We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Makaira Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Makaira Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Makaira Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 101: English reviews
Kingston, Jamaica
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Went to Taveuni with a friend, fishing. He claimed all along that it wasn't a fishing trip & in the end I agree. If you don't enjoy yourself at Makaira, it is your own fault. Magnificent views of the Somo Somo straights. Makaira burgers. Anyone who can appreciate the magic hour doesn't need an explanation. I'm not a big massage...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank arrow2016
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate it. You guys were so much fun I think we should give you both a 5 star guest rating. You are definitely members of the future Makaira Club along with so many of our other fabulous guests. Anytime you are ready to come back...

Cambridge, Canada
Reviewed 3 March 2016

My stay at Makaira was an unreal experience. The view from the property was straight from a post card. The food was great , The snorkeling and the beach is just a short walk from the property. Makaira is world class all the way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us that great review, it is so appreciated. I hope you got out of Fiji in the knick of time before the cyclone hit? I hope you got to see the Kadavu reef before it hit, because I heard it really sustained some damage. You were great fun and we...

Auckland NZ
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Well you may ask what is coral gardening? I will tell you but and I hate buts, but this one is necessary. Like many reefs the world round the coral reefs in Fiji are threatened. Pollution, storm surge, and Crown of Thorn starfish plagues are some of the causes, The reefs out the front of Makaira have been badly damaged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara-iti
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for that wonderful review about our coral gardening project. As you know we just got hit by the devastating cyclone Winston. We were very lucky and are up and operational. After we cleared the rubble on the resort James and I went out with much trepidation to see what was left of all our hard work...

Ogden, Utah
Reviewed 2 February 2016

The location, accommodations, staff, food, and atmosphere was amazing!!! We can't wait to go back and scuba dive on the rainbow reef some more. John took us out fishing and made sure we had a great time and we couldn't stop laughing.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rachelllowe
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. You were a great group with superb organizational skills to make the best of your time on Taveuni. We hope you will join us again when you come back to do some serious diving on the Rainbow reef. Taveuni is truly like practice heaven.

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 11 January 2016

When we originally booked our stay here, it was for 7 nights. We thought that would be "plenty". After about day 5 we were already "longing" for more time. Roberta and John had asked us several times to stay longer. It was not a difficult decision. There are many reviews of Makaira on Trip Advisor. They almost all have "rave"...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank leecap
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. But in all fairness you both also had the right attitude. I notice with guests that come to Taveuni with an open mind and ready to embrace the tropics and the whole experience which is often quite different then from where they came from with tropical weather and a few extra bugs....

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Just spent eight nights in Taveuni, and so glad we picked Makaira. Great location - a short walk to one of the best small beaches on the island, across the street from Tramonto if you get tired of self catering and want a tasty pizza, two kilometers from the Matei airport and grocery store, and a perfect base to shoot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blueskyguy
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I must say you did a brilliant job of summarizing all the highlights which really helps future guests to know what is around us and what they can do at Makaira and on the island. When our guests write these lovely reviews it really does inspire...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2015

I am so happy I booked to stay at Makaira Resort. Not only were we upgraded to the amazing Villa with Sea view (which was a amazing surprise for my 30th bday) but the owner Roberta baked me the best chocolate birthday cake I've ever eaten (I do not lie about things as serious as chocolate!). We only stayed 3...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kazwalcott
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Yes I agree your stay was far too short:-). But we will consider this a recon trip and so look forward to seeing you both again and maybe even with friends. We enjoyed you both so much and I am so glad you had a good 30th and good fun fishing with John and Baba.Thank you so much for visiting...

Auckland NZ
Reviewed 9 October 2015

People say "oh I just got back from Fiji" I say where did you stay thinking it will be some exotic destination and the answer is often "Denarau". You might as well go to the Gold Coast or any other generic resort world wide. Sure they got shops and spas and 5 star restaurants but they got no soul. If...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tara-iti
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for that great review, you really hit the nail on the head and it really will help future travellers decide if Makaira suits their vision of their perfect holiday. We truly are suited for the nature loving traveller who wants to get away. They can decide how much they want to do or not and still...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Makaira Is a wonderful place for a getaway. The setting is spectacular-amazing 180 degree views, Roberta and the staff are so warm and welcoming and the food was so good we chose to eat their every night of our stay. We were upgraded to the villa which was perfect; incredibly spacious and comfortable-and beautifully cleaned every day. Loved being able...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank castaway50
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for that wonderful review. We all enjoyed you both so much. Anytime you are ready to come back we will be waiting and yes I will give you the basil salad dressing recipe as promised, since once you return you automatically join the Makaira Club made up exclusively of returnees. We adore our returnees and you...

Glen Cove, NY
Reviewed 16 June 2015

If you're even toying with the idea of going to Fiji, make your destination Taveuni and stay at Makaira Resort. This place was recommended to me and my husband by a friend of ours who worked for one of those travel books that tells you all about places. We had beautiful dinners here as well as neighboring resorts. Watched the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaneJoy
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and taking the time to write one up for us. We are so pleased you had a nice time with us and we enjoyed you both so much. We hope one day you both will return and become part of Makaira's returnee club. . Not to worry when you do if you...

326 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
5:55
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matei
1.7 km away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
0.5 km away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Taveuni Island
329 reviews
0.4 km away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#3 of 3 in Matei
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Matangi Private Island Resort
Matangi Private Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matangi Island
252 reviews
15.5 km away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#8 of 10 in Taveuni Island
227 reviews
12.5 km away
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Makaira is an affordable getaway on an island getaway. 3 accommodations only on a 4 acre property overlooking panoramic ocean views and white sandy beaches. The Grander is two bedroom two bath. The Villa is the ultimate in romance or can accommodate a group of 4 friends and the Marlin is a cottage built for two. We specialize in privacy, romance, serenity, adventure and a kicked back island life style. Makaira is the best of both worlds with self contained cottages or our guests can choose to have meals prepared for them complimented with organic vegetables, fruits and herbs from our organic garden. Aside from a stunning location, we offer lots of free amenities, airport transfers, WiFi, breakfast, snorkel gear, snorkel tours, reef gardening lessons, glass bottom kayak, private phone, DVD movies, a fabulous full time Fijian staff to look after our guests needs. We also offer Fishing charters for all types of deep sea fishermen, boat snorkel tours and upon reservation dinner at our galley restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Makaira Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Matei, Taveuni Island +679, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island > Matei
Price Range: $229 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Makaira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makaira By The Sea Hotel Taveuni Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Makaira Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Makaira Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the 'sea villa', it is amazing!”
  • Inside of the 'sea villa'
653hendrikk, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“While all three bures have ocean views, we loved our Ocean view bure; it was absolutely gorgeous - comfortable, spacious, with infinity pool”
sallyabetts, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All accommodation offers excellent views”
ge0rge26, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“There are only three bures and they are all well positioned. Living is relaxed, casual and almost open air.”
SallyP99, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Marlin Bure is good for a single or couple. The other Bure's are larger, so more suited for a family or group of people.”
, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5