We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

PricelineUSD 121*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 186*
USD 121*
Great Deal
USD 153*
USD 153*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

960 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 955: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived as a party of three for a two bedroom apartment. The receptionist was not very friendly when telling us our room was not ready. This was for one night accomm on a Monday night. The shower in the en suite was completely broken. The spa and gym were both closed due to maintenance which was extremely disappointing. On...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tracey H
Ramada S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It's disappointing to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us so we can improve our product. We intend for all of our guests to have a comfortable stay, but it sounds like something has gone wrong and we've missed the mark...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Across the road from a really kid friendly beach. Take your joggers and hike Mount Tomaree. Great place for a quiet retreat. If your looking for a rocking time - try somewhere else. Pool area is great, BBQ s it's the real deal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
Ramada S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ramada Shoal bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed their time at Shoal Bay and i do hope to see you again soon. Regards Jacqui Lawlor

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is just opposite to the beach , the view is nice Also we love their indoor pool! Our kids having fun The hotel room inside looks a bit old though but is clean We can also get towel from reception

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 730matthew
Ramada S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ramada Shoal bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our...

Sydney
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A huge thank you to the Resort and the wonderful staff who have made my parents stay so wonderful. My husband and I booked a week away for my mum and dad to celebrate dads 70th. They are a couple who do not travel regularly and have quite limited mobility. Mum and dad have had the most wonderful week. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
Ramada S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your parents stay at the Ramada Shoal bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am so glad that your parents enjoyed their time at Shoal Bay and i do hope to see you again soon. Regards Jacqui Lawlor

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Ramada over the Easter weekend. First time we have stayed in Shoal Bay as we usually stay in Salamander. Shoal Bay will be our place to stay going forward. The hotel is run by Wyndham so it's not a 5 star hotel but it does the job. The place needs a really good overhaul, if it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank louielou79
Ramada S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback about the hotel. It sounds like the Ramada Shoal Bay was the perfect location for your time in the bay! Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Jacqui Lawlor

Narooma, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the last hotel of our trip and after many years of travelling both in Australia and overseas the worst we have stayed in . Don't be fooled by the photos . We were put in an old unit block way out the back and when I complained moved to the tower that has one lift and shabby as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vicki F
Ramada S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the hotel. It's disappointing to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations; we always strive for all of our guests to have the best experience possible. If you ever are visiting Shoal Bay again, please feel free to contact me directly Jacqui.lawlor@ramadashoalbay.com.au so that...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So, we had a bad introduction, travelling from a 5-star in HongKong for 30+ hours, and a bus from Sydney, in the heat. We lumped into this resort, a very small place, late at night and freaked out at the poor wifi (for business was trying to vid-conf to US). Someone actually told us, if you wait an hour or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mukdennnis
Ramada S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We really appreciate your feedback as we seek it out to ensure we are able to listen and learn from our guests in order to keep improving. I apologize that the speed of the WIFI affected the use of the internet during your stay. We advertise the Ramada as non serviced apartments, I am glad to hear...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a room outside pool area, well equipted with kitcennette and comfortable furnishings. Adjoins a bistro/ bar/ restaurant which was handy but average with meals and cleanliness/ neatness. An inviting lap pool and choice of 3 spas and gym. Outdoor pool inviting. Plenty of parking undercover. Visited in March, outside of school holidays-not sure if room would be suitable when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dunnsk60
Ramada S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ramada Shoal bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. We do hope to see you back in the near future Regards Jacqui Lawlor

Belmont, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment overlooking the mountain and the beach. We each had our own bathroom with a small loungeroom in middle. Weird set up as the bedroom off the balcony had no bathroom, but the bedroom in the middle of the unit had a bathtub...no windows, and the other bathroom was on the left of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
Ramada S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We really appreciate your feedback as we seek it out to ensure we are able to listen and learn from our guests in order to keep improving. I apologise for what you experienced at Ramada Shoal Bay. Kind regards Jacqui Lawlor

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

What a dirty dump no service in rooms ,heaps of noise from the pub next door late at night , pool was dirty, this was a great place to stay a few years ago Looks like Ramada running it into the ground

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Graeme C
Ramada S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We really appreciate your feedback as we seek it out to ensure we are able to listen and learn from our guests in order to keep improving. I apologise for what you experienced at Ramada Shoal Bay. Kind regards Jacqui Lawlor

529 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (198)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (89)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (298)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Beach (4)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (2)
Viewed
One Bedroom Deluxe Beachfront Apartment (58)
Viewed
One Bedroom Side Waterview Apartment (52)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Standard Studio (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Waterview Apartment (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoal Bay
1.5 km away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
83 reviews
2.7 km away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
532 reviews
1.4 km away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
144 reviews
2.5 km away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
192 reviews
6.2 km away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is the ultimate beachfront Resort perfect for romantic escapes, family holidays, pamper weekends, beach getaways, weddings, special events and meetings and business. Shoal Bay lays by the entrance to Port Stephens, overlooking the white sands and the magnificent volcanic Tomaree headlands. Boasting crystal clear waterways and extensive National Park with unspoiled bushland, Shoal Bay is certainly one of New South Wales most stunning destinations. Just 2.5 hr drive north of Sydney and 30mins from Newcastle, this award winning Resort offers a diverse range of accommodation styles and options to suit a variety of budgets and can accommodate up to 700 guests. Accommodation ranges from Standard Studios through to Waterview, Beachfront and Bayview rooms with a choice of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments located across 7 accommodation buildings. The Resort features 4 restaurants including the award winning Catch at Shoal Bay, 5 bars, the iconic Country Club Hotel, Occie’s Kids Club (operating throughout NSW School Holidays periods), Shoal Bay Resort Store, Whitesands Conference Centre, an outdoor heated Resort pool with children’s wading area and complimentary secure undercover parking. Relax at the Aqua Spa wellbeing sanctuary for adults (min 16 yrs+) offering a true Thalassotherapy experience for guests through the 3 mineral spa pools and 25m heated lap pool. Take yourself on a journey to revive your mind, body and soul, indulge in a range of menu treatments that enhance the total well being and surrender to the experience of products that will relax, de-stress and energise you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Address: 35-45 Shoal Bay Rd, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Shoal Bay
Price Range: $127 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Resort Shoal Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Shoal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Hotel Shoal Bay
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay Port Stephens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ramada Resort Shoal Bay staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ramada Resort Shoal Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check exactly what room type you are requesting. Confirm how often the rooms are serviced.”
Pete020353, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“There are many rooms with views so just ask if you want one (for a price of course).”
KenW265, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't be fooled by photos.”
969vickif, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pool front outside of school holidays”
dunnsk60, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a room in the "Barrington" building on the top floor overlooking the ocean.”
F379IRkatieg, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 121* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 153
Booking.comUSD 153
HotelQuicklyUSD 186
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates