We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Swinside Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Swinside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 151: English reviews
Maryport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Was surprised that 3 of us, having had Sunday lunch, at half past two, we were told we couldn't have a sweet as the kitchen was now closed. That's a little early guys, when we've paid 10.95 for one course already, dessert would have been nice - don't rest on your laurels !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alidownunder
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just arrived back home from a wonderful weekend here. We arrived on Friday with a warm welcome and shown to our rooms. The rooms were just what you need whilst on a short break - tea/coffee making facilities, tv, hairdryer, toiletries. Ate in the restaurant on the 1st night and we sat nr a roaring log burner. The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Walked from Braithwaite with the family (wife and 2 teenagers) where we were renting and after a long day walking in the hills. Meals were really great with very friendly and quick service from the staff - food so good we also had desserts which is unusual for us. Nice range of real ale on tap too - one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

2 x Married Couples stayed for 2 nights - Friends - of pensionable age Delightful Scenery Delicious Food Staff were amazing Room was comfy The ROARING FIRE made dinner time something special We will be visiting again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila1951
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Sheila. It was a pleasure to have you. Lucinda, on behalf of ben and Sharon

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Can't say anything negative about this place; one of the best locations you could have, roaring fire and really nice staff. Had food and drinks during our stay, dinner was brilliant and one of the best cheese boards ever! The beauty of The Swinside is there are great walks and due to its location you are really encouraged to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonno1910
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Brilliant! Your review is everything we hope reviews will be. (We're hoping to have Catbells spruced up very soon). Hope you come again. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

A traditional dog friendly pub. This is in a picturesque part of the Lakes with lots around to see and do and the hospitality is excellent with good food and drinks to accompany. Highly recommended. We will certainly be back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Very glad to have you. Thank you Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

This is set in the beautiful Newlands Valley - so pretty. Ideal for visiting Derwent Water and Butteremere, and just a little further to drive to Grasmere and Ullswater which we also visited. Our little doggy was very happy here. The evening meals were really really delicious! They come with either salad or hot veg - both of which have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline Q
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

And you know that we would happily have you again! Thank you Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

A fantastic, relaxing time in a hotel with breathtaking views, a big thank you to Ben and Sharon, Mat the manager for all his hard work in making your stay fantastic, and to Karlos and the table staff who are very polite and efficient, the whole place is excellent, and surrounded by beautiful scenery. Will defiantly be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8659james
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

That's really nice to hear. Thank you so much. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

At 3pm I was planning a 150 mile trip to Derwent water for a Paddle board session and to see some friends who were staying on the Lingholme Estate... This Inn was a possible location for my stay the weekend before for a wedding, the reception of which, was held on the Lingholme Estate....in the event we stayed in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George H
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely (and poetic) review of The Swinside Inn. I particularly love your "you just know it's a busy Inn, it's not jaded by neglect, it is worn by scores of customers". You can come again! Lucinda, on behalf of Ben and Sharon

Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We booked three nights at this hotel as a late wedding anniversary celebration and chose the Swinside Inn on the recommendation of friends. What a disappointment. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was fine, but our room was poky, badly in need of a makeover and definitely needed a good deep clean. I cleaned the window on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Gillian, What a shame that you were disappointed - we'll investigate to try to work out which room you were in from your description, and have housekeeping have a look at it. It's true that you would have been able to hear music from below until about 11pm, as we are a pub, but I am sorry that you...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands Valley
3.6 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
560 reviews
4.6 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,963 reviews
2.7 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#3 of 12 in Keswick
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 12 in Keswick
462 reviews
3.2 km away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
552 reviews
1.1 km away
Swinside Farmhouse
Swinside Farmhouse
#2 of 2 in Newlands Valley
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional, over 300 year old, lakeland pub,with bed and breakfast rooms. We're a short walk from Derwentwater and the iconic Catbells. Traditional bar with open fire places. The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to explore the lake district, with mountain views from some rooms and all bars. We also have a six bedroom holiday let available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swinside Inn

Address: Newlands Valley, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Price Range: $153 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swinside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swinside Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Coventry, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Swinside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 'Causey' has just been fixed up so all new and lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Sheila1951, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“For the view stretch a bit and stay in Catbells, plus get the cheese board!”
 of 5 bubbles Jonno1910, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All have views I think, I don't think there's a bad choice.”
 of 5 bubbles 945georgeh, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in Barrow, and were very disappointed. I am sure there were better rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles GillianP968, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Maybe over the breakfast room but not pool room if you want less noise”
 of 5 bubbles carolinehodgson6, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay