We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Woolly Sheep Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Woolly Sheep Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

609 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 609: English reviews
Start your review of The Woolly Sheep Inn
 Click to rate
UK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were meeting friends and wanted somewhere to go for lunch in Skipton. Looking at the reviews on Trip Advisor, I was persuaded to book a table here, as most were showing excellent for the food. As the weather was really nice, we decided to swap our waitress served table inside for a table (serve yourself) outside. Maybe it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guidinglight
Brigg, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This pub has loads of character and had a reasonable selection of beers and lagers. A proper boozer. There's a decent area for just drinking and what looked like a decent restaurant area. Service was quick and there was plenty of friendly staff. It's right in the.middle of town and easy to find. I love this type of pub.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank highside19
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here last week, had booked through work and wasn't sure what to expect. I wasn't disappointed!! Every member of staff I encountered was really helpful and friendly. On arrival, I was taken to my room rather than just being directed which was really nice. Because I'd had a long day at work prior to travelling to Skipton, I ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jojo0911
Wigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in an annex room which was lovely, large and bright with a comfortable queen size bed. A good selection of tea, coffee etc including bottled water and sweets. The only negative comment is that it is quite noisy when other guests are coming in but as there are only 3 rooms it was not a problem.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsCWigan
Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, good wine list and lovely staff. But.... we were seated next to a drunk table of 6 men. They had been seated despite being clearly drunk. They vaped in the restaurant, swore loudly, smelt of urine and abused staff. My 2-daughters felt uncomfortable all night. Why did management keep serving them San Miguel and not intervene?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KevinCoaker
Woolly S, Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review

Hi Kevin I'm extremely sorry about the table next to you. I was aware of the 6 gentlemen drinking and eating and kept a close eye on them but I didn't hear any swearing or see any vaping (neither of which are permitted) although I did note they were louder than I would have liked. We kept serving them as...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So today we decided to take a trip out to skipton and the woolly sheep inn is where we decided to stop for something to eat. The menu looked great and the food looked good. No complaints there! The food was great, but the staff!! Wow I've never experienced such horrible customer service from both the waitress and manager! I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoe0142
Woolly S, Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review

Following your visit to The Woolly Sheep I think its important to point out that we are not intimidated by aggression, we are not intimidated by threats of tripadvisor and neither were we intimidated by threats of walking out without paying. The staff served you politely and with their usual professionalism. At this point you decided you did not want...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a two night stay here. Free parking which was a bonus. The room we had was small but adequate. Comfy bed and pillows. Tiny en-suit. We ate here on the first night. Food was ok, not great. Breakfast however was excellent. Our stay was for a Friday and Saturday night. Be warned, it is VERY noisy in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leebutch47
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my parents went to The Woolly Sheep pub for a meal out this evening, and it was absolutely wonderful! The staff were really friendly, the atmosphere was very lovely and the food was absolutely delicious!! I had a cheese and bacon burger with chips for main course and sticky toffee pudding for dessert, and they were really scrumptious!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ktydkjhf
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I booked two nights at the Woolly Sheep recently. Due to our limited mobility (both 76 years) we always look for : car parking, restaurant and either lift or ground floor rooms. If we can't satisfy all three - we don't book. Due to a misunderstanding we arrived at the Woolly Sheep to discover to,our disappointment that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aitchb
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good central location in this pretty Dales town. A very comfortable room with great food in the restaurant. The open fire in the bar was most welcome and very warming on a wet evening. All the staff were helpful and friendly. I will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaneHuw

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.9 km away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,101 reviews
0.5 km away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
762 reviews
7.0 km away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
3.3 km away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
0.1 km away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#4 of 33 in Skipton
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Woolly Sheep Inn

Address: 38 Sheep Street, Skipton BD23 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Price Range: $139 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolly Sheep Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Woolly Sheep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woolly Sheep Hotel Skipton
The Woolly Sheep Inn Skipton, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Woolly Sheep Inn staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Woolly Sheep Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The annex rooms have beds to accommodate the taller traveller”
carolec578, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one not over the busy bar.”
oolong, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms on the ground floor; likely to be noisier. Ours was quiet, up quite a lot of stairs; a consideration if you have mobility problems.”
rabcee, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we only drank and ate here but if i was in skipton i would book a room”
michellee711, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms at he back are much Quieter”
KazS774, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5