We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Big Blue Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beachview
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Big Blue Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have stayed at the Big Blue many times over the years and they have yet to disappoint me, I just love the place and the hospitality shown to me every time I and my daughter visit, I just can not fault the place. The rooms are all very clean and extremely comfortable, I recently stayed in the "Family Room"...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank funkydiscomonkey
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a true gem set in a wonderful location with fabulous views of the Indian ocean where we where we were lucky to have both whale and dolphin sightings from our room. The tasty and filling breakfast was a great way to start the day. Will definitely return when visiting Port Elizabeth and hopefully more of the Eastern Cape....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveJammy
Damme, Germany
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were looking for a place to stay for one night and the Big Blue Beach Lodge had been recommended to us by guests at another place. We were not to be disappointed! A very friendly reception by the manageress, an impressive view, good accommodation plus a tasty breakfast made our stay at the Lodge one to remember with pleasure....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans D H
Upper Austria, Austria
Reviewed 13 January 2014

For my last two days in South Africa I was looking for a nice place close to the sea and not too far from PE Airport. At Big Blue Beach Lodge I found more than that, namely a clean, quiet and cozy place among lovely people - like a home away from home!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyd S
Limavady, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is the 2nd time visiting Big Blue. On both occassions we found the available facilities and accomodation to be excellent. The villa is ideally situated beside the indian ocean with tremendous views and the sound of the sea rolling in make it a very relaxing location. Although Big Blue is not in PE itself it is only a short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This place is AMAZING!! We have used Big Blue for staff meetings and conference venue as well as staff sleeping over. The hospitality at Big Blue is just fantastic and they are always willing to assist to your every need. The rooms are always pristine and well looked after. The food is great. ALL ROUND GREAT SERVICE, I WILL DEFINITELY...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jamie-leigh T
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The bb is not nearly as nice as being advertised. There was loud music from a band practising for about two hours, with no regard to the guests. I was really disappointed. The room has a tired feel. There was no shampoo's. The staff are friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krokedil101
Monique P, Manager at Big Blue Beach Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. We will take your critisicm seriously and improve the points you mentioned. Just to clarify. There is not normally loud music playing. This was a once off situation and the music was turned off at 21:00. I apologize once again if it caused any inconvenience. As...

Bunia
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We spent one night here on our way to Port Elizabeth. Maybe my geography is lousy, but I did not expect to find ourselves 20km from PE in a holiday town with zero facilities. We were directed to the one nearby restaurant which was closed, we had to drive to a suburb of PE to find food. The hotel room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffandre
port elizabeth
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I have had so many wonderful stays at BBBL, too many to mention. I have sent many clients as well as friends and family to Monique, and they all have had excellent, stays. The resident Chef, Carl is an added bonus, should you not feel like going out to eat. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liezel k
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I am lucky to say that I been a regular visitor the Big Blue Guesthouse over the last 8 years, and can happily say that it is a truly fantastic place to stay. All rooms are very comfortable, the meals are exceptional and hospitality second to none. The sea-views and sun-sets from the venue are just amazing, just cant wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank funkydiscomonkey

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beachview
0.3 km away
Murphys
Murphys
#2 of 5 in Beachview
13 reviews
5.2 km away
Sea Otters Lodge
Sea Otters Lodge
#16 of 60 in Port Elizabeth
30 reviews
2.9 km away
Thunzi Bush Lodge
Thunzi Bush Lodge
#2 of 60 in Port Elizabeth
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Blue Horizon Bay Guest House
Blue Horizon Bay Guest House
#1 of 1 in Blue Horizon Bay
15 reviews
32.0 km away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 42 in Summerstrand
228 reviews
36.9 km away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Big Blue is situated in a lovely sea side village, only 20 minutes from Port Elizabeth. We offer magnificent sea views, dolphin and whale wathcing, delicious South African breakfast and warm frindly service. A quick two minute walk brings you to the beach where it is very safe to have long walks. We also offer safe secure parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Big Blue Beach Lodge

Address: 20 Mackerel Road, Beachview, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Beachview
Price Range: $58 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Big Blue Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Two outside rooms available, one with its own fireplace, to have your own BBQ, overlooking the beautiful ocean, with whales and dophins dancing in the waves.”
 of 5 bubbles liezelk_12, 14 Jun 2012 | Read review
“Stayed in room 1 which has a nice balcony.”
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles acc72, 10 Apr 2011 | Read review
2 of 2