We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Dashwood Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Dashwood Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Dashwood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 215: English reviews
Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Travelling to Oxfordshire for 2 family celebrations - young children's birthdays- my friend and I looked for a hotel in the locality for a relaxing one night "mini break". .. We were not disappointed with The Dashwood. The staff were welcoming, very efficient and friendly. The rooms were very clean, quiet with good facilities and comfortable beds. We ate a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 54primrose
Chateau-d'Oex, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

It seems very nice and better than I expected I expected. Not far from Blenheim Palace which is why I am here. Rooms are clean and well presented as are the bathrooms. Problem only now HOT water!!! But did have a charming call to my room to apologies. Dinner here review after?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jelswiss
Scott_TheDashwood, General Manager at The Dashwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jelswiss, Thank you for your favourable review. We do have a lot of guests stay who are visiting the architectural splendour of Blenheim Palace. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and apologies once again for the lack of hot water as you arrived. Fortunately, we were able to rectify that almost immediately. Hopefully we will see...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The hotel itself isn't the best, location is way off anything to do - if you like lonely, this is the place. Rooms have no airco and street rooms rather noisy. The staff however, largely make up everything. I got smiles throughout and the service was attentive and personal. Breakfast was very good, both the cooked breakfast and the continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deflumine
Scott_TheDashwood, General Manager at The Dashwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deflumine, Thank you for your 5* review. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Usually our guests revel in the location of our charming ,“chocolate box” village of Kirtlington as it has the sense that it is in the middle of nowhere however is actually very well connected. Just 5 miles or so from the M40 (London...

Derbyshire
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We stayed here overnight, after visiting to Countrywise Show at Blenheim Palace, which is only a few miles away. We opted for this as Woodstock was a lot more expensive and quite frankly I think this little village is a lot quieter and is very pretty. The hotel is a very pretty and sits in the middle of the village....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soskin
Scott_TheDashwood, General Manager at The Dashwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Soskin, Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased that you and your friend enjoyed your time with us. As you mentioned we are conveniently located a short distance from Blenheim Palace and regularly welcome palace visitors to stay. The Smoked Lamb Shoulder you enjoyed for dinner, is one of my favourites on the menu! Once they...

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our way to Cornwall & what a treat! Room was spacious & beautifully furnished with large bathroom The Restaurant was outstanding! Lovely atmosphere & food just amazing.. Only negative I can think of was our room was right on a busy road but wasn't really a problem Thank you !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night on business. Good location. Comfortable clean room. Good food, good service, friendly staff. Ample parking. The restaurant food was very good and their is an ok range of beers on offer. Breakfast was very good, with a good choice, and the breakfast staff were very pleasant. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steelytim
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Booked to stay here to go to a concert at Blenheim Palace as it is only about 10 mins drive away. Consequently we didn't stay very long. Check in was friendly and efficient and the room very comfortable and pleasantly decorated. Definitely would repeat the experience and perhaps stay for breakfast next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JetLaggedMaureen
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

First stayed here 3 years ago on a trip from Australia. The food was incredible and my husband raved about it so we took the opportunity to stay here again with our baby daughter and parents in April. We were a last minute booking and the staff were fantastic in giving us neighbouring rooms as well as locating a travel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali D
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner after a family wedding. Great service and a fantastic room. The bar is lovely and quaint serving great beer and wines. The village itself is quintessentially English. Thank you so much! Can't wait to stay here again...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben D
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2016

We stayed only one night for a friend's nearby wedding and loved our room. The breakfast was delicious and the overall package was well worth the price. Very helpful staff and a wonderful atmosphere. Would love to go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Juliabudgen82

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirtlington
6.3 km away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,515 reviews
3.6 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
556 reviews
12.8 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chesterton
397 reviews
3.6 km away
The Oxfordshire Inn Hotel
The Oxfordshire Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bletchingdon
275 reviews
9.0 km away
Kings Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling in the beautiful North Oxfordshire village of Kirtlington 0X5 3HJ near Bicester, The Dashwood Hotel is a historic grade II listed coaching house now serving as a restaurant and bar with hotel rooms. The surrounding area offers a wealth of sights, activities and heritage with Oxford, Woodstock's Blenheim Palace and the popular Bicester Village Designer Outlet Shopping Centre all on the doorstep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dashwood Hotel

Address: Heyford Rd, South Green, Kirtlington OX5 3HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kirtlington
Price Range: $170 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dashwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, SpeedyBooker.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Dashwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dashwood Hotel Kirtlington
Dashwood Hotel Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dashwood Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Dashwood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Executive Rooms 1, 2 or 3 but not rooms 4 or 5”
 of 5 bubbles Britrunner, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 8 was lovely with own front door x”
 of 5 bubbles sallyannev, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the top floor of the main building if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles WTPlus, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“would ask for room at the back and not on top floor”
 of 5 bubbles Deflumine, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Any room across the courtyard for easy access”
  • comfy clean twin beds
  • pull cord under TV for disabled, though it does have a remote.
  • tea, coffee, table and chairs
 of 5 bubbles soskin, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay