We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Swan Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 224: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2014

I think the reviewer above has given an accurate assessment with regard to the service - it just seems hugely understaffed. This is stressful for all including the staff. It's a shame as the food was lovely! It has a nice ambience and we have had good eating experiences there in the past so hope to return and experience a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SWN_11
Theswan B, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry you were affected by the staff shortages, we certainly were not running at normal staff levels, due last minute staff illness combined with other staff on holiday, normally we can always find other staff members to step in, but with other staff on holiday it was not possible We are however...

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2014

We booked The Swan Hotel, via Trip Adviser, for a one night stay. We were accompanied by my aged Mother who is quite frail with limited mobility. Whilst challenged by the stairs and room layout, the bedrooms were clean, beds comfortable, staff helpful and Thai meal excellent. We were made very welcome. Good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OMG_11
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Had to wait 45 min for main courses. They gave us free drink. But food was uninspiring lukewarm and not great. Staff apologised. Then couldn't find anyone to pay ! Hugely understaffed. Wouldn't eat there. Shame nice decor and location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Escort1600
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago to celebrate an important family anniversary. Rooms are quaint ( it's extremely old!), clean and have everything you need, including lots of plug sockets. Breakfast was excellent as was the one evening meal we had. There were 14 of us and the staff were extremely capable and pleasant. The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fionae06
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Not a bad place. Not a great place. Room was good..nice staff..good location. but could argue about value for money. stayed for one night in a room with a good bed and clean. Bathroom could do with upgrading however. breakfast was nice but not the most organised. Please get the toast sorted out!! No real problems though and we enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philflop8
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments

Nantucket
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Room was tiny, a single sold as a double. The small window left us the choice of suffocating or sleeping with no curtains; we were still hot. Ambience was poor; cleanliness marginal. There were no spaces in the parking lot when we returned at night. Shower (cheap little job) had complex instructions because the pump was weak. Door frame was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SKH1967
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We always welcome constructive feedback and certainly welcome it from guests during their stay in order to give us an opportunity to put things right. As an Inn, with a history that dates back over 300 years there is a variance in the size and location of our rooms, booking one of our superior or deluxe rooms can certainly give...

Amesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Before writing this review, I took the trouble of writing to the management of the hotel in order to give them a chance to redeem themselves. So it was no real surprise that I received no reply. I therefore feel obliged to let others know what very poor accommodation is provided at the Swan Hotel Bradford on Avon. We booked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amesburydruid2014
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We did indeed receive an email from this reviewer on July 21st, it has been responded to accordingly.

bristol
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had lunch here on just about the hottest day of the year. We wanted to eat outside but the garden was a few tables in the car park! The bar staff were great but unfortunately the lager was flat but they willingly changed it for another. We decided to eat but the choice of gammon was off the menu....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterg_7
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your food. We were sorry you were expecting more of a garden, as a town centre property we don't for sure have this luxury, a terrace yes, which we make efforts to maintain; it certainly is a lovely sun trap and a relaxing respite for a town centre property, but...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Visited recently The Swan, Bradford on Avon. as guests. I would just like to say how much we enjoyed our weekend break at this lovely riverside, town centre hotel. Rooms were more than comfortable, James the owner made us feel welcome as a family. Meals were excellent in the small but attractive newly decorated restaurant. The hotel has a pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we are pleased you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back again

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Like the Ugly Duckling in the fairy story, this hotel has the potential to turn into a swan and live up to its name. The old building in the centre of this lovely historic town is lovely, the rooms our party had we're large and quirky however the management (or lack of) really let's the place down. We did't eat...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Patience55
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, would love to know when your friends last ate here, we have certainly made some changes and I would welcome the opportunity for your local friends to make themselves known to me and come back and give us another try. The standard of eggs is not acceptable, I am a particular stickler for nice soft...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
490 reviews
1.9 km away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
492 reviews
3.3 km away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
4.4 km away
The Polebarn
The Polebarn
#3 of 4 in Trowbridge
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Food & drink at the hotel
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, Thai, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of this picturesque town The Swan provides accommodation, food and a popular pub. Catering for business people and visitors to the town and area the Inn has 12 well appointed en suite rooms, some suitable for families, free wifi, great breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The food offering is both traditional British and Asian, not fusion but simply offering the best of both worlds, great for the couple or group where some like spicy, others don't! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 1 Church Street, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: $104 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bradford-On-Avon, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure it is away from the bar area”
 of 5 bubbles nicholaspI3408LV, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the top floor are quiter”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccasZ8613JY, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the top would be a quieter option.”
 of 5 bubbles suep711, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“This was a working trip and perfectly suited our needs. A very nice place and staff.”
 of 5 bubbles 841zoes, 30 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Check your room out before you accept it.”
 of 5 bubbles DeeJ942, 19 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5