We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

540 on Great South Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
540 on Great South Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for 540 on Great South Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Hotel is an old nursing home converted to a hotel. Area is industrial with no attractions near by. A few minutes from airport but much better options closer then this one. Room we had was terrible for the price, would not stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ross B
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Hi - I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We hope you will come again and we will be more than happy to give you the extra special VIP treatment!

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 January 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for over a month with our 2 children. The staff have been exceptional to say the least. Always accommodating to our needs and very helpful. Everyone here is so friendly and cheerful. My kids made friends with the owners and the very pleasant bubbly cleaning ladies. The room we stayed in was of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enayat101
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback! We are glad that you and your family stayed with us. We have tried to call you but the number is not connected. Could you please give us a call as we want to discuss an item of lost property with you.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2015

Be aware that early departure is NOT possible after arrival. Noisy because it is on Great South road and window are thin. Nice big bathtub room 28. But it won't be clean during your stay. Nice soft bed sheet. poor sofa from the 80s.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nachor_French
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry you had issues with your sofa, however we replaced it with a brand new sofa which is fantastic. The Housekeeping team noted the Do not disturb sign on your door and did not interupt you. We hope to see you again soon!

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 29 December 2014

The room looked very worn out and dirty. The pictures looked nothing like the room, except for maybe the bathroom. The foldout couch was terribly dirty and dusty. The sheets looked clean but they had this choking perfume smell. We definitely did not sleep very well due to the traffic outside. The receptionist wasn't too friendly either. We were only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 22Celine03
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. The room package you purchased came with 50 MB free wifi and you were offered Unlimited data for a small fee of $8. We hope you will return as we have introduce many new items to our property.

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 December 2014

Overall the unit was lovely. The only thing letting it down was the fold out couch that was hideously stained and old. Paint in the room needs a bit of a touch up as is looking worn, chipped and paint colours didn't match where touch ups had been applied. The bed was comfortable and the cooked breakfast I ordered was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TraxnDax
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Dear TraxnDax Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your feedback. We are currently replacing our fold out sofas - on your next stay we will ensure you are in a room with one of our new sofa beds (they are really comfortable!) Our spa...

Thames, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 November 2014

We stayed here 3 nights while my husband was studying in Auckland. Location was pretty handy, not far off the motorway. It's not a great area right outside, but close to places to eat and bus stop right outside which takes you into CBD. Fairly quiet at night time. Not massive rooms, but def comfortable and clean and just right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vikki06
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Dear Vikki06 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was great to read you have an enjoyable time - just a few minutes walk from the heart of Otahuhu with the convenience of Auckland CBD just a few minutes on the motorway. We have a range of rooms available and on your next visit...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 November 2014

Stayed here for one night in a basic studio room, I booked online 2 hours prior to arriving and when checking in they had all my information and it's probably the easiest check in I've experienced, done in under 5 mins. I stayed in room 16, Basic Studio. I think was a queen size bed that was really comfortable. Linen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Will75
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Dear Will75 Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at 540 on Great South. It was great to read your enjoyed your overnight stay in one of our studio rooms. We appreciated the feedback on the leak and this has now been fixed. Perhaps on your next stay with us you may like to try one of our One...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 October 2014

Great staff, clean and spacious room. Bed was comfortable and great water pressure in the shower. My wife opted for a massage in the room and loved it. Tried the movie theatre - have to admit really enjoyed the popcorn and coke - a nice touch whilst travelling and private. Took us an extra few minutes to get to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Dear Jamie B Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at 540 on Great South. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to use our range of on site amenities and thank you for your comment saying we are the cleanest motel you have stayed at. I will be...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 October 2014

Rough location in industrial area, but pleasant engaging people. Spacious carpark full of stretch limos and guests smoking on tarmac; traffic whizzing by at all hours. Our room was old style but spotless with a superb shower, hot with high pressure; and we enjoyed the crisp linen and firm mattress. We left an iPad behind; the staff found it, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waiwherowhero
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Dear Waiwherowhero Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our service and glad you were able to retrieve your iPad. We have rooms in the older part of the motel and in our upgraded area we have rooms ranging from studios through to one or two bedroom spa...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 20 October 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night before heading out to the airport next day. For NZ 115 I think the quality is very good compared to many other motels we stayed during the last two week. The location is very convenient to the airport, about 15 minutes drive. There is a big shopping center, Sylvia Park, about 10 minutes away that has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank World_Travel_Lover74
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Dear World_Travel_Lover74 Thank you for your review of your stay with us at 540 on Great South. We are very proud of our Qualmark 4.5 star rating and always looking for ways to improve our motel. The amenity range you mentioned is made locally in New Zealand with 100% recycled bottles and is called BSpoke - made just for us...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otahuhu
6.2 km away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.7 km away
Grange Lodge Motel
Grange Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Manukau
210 reviews
8.3 km away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
4.8 km away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
266 reviews
6.9 km away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
540 on Great South Motel Located in the heart of Otahuhu only a moment’s walk from cafes, restaurants, bars and shops. We are located just off the southern motorway and very close to the Grange & Auckland Golf Courses, Kings & Otahuhu Colleges, Rainbow’s End, Middlemore Hospital, Auckland International Airport, Sylvia Park shopping centre. Close proximity to Mt Smart Stadium, Manukau Vodafone Events Centre and Elleslie Racecourse. Business or leisure 540 on Great South is your perfect accommodation choice. Our 4 star plus boutique Motel offers a range of excellent accommodation options. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 540 on Great South Motel

Address: 540 Great South Road | (Cnr of Alexander Street), Otahuhu 1062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Otahuhu
Price Range: $156 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 540 on Great South Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your 540 on Great South Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
540 On Great South Hotel Otahuhu
540 On Great South Motel Auckland/Otahuhu, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 540 on Great South Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from 540 on Great South Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 20 is lovely!”
EdwardT2155, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check everything in the room to make sure it is working as you might get charged later on when you check out.”
apodera, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to go for a room on the back side. Less noise.”
MatthewandBritt, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room at the back, away from the main road”
Argy14, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“"Terrible Attitude, Smelly dark rooms, too far from the city"”
Mmary81, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5