We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bushmanspad Estate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Bushmanspad Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Kommetjie, Cape Town
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited again and were NOT disappointed. Beautiful views, very comfortable accommodation, excellent wine tasting and very hospitable hostess. Kristin definitely goes the extra mile. The cottages are really spacious and comfortable, and you must have a braai outside one evening, as the sunsets on both sides are spectacular, as you have the backdrop of the Montagu mountain range behind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alastair007
BushmanspadR60, Manager at Bushmanspad Estate, responded to this review

Dear Alastair007 Thank you for taking the time to share such a fantastic review with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay(once again) and what a delight it was to host you, your family and friends! Thank you for highlighting all our attributes. Look forward seeing you in the new year! Regards, Kristin Le Roux Guesthouse...

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 29 July 2016

If you are looking for a break from the city life, this place is amazing! It is serenely peaceful, immaculate, and has a stunning view. Their prices are also very reasonable. The staff is very accommodating. They are also pet friendly. We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
BushmanspadR60, Manager at Bushmanspad Estate, responded to this review

Dear Kyle H Many thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review about our estate. We are happy to hear your kind words about our facilities and what we have to offer and that your furkid could experience this with you! You are welcome back anytime! Best wishes, Kristin Le Roux Guesthouse Manager

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Self catering cottages set on the slopes of the mountains over looking the valley. Warmly welcomed by friendly staff at reception. The cottage is equipped with everything that you need. Plenty wood provided to keep us warm. Wifi is a bit slow but we came there to relax and escape from the city, so it was perfect. Staff accommodated us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roxjames30
BushmanspadR60, Manager at Bushmanspad Estate, responded to this review

Dear Roxjames30 Thank you so much for the positive review about our Estate. What a delightful read that we could share with our team. We love our return guests and we look forward welcoming you back to our estate in the not so distant future! Best Wishes, Kristin Le Roux Guesthouse Manager

Ipswich
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

These cottages are set 300m up the hillside providing fantastic views. Each detached cottage has all you need for a self catering stay, including a winery on your doorstep. The furniture and decor is a bit 90's but it's clean, safe and sooooo relaxing. There is a BBQ with plenty of wood overlooking the vineyards. It's so good we've booked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BenneworthP
BushmanspadEstate, Manager at Bushmanspad Estate, responded to this review

Dear BenneworthP Thank you for your positive review and for sharing your experience with other travellers, highlighting what you enjoy about our facility. It was a pleasure hosting you and your wife - we look forward to your next visit! All the Best, Kristin Le Roux Admin & Guesthouse Manager 023 616 2961

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Beautiful setting. Quiet and peaceful. Close to Cape Town and convenient. However, this is not a 4-star establishment. It is clean and tidy, but something things were broken. The wood provided was very wet, we struggled to start a fire.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NiciW
BushmanspadEstate, Manager at Bushmanspad Estate, responded to this review

Dear NiciW Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy you had the opportunity to visit Bushmanspad and experience our tranquil setting, a quiet escape from the city. I must add that we are not a star graded establishment my apologies if the expectation was raised. I have passed on your feedback and will address...

Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

We had the privilege of staying one weekend at the Bushmanspad Estate. It was truly breathtaking and comfortable. They provides us with a heap of wood to keep us warm in the house while it was pouring rain outside. The wine tasting in the old wine estate was very nice and comfortable. We also like the wine very much. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FrederikPrinsloo
Michelle K, Manager at Bushmanspad Estate, responded to this review

Dear FrederickPrinsloo. Thank you so much for taking time to review Bushmanspad Estate. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward welcoming you in the near future. Kind Regards, Kristin Le Roux Admin & Guesthouse Manager info@bushmanspad.co.za

South Africa
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Bushmanspad and would love to do it again! Both our cottages were meticulously clean and neat. The cottages are very well equipped and we had everything we needed. The firewood for the fire place and braai was very welcome. Good privacy is achieved with the spacing and the terraced positioning of cottages and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
KristinLeRoux, Manager at Bushmanspad Estate, responded to this review

Dear Lesley B Thank you so much for your positive remarks of your recent stay at Bushmanspad Estate and pointing out all the advantages of the cottage. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our Malbec, now there are 2 reasons for your return! We look forward welcoming you back to our farm. Regards, Kristin Le Roux Admin & Guesthouse...

Reviewed 3 April 2015

Beautiful views. Yes. Clean. Yes. Firewood. Yes. Overpriced. Very much. Bathroom. Inside cottage but no ceiling. At this price - not good. "Luxury". No. Maybe 10 years ago but not in 2015. Photo's on website. Misleading. Puts the cottages next to a dam, maybe overlooking, but not the case.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 752lynetteg
BushmanspadEstate, Manager at Bushmanspad Estate, responded to this review

Dear Lynette G Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience at Bushmanspad. I must add that we are of the few establishments in our valley that are still offering of the lowest prices for our self catering accommodation. My apologies if there was confusion with photo’s on our...

Cape Town
Reviewed 29 December 2014

We arrived to a very efficient and welcoming receptionist who went out of her way to welcome us.The bill as are spacious , clean and well furnished for comfort and abeautiful relaxing stay with stunning views. Had they had a pool we would truly consider staying for a few days.Great value . Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DianneCapeTown
BushmanspadEstate, Manager at Bushmanspad Estate, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer L Thank you so much for taking the time to review Bushmanspad. It was rewarding for myself and the rest of the team to read your fantastic comments. We are most happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your returned trip! Kind Regards, Bushmanspad Management

Vyeboom
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Comfortable cottages. Not luxury as there is an open plan concept. Walls do not go the ceiling. It's a great place to have a braai as the view down the valley is pretty good. Beds are comfortable but tall people might feel a bit squashed. Houses are attractive. They all have fireplaces with PLENTY firewood. Good for 1 or 2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DesVyeboom

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnievale
12.8 km away
Bonnievale River Lodge
Bonnievale River Lodge
#1 of 10 in Bonnievale
19 reviews
28.1 km away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 24 in Robertson
306 reviews
8.7 km away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
#7 of 33 in Montagu
119 reviews
7.2 km away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 24 in Robertson
281 reviews
9.4 km away
Pat Busch Mountain Reserve
Pat Busch Mountain Reserve
#3 of 18 in Robertson
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on slopes of the Langeberg Mountains, the rustic-style cottages at Bushmanspad Estate overlook the extensive vineyards towards the Breede River. The property offers tastings in a 200-year old wine cellar. Featuring a furnished terrace under a plant-covered pergola, the self-catering cottages offer panoramic views that can stretch as far as the sand dunes near Aqulhas, 100 km away. With free WiFi, each has a living room with thatched ceiling, fireplace and a sofa bed. All cottages include a barbecue and a kitchen. There are supermarkets and restaurants within Robertson, Ashton and Montagu, all within a 20-minute drive. With opportunities for fishing, hiking and birdwatching, the estate has a range of things to see. Native cattle are in the fields, and there is a rare bamboo wood by the river. The historic town of Swellendam is 30 minutes by car from Bushmanspad Estate and there is free parking on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bushmanspad Estate

Address: PO Box 227, Bonnievale 6730, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Bonnievale
Price Range: $74 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bushmanspad Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bushmanspad Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All villas were pretty private, we had villa five which had everything we wanted.”
 of 5 bubbles DianneCapeTown, 29 Dec 2014 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay