We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul

  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
See the most recent reviews
Showing 114: English reviews
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The long drive from the road along stony tracks and ancient single track suspension bridges brought a certain trepidation as to what we would find at the end. The hotel is set out as terraces of single story rooms in some extensive grounds around a lake and besides the Sarapiqui River. It is a little decrepit and in need in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Middlemiss
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Milton, We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. Our vision has always been to involve our client in the vast and lush nature that leads from the road to the same hotel and its surroundings. We appreciate your feedback and assure you that we take into account all views to enhance the experience of all...

Herts
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Some trepidation before our 2 night stay based on previous reviews but we had a great time. Sure, the place is a little tired in places but to us that didn't detract and gave the resort a certain charm. The room was large, clean and comfortable and we had no hot water issues. The food was ok but nothing special,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MikeH98
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thank you for sending us your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. Our desire has always been that our customers fully enjoy the vast and lush nature that leads from the road to the same hotel and its surroundings. We welcome your comments and certainly we will take into account all views to enhance the experience...

San Jose
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a nice location but the infrastructure is old and need maintenance. The rooms are at most "basic". I paid for a "superior" room but the mattress was terrible. The shower "sometime" has hot water. The restaurant was supposed to have menu "a la carta" but you only get buffet. The staff was rude and seemed annoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank igalmarino
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Guest , We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. Each day, we take into account the views of all our customers who have enjoyed the charm of the area of Sarapiqui. Our mission has always been to have an eco-tourist hotel where nature is the main protagonist and our customers enjoy the peace that nature...

Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Let's start with we made a reservation 1 week ahead when we did the reservation no one told us that you can bring food we get there with all the family we have a 5 month old baby and an 80 year old senior citizen the staff was very rude so we asked to speak to some type of manager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nelson R
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Nelson, We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. My apologies for your experience. Each day, we take into account the views of all our customers who have enjoyed the charm of the area of Sarapiqui. Our mission has always been to have an eco-tourist hotel where nature is the main protagonist and our customers enjoy...

Brick, New Jersey
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here 2 nights - many problems with this place. The hotel was lacking basic necessities - hot water, telephone, cell phone connection, television, access to a computer. We could not control the temperature in the room -It was very cold and there was 1 sheet and 1 unwashed comfort. The food made 7 of the 12 in our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lucia G
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Lucia, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It will be very helpful for all readers. We will be looking for ways to improve ourselves in order to avoid bad experiences from our guests. "Hacienda Sueño Azul" is a nature experience, so, the mail goal is to disconnect from daily stress. We apologies for your bad...

Countryside, Illinois
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here 2 nights with a Perillo tour and were disappointed with the hotel. Not only is it difficult to get to, it is also far from other towns and activities. Walking over the swaying bridge was an experience. The room offered no amenities, not even a clock. The air conditioner worked erratically and the room did not seem...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary K
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Mary, We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are working to improve the service and details. We invite you to stay again at Sueño Azul and enjoy the nature and relaxed vacations. Best Regards, Federico Gallegos General Manager

bingo,ny
Reviewed 3 March 2014

we were on a PERILLO GROUP PRE-ARRANGED TOUR that promotes quality!! and we ended up at this place on our 2nd nite. we had no hot water for 2 nites[large nice shower area], camp like rustic accomodations. ac system that could not be controlled, flimsy bedding, holes in the spreads. certainly no quality. i will say the staff were lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank parbingo
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Parbingo, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. However, we are very sad to read your comments about our hospitality and service. We are usually known for our attentive and friendly staff. We are trully sorry and we would like to apologize for that. Best Regards, Federico Gallegos General Manager

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Every morning when I wake up at Sueno Azul I think: "Another day in paradise". You hear amazing nature sounds while lying in bed, once you get up you have the most beautiful view from your back porch. The rooms are comfortable and very clean and so are the bathrooms with windows and spacious showers. The staff is incredibly friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ralf B
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Ralf, We feel really happy with your review. Read about your great experience in our hotel is wonderful. Hope you be back soon with your family. Best Regards, Federico Gallegos

Rosengarten, Germany
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Sueno Azul is the most beautiful Location I've ever been to. My husband and I are coming back every year, since 5 years now to spend time with friends from all over the world. The rooms are all beautiful, the views on the porches are amazing. The stuff is very sweet, the food simply delicious and the spa treatments are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie L
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hacienda! Nice to hear your great experience. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Regards, Federico Gallegos General Manager

Reviewed 7 February 2014

Sueno Azul is an amazing resort. During my recent stay, I went zip lining, horse back riding and swimming in the river. The grounds are beautifully maintained and full of amazing birds and wildlife. The food is especially great. A real joy to eat in their open air dining room. I have been here for 6 years and will be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 155e81
FedeGallegos G, General Manager at Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul, responded to this review

Dear Guess, Thanks for recommend us. Nice to read you enjoyed Hacienda Sueño Azul. Hope to see you back soon. Regards, Federico Gallegos General Manager

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (81)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horquetas
15.4 km away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 5 in Sarapiqui
577 reviews
12.2 km away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 2 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
116 reviews
18.8 km away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.6 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
1,183 reviews
33.4 km away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
224 reviews
4.7 km away
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul has a unique rustic elegance style where good taste and nature stand out. It is a magnificent place to rest and detoxify both mind and body. Sueno Azul is the perfect blend between nature and comfort. With an excellent panoramic view towards lakes and mountains, its 64 rooms are beautifully decorated with a rustic touch, furnished with Queen beds, ceiling fan or air conditioning, private bath with hot water, hair dryer, safety box, and a private terrace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul

Address: 12 | Sarapiqui, Horquetas 3630-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > Horquetas
Price Range: $104 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nature, a lot of outside activities”
 of 5 bubbles vivianac743, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are a longer walk to get to the dinner area, bar and pool.”
 of 5 bubbles 298LauraM298, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Reserve the superior room for the air-conditioning to sleep better in the humid nights.”
  • cattle egret from our room
  • spectacled cayman just of our deck
  • Blue jeans poison dart frog just outside room door
 of 5 bubbles 59danc, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with views of the grounds, not just the jungle.”
 of 5 bubbles anne896, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
“No air conditioning but fans work fairly well.”
 of 5 bubbles trailblazer_10, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5