6900IBmichaelp, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Harbour view with balcony if possible but all rooms have windows that can open”
Lakemacmaintenance, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“I'd say don't stay here”
danniv2015, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
USD 107* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 119
Orbitz.comUSD 107
TripAdvisorUSD 107
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates