Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Rydges Bankstown

874 Hume Hwy, Bass Hill, Bankstown, New South Wales 2197 Australia
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (55)
Eight 74 Restaurant Dessert
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
No prepayment needed
AU$183
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
AU$183
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
AU$175
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#2 of 2 hotels in Bass Hill
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Rydges Bankstown is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Bass Hill, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and you can stay connected during your stay as Rydges Bankstown Hotel offers guests free wifi. The hotel features a 24 hour front desk, room service, and a coffee shop. Plus, Rydges Bankstown offers a pool and a lounge, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available. Enjoy your stay in Bass Hill!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English

Location

874 Hume Hwy, Bass Hill, Bankstown, New South Wales 2197 Australia
418Reviews2Q+A84Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 78
  • 127
  • 111
  • 59
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Del C wrote a review Feb 2024
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia149 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall our stay was adequate for what we needed. We were in a Sydney for a few days for a family wedding. The location was very good for visiting family and where the wedding was located at the nearby suburb of Lidcombe. We only used the restaurant for breakfast on one occasion but the prepaid $20 pp offer was good. All food was fresh and adequate selection of hot food etc. The restaurant menu looked good but we didn’t have a chance to try it.
Hotel exterior could do with a revamp, rooms a little dated but overall hotel and room was clean and tidy.
We had a 4th floor room that faced the main road and it was a little noisy with traffic noise. Pillows were not very comfortable.
Front desk staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rydges Bankstown Team , Other at Rydges Bankstown
Responded 7 Feb 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with Rydges Bankstown. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed both the food and the exceptional service. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the facilities and noise from the highway, and we will take it into consideration for future improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest regards, Rydges Bankstown Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan H wrote a review Nov 2020
Sydney, Australia104 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed overnight as we had party close by. Rooms clean but looking tired. Room was a family room after requesting superior Queen room. Lighting poor. Requested room facing rear to avoid road noise which did not happen however the road noise was not a problem after all. Staff friendly and helpful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rydges Bankstown, Other at Rydges Bankstown
Responded 12 Nov 2020
Hi Susan, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that we were unable to fulfil your room request, however, I am pleased to hear that the road noise was not an issue and that you had a wonderful interaction with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest Regards, Brooke Lendrum Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robyn W wrote a review Mar 2024
Greater Melbourne, Australia5 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were very friendly AND HELPFUL.
WE requested pastries for breakfast, which were beautifully presented on a platter with fresh fruit and accompanied with delicious coffee and Chia Latte. Best coffee I have had in a long time, I am not an all out coffee person.
We had a water leak in the bathroom which I believe was from the bathroom basin taps.
The hotel could do with a bit of updating, repainting and removing the baths and replacing them with walk in showers. The baths are not ideal for older persons. The air fan in the bathroom was very noisy all they time. Bed was very comfortable and clean Downside if you don't have a car as your disposal, taxis can work out expensive, a little cheaper is uber.
Overall, thank you for having us at a reasonable price.
Robyn . Melbourne
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Nice friendly staff, quiet even though it is close to Hume HWY. Need a car to leave the area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bankstown Concierge, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Bankstown
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Robsie3793, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed both the breakfast, bedroom and the exceptional service, we'll make sure to pass on your compliments to our team. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the bathroom facilities and and taxis, and we will take it into consideration for future improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest regards, Rydges Bankstown Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
691nishac wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia28 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the hotel for one night on the 2nd Jan.
Check in was okay and the room was fine.
We paid for the breakfast to be included in our stay but the lady at the time on check in didn’t mention anything about the breakfast time. We rocked up at 9:30 presuming the breakfast would be open till 10 but it we were told it closed at 9:30, most of the food was packed already but the lady at the restaurant was nice enough to let us grab a couple of items. So we had a quick breakfast of pancakes and toast. As were checking out i wanted to pass on the feedback so I told the lady at the counter about the confusion and how it would have been appreciated if we were told breakfast times at the time of check .
To my surprise get got super defensive and said I should have asked that question rather than the receptionist tell me and anyway all this information is in the book in our room. She also said I should know better that all hotels in Australia have breakfast finish time at 9:30 except Christmas day. She was very rude and condescending and She wasn’t wearing a name badge, when i asked her for her name, she said “ I am not required to give you my name, now please leave me alone”.
I was shocked and just left. All i wanted to do was pass on my feedback so other clients don’t miss out on the food they have paid for!!!
I would strongly recommend to their management to train their staff on customer service.
I am definitely never returning and won’t recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RydgesBankstown_Team, Operations Manager at Rydges Bankstown
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Hi 691nishac, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm terribly sorry to hear that you were unable to enjoy the full experience of our restaurant at breakfast, however I am happy to hear that our team put something together for you. We thank you for addressing this feedback with our receptionist and it very unusual to hear that she was defensive towards you as we only ever receive but wonderful feedback about her and all our reception team. Please however know that I have addressed this personally with all my team. We do hope to have another opportunity in welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest Regards, Brooke Lendrum Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diana wrote a review Jan 2020
Hamlyn Terrace, Australia2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a horrendous experience when we arrived to find in our room the sheets were all stained and not fit to sleep on so then the receptionist changed us to another room and 2nd room the toilet would not stop leaking and no bedside table or lamp all this with me carrying and changing rooms as my husband had a knee replacement and couldn’t help and then the third room the lights weren’t working on the side table lamp. When we checked out the receptionist said she will note on what needs to be done but advised by the previous receptionist the night before as it’s a very old hotel . Very disappointing will never stay there again and management should be held accountable for the stress your guest have to endure as We recently lost a family member and decided we needed a night away from everything well it was not what we could ever imagine would happen to us and only made us feel worse. Also a tell-tale sign I now believe is when you walk into a lift and the carpet is worn down to the underlay run
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RydgesBankstown_Team, Operations Manager at Rydges Bankstown
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Hi Diane, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the experience you have faced at our hotel. This is certainly unacceptable and we have let you down. Although we are an older hotel, we still pride ourselves on our service, excellent working state and cleanliness of our rooms. And I am shocked to hear that we did not deliver and especially when you have been having a tough time and looking for an escape. Although this does not make up for the issues you had during your stay, I can confirm that the flooring of our lifts are scheduled for a refresh in the coming months. Please do not let this be your final experience at our hotel. We do wish for you to return so that we can ensure that you have a true Rydges experience. Warmest Regards, Brooke Lendrum Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
151Gerry wrote a review June 2020
13 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location and close to all we need in the outer suburbs of Sydney. Close to Putt Putt and Asian restaurant. Good room location and quiet. The management team were very helpful and very responsive to a blown globe in one of the bed room side lights. Great coffe made by the restaurant staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms on the nth west are quieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rydges Bankstown, Other at Rydges Bankstown
Responded 3 Aug 2020
Hi 151Gerry, Thank you for your amazing review of our hotel. It is wonderful to hear such fantastic feedback about our team and that you had a lovely stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Warmest Regards, Brooke Lendrum Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Little_Happy_Camper wrote a review Nov 2020
Sydney, Australia235 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Wanted to thank Brook and Betty for their wonderful customer service.
Our family was attending a 100th birthday celebration, with one of the key guests unable to attend due to restrictions in another state.
We understood that we wouldn't receive a refund or credit for the third room; however, Brook was extremely compassionate and provided credit for future use.
This is a shining example of wonderful customer service, and we can't thank her highly enough. Brook is an asset to the Rydges chain, and we can't forget Betty, (who is the food and beverage attendant) but checking customers in due to the reduced staff levels also a credit (and a has a great sense of humour).
Thank you to the front of house staff who have helped deliver a wonderfully memorable weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rydges Bankstown, Other at Rydges Bankstown
Responded 12 Nov 2020
Hi Little_Happy_Camer, It is an absolute pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I'm so happy that Betty and I were able to make your stay wonderful and that we were able to help you out with that extra booking. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest Regards, Brooke Lendrum Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Todd H wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Incredibly rude staff who act like any question is an affront to them. The guy serving at the breakfast buffet provided probably the worst customer service I’ve ever experienced, pulling rude faces towards the girl at the reception desk when he thought we weren’t looking just because we were asking about the buffet. Ended up just having maccas. Will never stay at a Rydges again if this is the quality of staff they employ at their ‘4-star’ hotels. Additionally, the rooms are old and run down, and the wifi was so slow as to be unusable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alphoofie N wrote a review June 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
There is only 1 light in the whole room. It barely covers the front, the bed part of the hotel is dark and the TV doesn't even work! The bed is extremely uncomfortable and almost broke my back (metaphorically) Room is also tiny and way too expensive for what it offers. I wouldn't recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel if you want a good room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah H wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve stayed here before and thought it was pretty great for the price. This time a little disappointed. Bathroom definitely needs some attention with leaky tap and toilet, toilet roll holder barely hanging on to the wall. Definitely not keen on the bath/shower/shower curtain set up, especially with it not being a family room. Cleaners need to be more thorough in bathroom also (cups were just rinsed and put upside down on bathroom counter).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Anthony S
Coombabah, Australia1,200 contribution284 helpful votes
Most places require you to be fully vaccinated now. Also where are you coming from?
Answer from natmelb
Melbourne, Australia103 contributions28 helpful votes
Yes there are. Be sure to ask at check in or when you are booking a room. I stayed there when l was on crutches from a broken leg and they gave me a shower above the bath. However they did say they have rooms available for mobility issues.
Robyn W wrote a tip Mar 2024
Greater Melbourne, Australia5 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nice friendly staff, quiet even though it is close to Hume HWY. Need a car to leave the area."
Read full review
Carolyn D wrote a tip Apr 2023
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very outdated, reasonable price for passing by."
Read full review
Peter G wrote a tip Feb 2023
Sydney, Australia1,468 contribution583 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose a room at the back facing away from the highway."
Read full review
Nathan B wrote a tip Dec 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only outside carpark, walking distance to food and shopping centre was good"
Read full review
Matt D wrote a tip Nov 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you use their 'green service' as it saves an extra $10 everyday you don't have your roomed cleaned"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bass Hill area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$161 - AU$212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rydges bankstown hotel bankstown, rydges bankstown sydney
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater SydneyBankstownBass Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RYDGES BANKSTOWN (AU$161): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Bass Hill) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Rydges Bankstown
Which popular attractions are close to Rydges Bankstown?
Nearby attractions include Dunc Gray Velodrome (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rydges Bankstown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Rydges Bankstown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Rydges Bankstown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Rydges Bankstown?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rydges Bankstown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toscana Gelateria Naturale, Spring Garden Restaurant, and Gardenia Motor Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rydges Bankstown?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Rydges Bankstown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Bass Hill.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rydges Bankstown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Rydges Bankstown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Rydges Bankstown accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Bass Hill HotelsBass Hill Hotel DealsHotels near Rydges Bankstown
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars