We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 254: English reviews
Start your review of Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
 Click to rate
Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The "Tradie" has been a feature of Fremantle for years. It's located on Canning Highway, "between the bridges", a short walk from the south bank of the Swan River. There are frequent buses for the short hop into Freo, and an airport shuttle service. It's also a short walk to the East Fremantle George Street precinct, a pleasant little cafe/pub/restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taxidhi
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great central location in interesting building with good pool and restaurant area Rooms were clean, spacious and well appointed Staff friendly and helpful Only slightly let down by lack of air con in the gym and somewhat tired carpets in the corridors On the whole very good experience, especially since they accommodated us at very short notice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martinandphil
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a table on the last minute for Valentines day, the table was nice on the terrace and had a good view. The food was a bit disappointing, I ordered the $23 steak sandwich instead of the $38 steak, rookie mistake, everything else was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregory M
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we dined here with family after it was recommended by someone we knew. We had booked a table and it was fairly busy but not as busy in the restaurant. the venue looks fantastic and can tell some money has been spent on it. as I approached the staff to let them know I had booked they weren't overly prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher6000
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear Christopher6000, thank you for the post. Disappointed that your meal did not go well. We are often busy so we should not be using this as an excuse. All food service should be no longer than a 20 minute wait and drinks (except cocktails) 10 minutes. Thats our goal and team committment. I will pass this info onto our...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food was quite good and the pizzas were tasty in particular. Prices were ok but not as cheap as other places. The location was lovely and we enjoyed the view. The mood killer was the unhelpful staff that were rude and did not want to serve us at all. When actually served, the bartender backchatted us and critical of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kai Luke M
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear Kai Luke M, thank you for the post. Disappointed that your visit did not go well. We normally never get compaints about rude staff. Please let me know the day and time and we can chat with the staff member to help them do better next time. If you do decide to come back please email me directly. stephen.wicks@tradewindshotel.com.au...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came here for lunch, good view, good vibe, delicious chilli mussels, crispy fish and chips, cold beer, yummy burger and nice atmosphere, friendly service, what else do you need? We are happy customers

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WidaWoollett
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear WidaWoollett, thank you for the post. Great to read you loved the food. Thanks Stephen

Broulee, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Tradewinds for only 1 night. Our room was dated & tired but was clean & functional. The staff were friendly on arrival & check-in. The shower was ok, the beds were comfortable. We ate at the restaurant on premises, my pizza was delicious & well priced. The location was great for what we required & being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank l0uise1808
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear L0uise1808, thank you for the post. If you do wish to come back please let me know directly and I will personally look after your booking. And yes the new rooms look great so next visit we will get you one of them. Regards Stephen

Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed here as an overnighter for a wedding, with my baby being looked after in the room by a family member. The new rooms are nice. Bit puzzled as to why they wouldn't fit power points with USB chargers in them when you're completing a new fitout but not a deal breaker. Room was advertised as having a microwave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HTBec
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear HTBec, thank you for the post. If you do wish to come back please let me know directly and I will personally look after your booking. Regards stephen

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Overpriced room!!!! Very average for the price , we were wake up by the drill at 8 am the morning !!! As soon you pay the room , you must to pay extra money as a bond for the minibar 100$!!! On the website this hotel seems like a good place to stay but was not for us ,very upset...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeremie K
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear Jeremie K, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Most hotels I know request a bond for the mini bar but I know this can be a problem. Our refurbishment times are 9am to 5pm and I will speak with the builder and find out why they started early. If that happena again please ring reception and...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Went there for dinner as a group of six family members for a celebration dinner. On arrival we walked up to the check in position and a lady greeted us but said that she didn't work in the restaurant and that the lady who did would be with us in a minute. This lady was standing about two metres away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tricky111
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear Tricky111, thank you for your post. I will let the F*B team know the feedback and we will work towards getting it right. Please accept my apologies for us not exceeding your expectations. If you do wish to come back please let me know directly and I will personally look after your booking. Regards Stephen

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Fremantle
2.2 km away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
1.0 km away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
377 reviews
2.0 km away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
171 reviews
5.8 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
198 reviews
2.2 km away
Arundels Boutique Bed & Breakfast Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tradewinds Hotel offers 83 fully self contained apartments, alfresco and indoor bars, a delicious seasonal menu created by Executive Chef Gary Martin in our Restaurant and is conveniently located on the beautiful Swan River in East Fremantle. The hotel offers amazing river views and is only 5 minutes to the heart of Fremantle and 20 minutes by car to Perth's CBD. All apartments are spacious and equipped with a kitchenette and private bathroom, 24 hour reception, room service, outdoor swimming pool, heated spa, new state of the art gym and complimentary undercover security parking. Located within easy 5 minute walk of an extensive range of cafes and dining options along the river, and on George Street, East Fremantle. We offer in-house buffet breakfast for hotel guests including children and have highchairs available for your convenience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle

Address: 59 Canning Highway | East Fremantle, East Fremantle, Fremantle, Western Australia 6158, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle > East Fremantle
Price Range: $195 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle East Fremantle, Western Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor, there are 3-4 rooms with views to the harbour. Recommended.”
 of 5 bubbles Taxidhi, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Third floor rooms over the car park don't have a view but are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles HTBec, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be away from the pool”
 of 5 bubbles 517sp, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms with best view 316-320”
 of 5 bubbles theresab846, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the river are good!”
 of 5 bubbles Softy2587, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5