We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges North Sydney

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges North Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

778 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 768: English reviews
Start your review of Rydges North Sydney
 Click to rate
Shellharbour, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for the week, was in a great location, very central to a lot of great places. Hotel could do with a refresh though, the room decor, bathroom and lack of facilities let it down considerably though. Wifi was fairly good as were the $10 vouchers for declining room turn down service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vistech
Melbourne
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Wow, was this place a disappoinment! A very old, tired, depressing hotel that looks like it hasn't been fixed up since the eighties. I booked a two bedroom suite which cost over $500 per night. The weather was hot and humid and yet there was no decent air-conditioning in either in the foyer area or the rooms. There was an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aljoshaw
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear aljoshaw, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have since shared your feedback with our Maintenance Manager to further follow up. I do apologize if you felt the customer service from the front desk team wasn’t...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you are looking for clean sheets and a hot shower, this hotel is ok. It is very old and run down and difficult to get to on foot. Needs a renovation, but clean. It's a couple of blocks from the railway station which is a bonus. Free Wifi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Jane C and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel and that you took advantage of our free WiFi ! We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome yo back in the near future. Kind Regards, Rydges North...

Inverell, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Due to the heatwave conditions in NSW, I arrived by rail late into North Sydney station. I walked to the hotel which took only 10 minutes as its its less than 1km away. I was greeted by pleasant reception staff and had a room on the 9th floor, which appeared to have been renovated. The air-conditioning worked well, the wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gamain
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear gamain, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such kind positive feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were of assistance during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to North Sydney! Kind Regards, Rydges North Sydney

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is long overdue for a make over. The rooms and hotel is stuck in the 80's. The service is atrocious. Tried to order room service twice unsuccessfully. Only one item out of the whole menu available in the evening (one pizza) as told stock order had not arrived. Who runs a hotel like that in the city !!!!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Julia W, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your overall stay with us. You feedback in regards to your Food & Beverage experience has since been passed onto our Food & Beverage Manager to further follow up. This is certainly does not...

Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was responsible for organising accommodation for 5 couples on a Saturday night after a few of us were doing the Harbour Bridge Climb. I used booking.com who found me 5 rooms at a very reasonable rate at Rydges North Sydney. As an added bonus it included complimentary full buffet breakfast. On arrival Saturday afternoon the rooms were really nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank luvmyfood2017
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear luvmyfood2017 Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I'm sorry that the breakfast service you received was not to our usual high standard. I will pass your feedback on to our restaurant manager. I am please to read however you did enjoy the accommodation at the hotel. I hope the other aspects of your stay...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night and found the room to be spacious and clean. The bar and lounge was a little lacklustre in atmosphere, and was hit and miss on the cocktails depending on who made them (same as a previous poster here who commented on this). The breakfast buffet was sufficient with hot foods, although was jam packed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrAndyC
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Hi DrAndyC Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and spacious and enjoyed our full buffet breakfast. I will pass on your concerns regarding your experience in the bar and lounge to our Food and Beverage Department so they can follow-up...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked here because we could park the car at a reasonable cost and been before and found it fine. This stay was disappointing. We arrived late so called ahead to book a table at the restaurant, our booking was accepted. When we got there we were told the restaurant was closed on Fridays. Weird. The decor was dated. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Joanne C, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I apologize that you were not advised of our Restaurant closure upon contacting the hotel. I do hope you had the opportunity to dine in our Mundo Bar which is open for our guests as an alternative for meals and drinks. It seems on...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Go elsewhere. I couldn't wait to leave. Rooms very dated. Bathroom awful. Poor facilities. Everything grubby. Breakfast options limited and unappetising. Reception/foyer area unappealing and smelly. The only positive to mention is the bed was comfortable. I am shocked that this facility is considered to meet Rydges standards.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bestwishestravelsafe
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Hi bestwishestravelsafe and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is very disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have personally addressed your concerns with our Management, who also join me in expressing our sincerest apologies. I do hope you can give us the opportunity to welcome...

Bowral
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelling with elderly parents, one with mobility issues. Specifically phoned to ensure that their room had a walk in shower and Harbour view a week before trip. On arrival they ended up in a 2 bedroom suite with a park view in order to have a walk in shower. No other rooms could provide this. The reception staff were apologetic....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathie W
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Cathie W, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. I do apologize that your overall Food & Beverage experience was a negative one. It certainly does that reflect the standards we strive to uphold and your feedback has been passed onto our Food & Beverage Manager to follow up....

483 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Park View Suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (100)
Viewed
Waterview One Bedroom Suite (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.7 km away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.7 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments North Sydney
0.2 km away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#3 of 9 in North Sydney
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
350 reviews
1.5 km away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
350 reviews
2.2 km away
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges North Sydney is perfectly situated for the discerning traveller, within close walking distance to the North Sydney business district and only a short journey over the iconic Harbour Bridge into Sydney’s CBD. Completed in March 2011 a $2 Million accommodation upgrade included all corridors, completely refurbished bedrooms including carpet, curtains, cabinets, loose furnishings and freshly painted room. Dine in your room or MUNDO Grill and Bar offering an eclectic and exciting menu open 7 days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges North Sydney

Address: 54 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Price Range: $199 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges North Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Rydges North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
Rydges North Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges North Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges North Sydney staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges North Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room in another hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles aljoshaw, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles CathieW803, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a harbourview room on about the fifth floor”
 of 5 bubbles grahamwalker1, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a higher floor to take advantage of some views offering harbour glimpses”
 of 5 bubbles Jenafarious, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Perhaps book over the phone to ensure the room you book is what you get.”
 of 5 bubbles AmyM1408, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5