We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Swinside Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Swinside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 147: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Can't say anything negative about this place; one of the best locations you could have, roaring fire and really nice staff. Had food and drinks during our stay, dinner was brilliant and one of the best cheese boards ever! The beauty of The Swinside is there are great walks and due to its location you are really encouraged to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonno1910
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Brilliant! Your review is everything we hope reviews will be. (We're hoping to have Catbells spruced up very soon). Hope you come again. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A traditional dog friendly pub. This is in a picturesque part of the Lakes with lots around to see and do and the hospitality is excellent with good food and drinks to accompany. Highly recommended. We will certainly be back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Very glad to have you. Thank you Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

This is set in the beautiful Newlands Valley - so pretty. Ideal for visiting Derwent Water and Butteremere, and just a little further to drive to Grasmere and Ullswater which we also visited. Our little doggy was very happy here. The evening meals were really really delicious! They come with either salad or hot veg - both of which have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline Q
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

And you know that we would happily have you again! Thank you Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

A fantastic, relaxing time in a hotel with breathtaking views, a big thank you to Ben and Sharon, Mat the manager for all his hard work in making your stay fantastic, and to Karlos and the table staff who are very polite and efficient, the whole place is excellent, and surrounded by beautiful scenery. Will defiantly be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8659james
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

That's really nice to hear. Thank you so much. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

At 3pm I was planning a 150 mile trip to Derwent water for a Paddle board session and to see some friends who were staying on the Lingholme Estate... This Inn was a possible location for my stay the weekend before for a wedding, the reception of which, was held on the Lingholme Estate....in the event we stayed in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George H
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely (and poetic) review of The Swinside Inn. I particularly love your "you just know it's a busy Inn, it's not jaded by neglect, it is worn by scores of customers". You can come again! Lucinda, on behalf of Ben and Sharon

Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We booked three nights at this hotel as a late wedding anniversary celebration and chose the Swinside Inn on the recommendation of friends. What a disappointment. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was fine, but our room was poky, badly in need of a makeover and definitely needed a good deep clean. I cleaned the window on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Gillian, What a shame that you were disappointed - we'll investigate to try to work out which room you were in from your description, and have housekeeping have a look at it. It's true that you would have been able to hear music from below until about 11pm, as we are a pub, but I am sorry that you...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Excellent friendly,a room with a view,huge bathroom very clean,will recommend highly food was very good a beer garden for children to enjoy the fresh air and ducks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank u2kezza
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Had a lovely weekend break at this Inn. The food was great and very good value.. Staff on the whole were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately our bedroom was over the pool room. Lots and shouting , screaming and banging on the Friday night. When I went down to complain I was told firmly by the Landlady that if I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinehodgson6
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Caroline Thank you for your honest review. I'm really sorry that you were disturbed. We are aware that there can be residual noise from the bar below the room you are in, and although we can serve drinks until midnight, we always ask people to move into the main bar by 11pm. On the night in question, we had...

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

We bought the voucher from a deal website and were not disappointed at all and will definitely return. Lovely big bedrooms with great views. Food was amazing, massive portions! Good drinks choice too. Breakfast included was plentiful. Short taxi ride to Keswick. Definitely one to stay at!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura W
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting after the floods last winter - we really appreciated you coming, and it's great to hear that you had a good time. Make sure you're on our mail list to hear about our 2016 December celebration package.

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Will be back loved every Monet thank you to the owners and staff so friendly nothing is a problem always ready to help feel like you have known them for ever wish them all the best and we will see you again. Hope you are lucky in finding your family dog

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Caroline. Hope we see you again.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands Valley
3.6 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
556 reviews
4.6 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,938 reviews
2.7 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
5.1 km away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
639 reviews
4.5 km away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional, over 300 year old, lakeland pub,with bed and breakfast rooms. We're a short walk from Derwentwater and the iconic Catbells. Two bars, with open fire place. The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to explore the lake district, with mountain views from some rooms and all bars. We also have a six bedroom holiday let available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swinside Inn

Address: Newlands Valley, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Price Range: $109 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swinside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swinside Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Coventry, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Swinside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For the view stretch a bit and stay in Catbells, plus get the cheese board!”
 of 5 bubbles Jonno1910, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All have views I think, I don't think there's a bad choice.”
 of 5 bubbles 945georgeh, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in Barrow, and were very disappointed. I am sure there were better rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles GillianP968, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Maybe over the breakfast room but not pool room if you want less noise”
 of 5 bubbles carolinehodgson6, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Causey Pike room is a great family room with two single beds and two bunk beds and a nice big bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles Wocky48, 15 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay