We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Nightcap at York on Lilydale

Corner York and Swansea Roads, Mount Evelyn, Victoria 3796 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (84)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

No fees just great deals
AU$199
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Mount Evelyn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
317Reviews2Q+A35Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 63
  • 130
  • 66
  • 35
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Melissa R wrote a review 15 Feb
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Poor meal for lunch. Had the roast lamb which was dry and quite chewy. Service was amiable and the room was not busy. This is the third time I have attempted to enjoy a meal here, hoping that things would improve so that we could support our local business. Unfortunately this is the last time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rebecca H wrote a review July 2023
Hamilton, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
Such a clean and lovely place to stay, the laundry facilities are great when traveling with a family. The room we got this time was much quieter but overall every room we’ve stayed in has always been clean. The staff are fantastic and great to see the bistro so we’ll run and the food was great!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book the bistro when you book your room so you don’t miss out
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Anjela W, Guest Services / Front Office at Nightcap at York on Lilydale
Responded 7 July 2023
Thank you Rebecca, for your lovely review. We look forward to you next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Philip H wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions8 helpful votes
Absolutely appalling. Requested a quiet room based on some reviews mentioning the noise and travelling with two young kids and was put in room number 1 which is about 30 meters away from the open air beer garden. When I asked reception about the noise I was told “ you’ve booked a pub venue so noise should be expected but don’t worry it closes at 10 (a lie as they are still pumping “We are the Champions” at just before midnight) and your room is quiet really as we get most of the complaints about the noise from the other rooms”! In the morning when i asked the new receptionist I was again told I should consider myself lucky as it was a quiet night last night and at least they didn’t have any live music. Unbelievable… Apart from kids not able to sleep you could try the facilities which are a tennis court without a bet or a playground that is only open from 6pm until 9pm as it’s in the restaurant. Don’t. Stay. Here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Anjela W, Guest Services / Front Office at Nightcap at York on Lilydale
Responded 27 Dec 2022
Thank you Philiph for your feedback, We are sorry the crowd at the bar kept you awake - We appreciate your disappointment and recognise your multiple negative reviews across different platforms. We wish we were able to move rooms as requested late at night - however being fully booked we were unable to fulfill your request. We hope to welcome you back in the future should you change your mind. Kind Regards, York on Lilydale Reception.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Patricia L wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Unknowingly we were given an upstairs room and were informed there was not an elevator. The stairs were steep and the walkways were very uneven, causing difficulty in reaching the room. At night the area was not well litl The room was fairly large, but there was no door on the wardrobe, no clock, no radio and no telephone. Not even a biscuit to have with our coffee. We were expected to use a QR code to familiarize ourselves with the amenities. The bed was comfortable. The shower was over a spa, and required dexterity to get into the spa. I have no idea how one would get out. As we are both very senior citizens it was therefore impossible for us to have a shower. The room was very uninspiring and dull, and the bathroom looked dated, although the taps were modern!! For the cost of $241.20 we were very disappointed in the hotel and the lack of amenities. All the staff members we encountered were very friendly and efficient.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid the rooms upstairs unless you are an Olympic athlete!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Anjela W, Guest Services / Front Office at Nightcap at York on Lilydale
Responded 7 Oct 2022
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We will look into the issues you have mentioned.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Attila the Hun wrote a review Sept 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Called in to cancel,they said ok but charged me on the day They asked me not to talk to the booking agent so they can take care of the cancellation which did not happen Contacted them to refund my money but they claimed I did not cancelled it Terrible
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Anjela W, Guest Services / Front Office at Nightcap at York on Lilydale
Responded 24 Sept 2022
Attica, There seems to be some conflicting information you have stated. You completed pre check in paperwork on the day of your expected arrival, then requested free cancellation a few hours after.. It appears your story is very conflicting to the evidence we have here. We feel your threat to make multiple negative reviews is very unkind and unjustified.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wijitha G wrote a review Aug 2022
Greater Sydney, Australia251 contributions88 helpful votes
Accomadation was average for the price we paid. We had 3 rooms booked for two days to attend a wedding at Chateau Wyuna. What was very disappointing was the wifi at the place. The mobile. service was almost non exisiting at the place however a good wifi would have gone a long way. To our surprise the wifi was so bad it was not almost not available. Why hotels can’t provide a good wifi system is completely beyond me today.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you have to book at this place make sure you requst a ground floor if you have any baggage.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rakehoe wrote a review July 2022
Bendigo, Australia539 contributions198 helpful votes
Great location on the edge of the Yarra Valley The room was fine - not overly large but the bed was comfy. The bathroom floor was dirty and the towels had definitely seen better (and fluffier) days. Check in was sooo slow. We ate in the bar and there were several very good local wines on offer. Frustrated that our meals were cold when they arrived. Biggest negative was the noise. Tell me, please, why do you have to empty the bottle bins into the skip at 3am?!!! Would I go back? Probably. Would I look at other options too? Yes.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Nightcap at York on Lilydale
Responded 17 July 2022
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay and experience in the restaurant. I will ensure this feedback is passed on to our management team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kirsty wrote a review Feb 2022
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
I am floored that Accomodation Manager Angela is in a customer facing role. She is incredibly rude. She cuts you of when asking her something and she is very impersonal. We will never go back. Such a horrible experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Nightcap at York on Lilydale
Responded 14 July 2022
Thank you for your feedback kirsty 7000, we will follow up this complaint ASAP.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mdnsroxi wrote a review Dec 2021
Ocean Grove, Australia36 contributions11 helpful votes
York on Lillydale was fantastic. The photos I saw don’t do it justice at all , which is unusual as it is usually the other way around . The rooms were clean , comfortable and we had a lovely view of the lake . The staff at front desk were lovely and so helpful . Would highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anjela Walker, Sales at Nightcap at York on Lilydale
Responded 10 Dec 2021
Thank you for your kind review and great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back and will pass your compliments on to our front desk team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elizabeth Q wrote a review Nov 2020
21 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful spot for a nights stay! Welcoming and friendly receptionist . Clean room, super comfy bed, amazing spa!! .. nice little view of the little pond . Just one tiny fault is that there was no tissues, but thats no big deal. Everything else was lovely!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anjela Walker, Sales at Nightcap at York on Lilydale
Responded 13 Dec 2020
Thanks Elizabeth, We are glad you had a relaxing enjoyable time here at the York. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mount Evelyn area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$123 - AU$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
quality inn lilydale, lilydale quality inn, york lilydale
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMount Evelyn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NIGHTCAP AT YORK ON LILYDALE (AU$123): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Mount Evelyn) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Nightcap at York on Lilydale
Which popular attractions are close to Nightcap at York on Lilydale?
Nearby attractions include William Ricketts Sanctuary (4.2 km), Dandenong Ranges Botanic Garden (6.3 km), and Lilydale Lake (3.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nightcap at York on Lilydale?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Nightcap at York on Lilydale?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Nightcap at York on Lilydale?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Nightcap at York on Lilydale?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nightcap at York on Lilydale?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pig & Whistle Tavern, Hutch & Co, and Olinda Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Nightcap at York on Lilydale?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Nightcap at York on Lilydale?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Nightcap at York on Lilydale offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Nightcap at York on Lilydale?
Many travellers enjoy visiting William Ricketts Sanctuary (4.2 km).
Is Nightcap at York on Lilydale accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.