We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grill & Grain at the Boatyard

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Grill & Grain at the Boatyard
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 140: English reviews
Start your review of Grill & Grain at the Boatyard
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Right on the side of the canal. You can sit outside or inside to eat. And its an open kitchen for the Grills. Very good food and very nice burgers. Good service looked after by the waiting on staff for drinks and food and will be back👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
Mark M, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review

Hello Jim P Thank you for the 5* review I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, we are very lucky to be in such a beautiful location. The team will be delighted to hear they were able to make your experience enjoyable and look forward to seeing you again soon Regards, Mark

Reviewed 1 week ago

They have their own micro brewery in the pub/restaurant and also have a good selection of craft ales on draught. Steaks are cooked over open flame, asado style, very good. Service was very good, staff polite, friendly and helpful. Tasteful, smart decor; loely canalside location. A winner :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
Mark M, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review

Thank you so much Martin S for your glowing 5 star review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. I will ensure that your lovely comments are shared with the team, they always enjoy hearing that they got it right for our customers.

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our weekend away the rooms were clean, not spotless by clean, bed was comfy, even if it was two single beds put together, and the views were very lovely. It was quiet and the breakfast provided was a good selection, unfortunately we only got that breakfast for the one night out of the two we stayed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophxxxxxx
Mark M, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review

Hello sophxxxxxx Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise that the room was not refreshed on your second night, I have addressed this problem with the housekeeping team to ensure it does not happen again. The team are always delighted to...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location by the canal - Super friendly efficient staff - awesome wood smoked grill serving gorgeous steaks, burger and ribs. Home brewed ales are fab. All in all the whole family had a great visit and loved it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobnElise
Mark M, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review

Thank you so much RobnElise for your amazing 5 star review, it is always great to hear when we have got it right. I am So glad you enjoyed your visit, we do have a wonderful spot here and we cant wait to greet many more customers when the sun is actually shining down on our outside deck area!

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Seating was great, not squashed in like some. We all order from standard menu we had not realised that new menu's that they were competing with macdonolds! Seeing young ones said let's try it. Burnt burgers, one burnt steak and one rare. Granddaughter ordered a adult meal which we all thought it would be too much. When it came she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pyro2016
Mark M, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review

Hello pyro2016 I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We always strive to provide the best customer service to all our guests and unfortunately this did not happen on this occasion. I can assure you that this is not our usual standard and I hope that you will not let this put...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Grill & Grain mainly for a handy location to stay off the M6 as I had a meeting in Burnley the next day. On arrival the staff are friendly and the rooms are v.nice and good value (£75 per night). The rooms are modern clean and nice classy furniture and fittings. You have a massive bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James F
Mark M, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review

Hello James F Thank you very much for the review, I always enjoy reading great comments like these. I agree the rooms truly are value for money and a lovely place to stay whether it is for business or a little getaway. Our brews are excellently looked after by the Thwaites brewers who also brew the 13 guns and have...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A grill and grain pub, good choice of food and beers But what makes the place rise above the rest? Simple, the staff very welcoming on arrival even without booking attentive without being annoying.An example on how to do it properly. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robb F
Mark M, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review

Hello RobbF Thank you for the 5* review I am so pleased to hear that the team were very welcoming and attentive, I will pass on your comments to them. We hope to see you again soon Regards, Mark

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had an average meal here with my family 8 in total. The meal was ok but nothing special. I had won a voucher at a charity event for £100 valid until 17th Sept 2017. When I presented this toward the total bill of £245 I was made to feel almost like I had printed the voucher myself! The girl was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rita B
Mark M, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review

Hello Rita B I am sorry about the confusion over the gift voucher, unfortunately this was donated before our recent refurb and we were not made aware of it. We always look for ways to get involved with the community and support local events and we will look into any future events that may be planned. I hope that aside...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed in the lovely rooms here a couple of times over the last few years but this is our first visit since the refurb. We were seriously impressed. The rooms are beautiful with really nice touches such as real milk and proper size mugs! The breakfast crate is something else we haven't seen before. We ate in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ElPhil72
Mark M, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review

Hi ElPhil72 Thank you for the great review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on the quality of food especially with such an amazing grill and are pleased to hear that our Tuscan steak went down well. The team appreciate the positive comments you have made and are always happy to...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We visited the Boatyard with friends shortly after it had been refurbished. We went on a midweek night and were very surprised to see how busy it was and we were glad our friends had made a reservation. We arrived shortly before our reservation time but were shown straight to our table and after a few minutes a member of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill P
Mark M, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review

Hi Bill P Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review, we really appreciate the positive comments that you have made. Our beer paddles are a popular choice amongst ale drinkers as they can sample all the beers that are brewed excellently by the Thwaites brewers, glad to hear you enjoyed them all. We always...

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoghton
3.7 km away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
1,182 reviews
24.9 km away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
25.1 km away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
4.3 km away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
10.0 km away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our canalside location is a winner in the sunshine - sit back and relax with a long, cool drink as you watch the narrowboats float quietly by. And if the weather's not quite so pleasant, we've got loads of room inside with a choice of comfy sofas or dining chairs and tables.With great value food made on-site from locally sourced ingredients, our menu has something for everyone and the quality of our food is superior.Our bar has four beers on hand pump and we've got a great selection of lagers, cider, wines and soft drinks.And there's no rush to drive home after an evening at The Boatyard - why not stay in one of our six recently decorated and well appointed rooms.Then wake up to a hearty breakfast and grab a latte in our coffee shop before leaving. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grill & Grain at the Boatyard

Address: 2 Bolton Road, Hoghton PR5 0SP, England (Formerly The Boatyard)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Hoghton
Price Range: $119 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grill & Grain at the Boatyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Grill & Grain at the Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boatyard Hotel Preston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grill & Grain at the Boatyard staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Grill & Grain at the Boatyard staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try their G&G craft ale from the onsite micro brewery!”
 of 5 bubbles 413jamesf, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I didn't use the bedrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 781grahamr, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't. Other”
 of 5 bubbles P8203IUchristinad, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles anthonys192, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
“we had room 1 but think they only have 1-6 if they are same as number one you will not be disapointed,xx”
 of 5 bubbles shazy85, 22 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5