We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aliwal Shoal Scuba

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umkomaas
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 33: English reviews
Start your review of Aliwal Shoal Scuba
 Click to rate
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

The one divecentre located right next to the ocean, which is amazing. Thus when you stay there you have the best view! (And it's right above/next the dive centre, so also very convenient). On the dives the staff knows what they're doing. We had rough conditions but an INCREDIBLE skipper! All staff is super friendly, I would definitely come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annabiesheuvel
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

I had an amazing time. The staff are so friendly and very welcoming. Had theost amazing experience. The dive was amazing couldn't ask for better. Will definitely be coming back for more diving. Thank you so very much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
Lelanie B, Manager at Aliwal Shoal Scuba, responded to this review

Hi Samantha Thank you so much for the review!! It means a lot to all of us here :)

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Unfortunately we couldn't stay here because they were fully booked but the staff organised a guest house for us which was fantastic! We did go diving with them twice and it was just amazing! Our first dive was a reef dive and then we did a baited shark dive and they were both unbelievable - thank you everyone for your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophie m
London
Reviewed 24 January 2017

My wife and I stayed here for one night in early December 2016 and could not be more impressed by the whole package. Our 4 star room was great, Waves restaurant was great, the diving was fantastic. Unfortunately my wife was too unwell to dive so I had to go alone, and tell her all about it later. The whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonyeade
Lelanie B, Manager at Aliwal Shoal Scuba, responded to this review

Hi Tony Thank you so much for the review! It really means a lot to us all here. We cant wait to introduce our sharks to your wife, I know she will like it as much as you did. Hope we see you again real soon!!

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 11 January 2017

My wife and I had a great dive with Aliwal shoal and their experienced team. Our booking at the other dive centre had been messed up and they told us we would not be able to dive! Having drove 2 hours to dive we were pretty upset. Aliwal Shoal Scuba stepped in and charter a boat exclusivly for my wife...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David F
Florence, Italy
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

This was one of the best dives I had in South Africa during my trip! My boyfriend and I had been looking forward to diving at the Shoal for months, but a difficulty in our scheduled transportation to Durban meant we would be arriving late and miss our dive. When we called the dive center, both Clare and Charlie were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
Hallein
Reviewed 27 December 2016

This is a review about the diving base, NOT the hotel !!! We joined Aliwal Shoal Scube for fives dives: "the Catheadral", "Produce", "North/South Banks" and two baited shark dives. Most of the dives are not for the faint of heart, because we had a very strong current at all the times and the visibility could also be better. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kleiner_Hammerhai
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

What a great place. Diving excellent. Service excellent. Accommodation great value for money.. would definitely recommend! Stopped here from sodwana bay. Both great diving spots. Great restaurant very neat accommodation too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raellowenthal
Lelanie B, Manager at Aliwal Shoal Scuba, responded to this review

Hi Real Thank you sooo much for your review!!

Vryheid, South Africa
Reviewed 18 October 2016

From the first moment the staff makes you feel welcome, the spotless 4 star rooms are a pleasure to spend a couple of hours just relaxing with DSTV after a full morning of diving and the restaurant on site caters for every taste. With Lelanie and Mariaan in the front office always ready to cater to the customers every need,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francois659
Management response:

Thank you so much Francoise and Lollie!! Having you guys here are like family coming home. We really appreciate every time you guys come. See you guys soon!!

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

From the first email to the friendly goodbye, the staff were on point. Friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The room had a view to die for, the shower was big I could sleep in it and I wanted to steal the comfy towels. I loved diving with this group, I always felt safe. They took extra time to explain and search...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank candace15
Management response:

Hi Candice Thank you soooo much for the review and all your kind words. It was great to have you here with us. Hope we see you soon!! Kind Regards Lelanie

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (35)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umkomaas
9.6 km away
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Scottburgh
188 reviews
9.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
0.5 km away
Blue Ocean Dive Resort
Blue Ocean Dive Resort
#1 of 9 in Umkomaas
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ocean Park Guest House
Ocean Park Guest House
#2 of 8 in Umkomaas
49 reviews
1.1 km away
Umkomaas Guest House
Umkomaas Guest House
#4 of 8 in Umkomaas
33 reviews
3.6 km away
Vertical Blue
Vertical Blue
#3 of 9 in Umkomaas
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Golf Course
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Umkomaas Lodge Dive Charters / Aliwal Shoal Scuba is the only dive centre in town that is located directly on the beachfront. Our diving facilities are exemplary with a full gear and wet room and onsite cylinder compressors that can provide both air and nitrox fills. We have a fully stocked shop at the centre that sells first and secondhand dive equipment of all descriptions, and customers can also hire full gear from us. For those coming to do courses with us, we have a heated dive tank for use during confined water sessions. The dive centre provides customers with hot showers upon returning from dives, and has a deck area overlooking the ocean. The deck boasts two brick braai areas and a Jacuzzi, making it the ideal place to relax after a long day out at sea. We have onsite accommodation, ranging from highly affordable backpacker rooms to luxurious four star ones, and guests are more than welcome to visit our next-door bar and restaurant, Waves. Umkomaas Lodge Dive Charters' proximity to the world-famous Aliwal Shoal, which lies just 4 km directly offshore means that we can offer diving of the very highest calibre. Year round, the Shoal is home to impressive megafauna as well as stunning macro life. We offer reef and baited dives, the latter of which allows you the opportunity to encounter the sharks for which South Africa is famous. During the summer months, the Shoal is home to the rare and beautiful tiger shark, while the humpback whales and raggedtooth sharks reign during the cooler months. Our staff are hugely enthusiastic about what they do, and are friendly and helpful. Come to the Shoal, and let us show you the wonders of our underwater world! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aliwal Shoal Scuba

Address: 1 Roland Norris Drive, Umkomaas 4170, South Africa (Formerly Umkomaas Lodge Dive Charters)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umkomaas
Price Range: $17 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aliwal Shoal Scuba staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay the extra, go 4 star.”
tonyeade, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 10 such a nice view”
chandy709, 29 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Room 10 - 180 degree sea view.”
ELizaveta_23, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
“I stayed at a 3* room and it was very good. Amazing shower. I suppose that the 4* is even better!”
GustavoParanhos, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The 4* rooms are worth getting.”
LisaBorrino, 23 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5