We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Centauria Lake Resort

TripAdvisorUSD 98*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 101*
USD 98*
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Centauria Lake Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
Start your review of Centauria Lake Resort
 Click to rate
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed twice at Centauria Resort, once for the staff annual trip. Should avoid the old rooms and the new Superior deluxe rooms are spacious and have a beautiful view of the Chandrika lake. Food is average but the service is excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ranesh J
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

This place is comfortable the rooms are clean with comfortable large beds and the staff are very helpful. There is no wifi or a fan in the rooms but the rooms are spacious with a view towards the lake

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r m
Centauria Lake R, General Manager at Centauria Lake Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. as you have mentioned no fan in the room, this area is very warm and according to the travels agents, They have requested air conditions in the room, as the fans will not be enough to keep the room cool. installing the wifi is in progress. Thanks for Visiting us & Hope to...

Lisse, The Netherlands
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We had rooms in probably the oldest part of the hotel. A building outside the main building. These are really old rooms, but with a nice balcony and stunning view on the sunset. Restaurant is ... okay, they offer different food every night. staff is friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
Centauria Lake R, General Manager at Centauria Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Harry, Thank You for your comment as we appreciate. we have five type of room categories in the hotel. this type of categories witch is called the villas. this concept in sri lanka, you get old fashion bungalows in coconuts states & tea states. As this villas are situated facing the coconut plantation and the lake is the typical...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 25 March 2017

The staff was very supportive and friendly. Our room was well planned and comfortable. The restaurant offered a variety of tasty dishes. Staying in this hotel was a nice experience. We will come again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrArunaAbey
Centauria Lake R, General Manager at Centauria Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dr.Aruna Abey, We appreciate and thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again back at centauria Lake.

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Arrived to friendly staff, room seemed clean (apart from the disgusting dirty mat either side of the bed - not washed in years). Found a cockroach in our room two hours later.. not great with a baby crawling around. That said it is a hot country and these things do happen. The staff were quick to get rid of it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James K
Centauria Lake R, General Manager at Centauria Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr.James. we are very sad to hear that you had a bad stay. please be rest assured that we are better than this. Immediately after seeing your review, i inquired about your stay in more details. If you felt the room and pool was dirty,then surely we failed you with our basic. please be rest assured that your review...

Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night as part of a group tour. Rooms are spacious but bathrooms on the small side. Good views of the lake but sadly no balconies to sit and enjoy it. Food was of mixed quality with breakfasts limited. Staff friendly and try hard but seem to lack training in certain areas. As an example, seemed not to realise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
Centauria Lake R, General Manager at Centauria Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Micheal, Noted your comments. as we have five category types of rooms, with some rooms having balcony and some not. please be rest assured that your review is taken very seriously. and we respect your opinion and you have the right to state your experience. we are very sorry, we wish to welcome you once again. so that...

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

If considering this hotel I strongly advice not visit. It is a real shame in nice surroundings but service and food is really bad. This is the only bad hotel in a great vacation. At night the food was all overcooked fish and the chicken over cooked. was offered a chicken curry as an alternative. When it came it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terrytach
Centauria Lake R, General Manager at Centauria Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Terrytach, Let me apologize you for the bad stay you had with us. please be rest assured that your review is taken seriously, however most other guest stayed on the same day with you did not mention any of this details, if at any point you pointed out these details we would have done something to help you to...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

This hotel exceeded our expectations. We had a quiet and spacious room with a lovely view over the lake which was dotted with fishermen and home to a large number of birds. The large swimming pool was lovely and very pleasant after hot and dusty game drives in the nearby Udawalawe national park. Food ( buffet style ) was plentiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eve J
Centauria Lake R, General Manager at Centauria Lake Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate and thank you for your comment. and we have taken necessary step to improve our coffee. we wish to welcome you back to stay with us again.

Vancouver
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We stayed here one night on a bike tour. This review is coloured by the rainy weather and an afternoon spent bumping around Yala Park. Our room was ok, but another member of our group asked to be moved due to dirt and cockroaches. Food service was slow and the evening buffet overpriced. I noticed a charge on my bill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emkay0
Apia, Samoa
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

If you like to get some peace & rest this could be the wrong place! Booked for 2 nights directly and thought about staying a bit longer. Rejected the plan during the first night and left totaly overtired after the second one. Contact and reception was great (short feet massage was an excellent service). Super friendly staff. Stayed in room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelbee1

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embilipitiya
12.2 km away
Green View Safari Resort
Green View Safari Resort
#2 of 3 in Udawalawa
18 reviews
13.8 km away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
169 reviews
32.4 km away
OwinRich Resort
OwinRich Resort
#1 of 1 in Godakawela
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resor...
#4 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
756 reviews
10.7 km away
Eliyanth Udawalawa Hotel
Eliyanth Udawalawa Hotel
#1 of 3 in Udawalawa
21 reviews
1.2 km away
Pavana Resort
Pavana Resort
#1 of 9 in Embilipitiya
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Centauria Lake Resort

Address: | New Town, Embilipitiya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Embilipitiya
Price Range: $123 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centauria Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Centauria Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Centauria Tourist
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Centauria Lake Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
cumbria
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Centauria Lake Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room overlooking the lake”
EveJ239, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“choos a villa for have a romantic feeling...”
985chamindak, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Super deluxe rooms are more spacious.”
pmudawattage, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“lake side roos are better”
wanniarachchikankana, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the lake”
SumindaG, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 98* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.comUSD 101
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates