We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Portland Hotel

Booking.comUSD 58*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Portland Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

566 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 563: English reviews
Start your review of The Portland Hotel
 Click to rate
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A single room that is small and claustrophobic. Too much stuffed in. Desk cluttered so unable to have space to work without moving be everything. Lighting poor. Main light too low and hit it when undressing. The bed moves across the floor.Receptionist uninspiring gand no one answered phone when I rang. Room far too hot and had to sleep with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
Lancashire
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good wetherspoons hotel and pub. We were not aware parking at hotel could be pre-booked. When we arrived their car park was fully booked and we had to use near by local pub car park which looked like a building site and cost £8-00 for 24 hours. Bewarned.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LancashireBazza
lorraine M, Front of Reception at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you LancashireBazza for taking the time to leave us a review. Overall, we are glad you enjoyed both our pub and hotel. In regards to the car park we are sorry you did not manage to get a space. We only have 10 parking bays and 22 rooms. When booking online the website does state that parking is available...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Portland is a very good hotel . There is a lift which for some one like me with walking problems is fantastic news. Also limited park so please book a car space before arriving. The room is well equipped. Lots of plugs and good lighting. Very clean and welcoming staff except morning staff. There is a small problem with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul H
lorraine M, Front of Reception at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Paul H for taking the time to leave a review. It is great you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to apologise for the shower having no grip for you. We do have rooms that also have baths (shower above) with handles in them for extra grip. The receptionist would have been able to help...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night after walking in the area. Arrived at 2pm, room was ready and we were checked in quickly. We had pre-booked a car park space at £3.50 which I highly recommend. The assistant manager explained about the key cards, breakfast etc Our room was really lovely. Decorated in a contemporary style of greys and blues. Bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louby41
lorraine M, Front of Reception at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you louby41 for your kind review. We could not be more pleased you found your stay to be 'fantastic,' we couldn't be more satisfied. It is great you managed to enjoy our bar area downstairs also. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards.

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were expecting 'cheap & cheerful' accommodation in this Weatherspoons hotel but were pleasantly surprised at the overall room standards; Cleanliness and comfort were more than adequate whilst the facilities were very good (including a large flat screen TV with lots of channel choices. As is typical of the Weatherspoon chain, food and drink is excellent in terms of choice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigNev1960
lorraine M, Front of Reception at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you BigNev1960 for taking the time to leave us feedback. It is great you enjoyed you stay with us and found it to be 'pleasantly surprised.' We are lucky to be situated right in the heart of Chesterfield and could not be more happier you enjoyed our lovely town. We do hope you come and stay with us again...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel as it was close to bakewell and chatsworth house where we were visiting for the weekend, I wasnt expecting much however this hotel was excellent. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated in a modern way and the bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. I was worried that due...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ECH168
lorraine M, Front of Reception at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ECH168 for taking the time to leave us a review. It is great you enjoyed your stay with us as you enjoyed our surrounding areas. We are surprisingly quiet to be situated our bar area and hardly ever hear anything. Unfortunately, our car park only allows us to fit 10 bays in and we have 22 rooms. We...

Manchester
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Portland rooms are excellent. Very clean comfortable beds. The room we had was very spacious and the shower was very good. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a room near the stairs. Only slight negative was some noisy guests going to bed. I would ask for rooms away from stairs on any future stay.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian744
lorraine M, Front of Reception at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Ian744 for leaving us a lovely review and enjoyed your stay with us. Its great all the staff were friendly and helpful as this is exactly what we are here for. We do hope you decide to visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed one night in the single room. It was so clean and cozy, with everything I needed. It's like they read my mind. I needed to prepare myself for a job interview and there was a table with a very cozy chair. Internet was good. Coffee AMD water provided. Hair drier, ironing set...heating was working properly. No complains. Pub...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank natalyce
lorraine M, Front of Reception at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you natalyce for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had everything you needed was all in your room. We do hope the interview went well :) Its handy having the bar area just below us, its great you enjoyed your food also. Kind Regards.

Dorset
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Stayed here on my way to a meeting in Sheffield. The hotel is excellent. The receptionist was excellent and very helpful with information for my next day's travel. I had a single room that was really comfortable. Wetherspoon hotels are so well equipped and this one has 10 parking spaces as well. It was ideal for a 45 minute run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tqbrewer
lorraine M, Front Of Reception at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you tqbrewer for taking the time to leave us a review. We could not be more pleased you found our hotel to be 'excellent' and found the staff to be helpful as this is exactly what we aim for. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us, hopefully in the near future. Kind Regards.

Budapest
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We stayed here with friends for a couple of nights and we're really pleased with it! It's a wetherspoons pub so that's the same as all of them but the room was more like a premier Inn. Clean and spacious with a bath as well as a shower, the warmth could be controlled by us but we couldn't open the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annieisathome
lorraine M, Front of Reception at The Portland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you annieisathome for taking the time to leave us a review. We could not be more satisfied you enjoyed your stay with us as well as getting to visit our famous market. We do hope you come and visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards.

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
1.8 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,306 reviews
0.6 km away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
749 reviews
5.8 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
4.1 km away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
976 reviews
0.7 km away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a JD Wetherspoon hotel in the centre of Chesterfield opposite the historical market place. We have 22 rooms, all onsuite with tea and coffee making facilities,hairdryers and freeview tv we now have a disabled room with all disabled ammenities. We also have a car park however as our car park has limited space and is on a 1st come 1st serve basis, please ring us to pre book your space to avoid disappointment. Our car park charge is just £3.50 Per night. Alternate car parking is the Sun Inn Pub opposite the Portland (front of our pub) £8.00 For 24hrs and The Old Court House £6.00 For 24hrs For best available rates book online ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Portland Hotel

Address: West Bars, Chesterfield S40 1AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Price Range: $75 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Hotel Chesterfield
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Portland Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Portland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quite a climb up to the second floor.”
tqbrewer, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The two we had were fine and presume they are all much of a muchness”
annieisathome, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lift will only take you reception level next floor is stairs”
Graham929, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you need to use a lift, ask for a room on that level”
thesilverfox20, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 106, family room with giant bed and a sofa than could be turned in a bed.”
angie39bolton, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 58* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 58
Priceline
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates