We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magherabuoy House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Magherabuoy House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Magherabuoy House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 358: English reviews
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Canarias, Spain
Reviewed 12 August 2015

only stayed 1 night but had lunch when i arrived to check in and got some homemade fish n chips really tasty. the room was massive and a large walkin shower so was pleased with my double room. yes its a little out of town but taxis are cheap so this wouldnt put me of staying here and the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darran M
Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darran, Thank you for your review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from accommodation to staff to food. We try to ensure potential customers understand the Hotel is located on the edge of Portrush - this brings the advantage of having an extensive, free on-site car-park. As you rightly point out, taxis into town are...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

Based on online pictures, I was expecting a clean, quaint hotel. The outside looks clean and well kept. The inside is like a totally different hotel. Front reception smells like smoke. Internet was not working, but when it was supposedly "fixed," it still didn't work in our room. The carpet in our room was frayed through the carpet pad at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jehrhartSF
Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jehrhartSF, Thank you for your review - although I am disappointed that you were disappointed with your stay. We work hard at making sure our property is maintained to a high standard and would have gladly examined any defects had you brought these to our attention during our stay. Regards, Trevor

Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We had a one-night stay at the Magherabuoy. It's a lovely property but we didn't like the location..there's really nothing within walking distance and you're over 2 km away from the town centre. Check-in was slow, as there was only one staff member working and she was on the phone when we arrived. We had a spacious room on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nickelcitygirl
Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nickelcitygirl, Thank you for your review of your stay last September. I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast offering. We open our bedroom windows to 'air' our rooms, but it sounds like we should have kept them closed when you stayed - the joys of being located beside the countryside! Kind regards, Trevor

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Just back from a 1 night stay celebrating a family members birthday.A very warm welcome by the staff at reception set the tone for the weekend.Rooms were on the ground floor, which was perfect as we had a family member in a wheelchair,very clean,spacious and perfect for our needs.We hadn't booked a table for dinner and even though they were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BillMcG1
Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bill, Thank you for staying at Magherabuoy and for taking the trouble to post your glowing recommendations about the Hotel and our staff. Glad to hear my colleagues in reception gave you and your family such a warm welcome - those first impressions really do set the tone, and I'm happy to hear it continued throughout your stay including...

Castlewellan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Wonderful experience, staff so friendly and warm, breakfast very fresh and tasty and young bar-man J.R. was an absolute treasure. Hotel very clean and nothing was a bother to anyone, situated in a brilliant location all rooms large and airy. Well worth a visit. The 3D menu was great value and very tasty. We were a party of five, on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 312frances
Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frances, Delighted you had such a wonderful experience. Our staff get a lot of credit for their friendly approach to our guests and it's nice to see that reflected in your comments. The food on our Tea-time special menu is designed to be simple but tasty and filling, and I'm really glad to hear your first meal from that...

Northern Ireland
Reviewed 26 July 2015

I visited here a few months ago and put a review on trip advisor about how disappointed at the standard of service and food but I visited again today and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised and that I would like to say that the Sunday carvery has returned to what it was a few years ago...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judithsmith199
Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Judith, Thank you for coming back to us and giving us another try after your last visit in February which you said you felt was disappointing. We take all customer feedback seriously and it is pleasing to see the extra effort we have invested since then in training our staff was reflected in the much improved standards of food...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2015

I pre-booked our 1 night here as it was close to Dunluce Castle,the Giants Causeway and other sights we wanted to see. I hadn't appreciated that it was a seaside holiday town and in mid-July would be full of local holiday makers. This is not to begrudge any people enjoying a well-earned family holiday but it was not the sort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patrick, Thank you for your review of Magherabuoy House Hotel. I'm pleased to hear you comment on the friendliness of our staff - we aim to give all our visitors a warm welcome. Thank you also for recommending our Hotel as a holiday venue. Portrush is a traditional seaside town and always attracts large numbers of holidaymakers during the...

Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay with my family at this hotel.This was our 4th visit to this hotel, and I have to admit, I can't fault this place at all.Rooms are clean and spacious, and are very modern, with all the amenities you would expect in any hotel room.We ate in the bar one night, and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adamco12
Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adam, Thank for the great review relating to your family's recent stay at Magherabuoy House Hotel - your fourth visit. So very pleased you found every aspect to be faultless. My thanks to our great team of staff for making your time here so enjoyable. Hope you can visit again soon! Regards, Trevor

Kolwezi, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Stayed here on a Saturday night in June. We were a couple, staying with another couple. The guests on that night were mostly families. The room was comfortable but a bit basic. The entire hotel was very clean. The dinner menu was ok. The service could do with improvement, it was often quicker to go to the bar yourself than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conor O
Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Conor, Pleased you found the Hotel to have been comfortable and considered it to be very clean. I am sorry your dining experiences weren't up to standard, had these been brought to our attention when you stayed with us last month we may have been in a position to remedy whatever issues arose. We feel we offer an acceptable...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2015

We stayed here for 1 night, found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Our bedroom and bathroom were spacious and very clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is in a great location the only thing that let it down for us was the food. We had an evening meal last night and it was just about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Val602015
Trevor C, Owner at Magherabuoy House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Val Glad you found your room comfortable and staff friendly and helpful. Eggs are cooked in small batches at breakfast in order they reach the plate in optimum condition, hence the slight delay in their availability at the buffet. Thank you for your review. Sincerely, Trevor

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Leona's Tea Room & Bakery
Leona's Tea Room & Bakery
Cuisines: British, Irish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refurbished country mansion and three-star, family-friendly hotel offering luxury, en-suite bedrooms and free on-site car parking. Some rooms with views across the Atlantic Ocean. Bedrooms include large doubles/twins, superior, family and accessible bedrooms. Broadband is free throughout and the Hotel offers a range of dining options. Tea room open Mon-Sat 10am-4pm. Carvery Lunch served on Sundays from 12.30pm-2.30pm. Food is served in the Bistro every evening from 4pm. Located under two miles from Royal Portrush, the Hotel is ideal for those wanting to sample the famous links. Also within a half hour's car drive of the Giant's Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magherabuoy House Hotel

Address: 41 Magheraboy Road, Portrush BT56 8NX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Price Range: $138 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magherabuoy House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Magherabuoy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Magherabuoy Hotel
Best Western Portrush
Portrush Best Western
Magherabuoy House Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#5 Family Hotel in Portrush
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magherabuoy House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Eureka, Illinois
11 months ago
Bangor, United Kingdom
15 days ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Magherabuoy House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chose a room with a working fan and no black mould in the bathroom.”
Johnc35, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are in a separate quiet accommodation block.”
lloydp723, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the car park also face the sea, high floors are best.”
bubba89, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“bottom floor.”
18gillianh, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for second floor if possible”
lilamarcusdickson, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5