We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Railway Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thorpe On The Hill
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Railway Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 57: English reviews
Start your review of The Railway Inn
 Click to rate
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On a Sunday they do a great Sunday lunch carvery. They have three size meals from £4.95 to £7.95 for one course. The only difference is the amount of meat. The food is very good with a choice of meats. The only problem is that the restaurant is quite small and they put in too many tables so there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank purpletravelat
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Thank you for the service good hot enjoyable good .nine people all served together piping hot food.will be back for more soon.excellent value for the money . Good to have fresh food not frozen. chips home made .about 25 minute wait not complaining about that

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
Carly B, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review, look forward to seeing you again. Regards Carly @ The Railway Inn

Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

We food was excellent I had the fillet steak with lovely onion rings and chips and my wife had the steak pie, the proportions were sizable, the staff were friendly and efficient. We had quite a few drinks in the bar where we found the staff and the locals very friendly, all in all we had a very nice stay,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul G
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Typical pub food with generous helpings served by friendly obliging staff. In our group we enjoyed the fish and chips and sausage and mash with appropriate vegetables. The treacle sponge for the sweet just about finished us off. Would return. Not the most salubrious setting as it is a very much a local pub supported by regulars.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank regora186336
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We came to stay at the campsite which was fine. On Saturday night we went into the pub and were surprised by the amount of F'ing and blinding, not just on a table but shouted loudly across the pub early evening, even though pub wasn't too busy. Plus language not appropriate for a pub. These we feel were the locals...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 17tamjo
Saxilby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I visited the railway today 20 Aug with my wife daughter and grandson and what a find ,the food was wonderful and the girls were efficient , friendly , ( and pretty ) I can't praise them all enough ,thankyou we will deffinately return . I can't think of anything better than a few nights on the well kept caravan...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Graham B
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Well. It is a typical old style pub. Nothing special, decor a bit dated and it has a small restaurant area (in the conservatory). However, the food is good quality and well made home style cooking. Thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Very tasty. Will be going back again. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wombatperry
Burntisland, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the railway in for two nights whilst in Lincoln burying my Nannas ashes. There was 10 of us in total that stayed, all different ages. My mum had her camper in the grounds which was £12 per night including power & water. The rest of us stayed in the lovely little self contained cottages which were only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nova G
Carly B, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review, so happy you all enjoyed your stay with us here at The Railway Inn hope to see you all again soon.

Reviewed 8 August 2016

We have stayed on the CL twice now and looking forward to our next visit, we found the dining room and facilities very clean and smelling so fresh, the food is really good with large portions. So very friendly it was a pleasure to return and be greeted as if we were family Thanks Carly see you soon

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Verna F
Carly B, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Wow thank you for the lovely review, look forward too seeing you again soon. From us all @ The Railway Inn

Clacton-on-sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Found this little gem when we were staying just up the road at the Lincoln Travelodge. Give Subway, Burger King etc a miss and drive a few minutes into Thorpe on the Hill if you're hungry. Probably need to book though as the restaurant is quite small. Huge portions of delicious food, lovely, friendly staff too and good value for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brenda S
Carly B, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, the restaurant decor is next on our list of refurbishment once we have passed the busy summer months. We hope this hasn't put you off returning for another visit

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe On The Hill
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
3.0 km away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
672 reviews
2.7 km away
The Pride of Lincoln
The Pride of Lincoln
#2 of 2 in North Hykeham
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Eagles Guest House
Eagles Guest House
#1 of 3 in North Hykeham
316 reviews
4.7 km away
The Loudor
The Loudor
#2 of 3 in North Hykeham
131 reviews
2.5 km away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#3 of 3 in North Hykeham
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Address: Station Road, Thorpe On The Hill LN6 9BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Thorpe On The Hill
Price Range: $89 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Railway Hotel Lincoln
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Railway Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Railway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is not a hotel, its a pub, they do have individual external rooms to stay over”
 of 5 bubbles BongoandGert, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back best”
 of 5 bubbles alanmm2013, 19 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Room 4 offers a lovely view on the back field”
 of 5 bubbles joshbX1483TV, 18 Jun 2015 | Read review
“All rooms have their own access and albeit next to the railway line its quiet and I'm not deaf!”
 of 5 bubbles Vermodi, 30 Aug 2012 | Read review
4 of 4