We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Weary Friar Inn

Save
Traveller (13)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (4)
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good33%
  • Average13%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(11 reviews)
“baked camembert”(3 reviews)
“quick lunch”(2 reviews)
Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Golf Course
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Weary Friar Inn
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
35
31
13
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
35
31
13
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbaked camembertquick lunchbirthday mealtuesday nightstaying nearbychanged handslasagnaoff the beaten trackpuddinglovely mealexcellent value for moneyfriarslandlordmenuchutneyales
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We have been coming to this pub for 4 years now and are keen to support the new owners of this business. We came for a meal on Saturday and I was really disappointed. Welcome great, menus good to see the reduced options as previously...More

Thank celtickiwiUK
Response from Ryan W, Owner at Weary Friar InnResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for your review. Sorry things weren't quite as good as they should have been for you during your last visit. We are working hard to ensure that we deliver excellent food, beer and customer service all the time. Hopefully you will give us...More

Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

WOW I can't say any more. We were met by an amazing gent who went out of his way to open a new area for us as they were full. The waiting staff were superb. She could do nothing wrong. The food was out of...More

1  Thank Jmslc3
Response from Ryan W, Owner at Weary Friar InnResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Reviewed 15 June 2017

I felt so much character about the pub upon walking through the door as we were welcomed by the owners who are a lovely, friendly couple. The 1 star reviews here are disappointing to see because The Weary Friar doesn't deserve this! After staying here...More

Thank nickadams2017
Response from Ryan W, Owner at Weary Friar InnResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Weary Friar Inn, as well as our food. We hope to see you again in the future!

Reviewed 8 June 2017

This pub was recommended to me by a colleague for its restaurant. S booked it for my husbands 65th Birthday meal. We turned up and were totally ignored for the first 10 minutes then shown to our table (reluctantly) and told that menus would be...More

1  Thank beverleyb135
Response from Ryan W, Owner at Weary Friar InnResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for your review. Sorry things weren't quite as good as they should have been for you during your last visit. We are working hard to ensure that we deliver excellent food, beer and customer service all the time. Hopefully you will give us...More

Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

I popped in for a quick lunch whilst out with my two small boys and we all had a lovely meal (me a steak baguette and the boys sausage and mash). I spent most of the time talking to Ryan the new landlord who has...More

Thank Guy B
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 77 - USD 92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 77 - USD 92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (13)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (4)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Weary Friar Inn staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Gammon platter was excellent"
Read review
"Don't think it matters were your room is, once the village goes to sleep to silence is perfect"
Read review
"The rooms seemed to be similar - traditional 'pub/hotel' rooms cosy but large enough in a quiet..."
Read review
"We did not stay here so I can't comment on the accommodation."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing