We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Heartland World Heritage Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 242: English reviews
Start your review of Heartland World Heritage Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

OK check in Asian lady not too knowledgeable. Hotel is old with odd layout. Two long buildings with center hall for room access with each unit having a patio door to center courtlyard. No soundproofing, so lots of noise from hallway. Room was clean. Parking for our unit was at the end of the building. Had a restaurant and bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On our previous visit the attached tavern was the highlight. This visit the wettest coldest night possibly on the Coast for January. The Tavern was cold, no fire , no atmosphere. Very disappointing for what used to be a West Coast icon. Rooms were ok but an average place to stay for travellers passing through from the West Coast to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pam4967
Edmonton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I guess that beggars can't be too fussy because there aren't a lot of places to stay in the area around Haast but the Heartland World Heritage Hotel definitely fell short of my expectations for a more upscale "hotel." Actually, it would be better called a "motel" by North American standards. It would fall into the budget accommodations category in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorsmanEdmonton
Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear OutdoorsmanEdmonton Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us here in Haast. I apologise for not meeting your expectations on this occasion. I have spoken to the restaurant staff and we are now replacing all ice buckets, staff should be looking at this and removing from inventory all buckets that are rusted...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Whilst there isn't anything of any real note to see in Haast, it dies provide a great stopover between Queenstown and the Glaciers. The hotel staff were friendly at check in and the room we had was very clean and comfortable and quite modern. No signal which isn't a problem and wifi is provided. Lovely view across the large well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy V
Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathy V Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read that you found your room comfortable. We are in the first stages of new curtains which include a sheer curtain for privacy and to reduce the amount of sunlight into the rooms. We hope to see you...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can definitely say that, given the chance, I wouldn't have stayed at this hotel or in Haast. The hotel was exceptionally dull, the room needs more lighting, the fridge didn't appear to be doing anything at all, the heater is off a centralised system and cannot be controlled by the room, the wifi is extremely slow. Overall, i would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James K
Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James K Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us here at the Heartland World Heritage Hotel. It is a shame to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us and that we did not met your expectations. I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay...

Oroua Downs, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The King room we stayed in was small, out-dated, had no fridge (and was expected to pay for the bag of ice required to keep food and beverages cold) - very disappointed in the value for money paid. Would not stay here again as there are much better accommodations available in Haast. Check in was slow for our group and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMB27958
Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LMB27958 Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us. We are in the process of installing mini fridges to our rooms and at this stage we have completed one block which unfortunately is not our kings rooms. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels along the West Coast. Kindest regards...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A good stop over point on the way from Queenstown to Greymouth. It does seem to be in the middle of nowhere but actually it's a quaint little place. The hotel check-in was quick and the staff friendly and helpful. The room was clean and a reasonable size. Our tv didn't work initially and the staff were quick to respond...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kazzb2016
Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kazzb2016 Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us here at Heartland World Heritage Hotel. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay and that staff were quick to resolve the TV issue. We are in the process of sample sheer curtains to our rooms which should give a bit...

New Zealand
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Hotel was clean, dry, and functional (not fancy). Manager was helpful. Haast is remote - don't expect to have signal on your mobile phone ( get away from work, finally ! ), but there is wifi & land-line phone. Remember to arrive before the local shop closes at 7pm (which also does burgers etc), or local food places at about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wwilberforce
Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wwilbeforce Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us here at the Heartland World Heritage Hotel. Haast is well known for its sand-flies and a place to escape some of todays technology. I am glad you enjoyed you time on the Westcoast Look forward to seeing you again Kindest regards Tracey Dinan General...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We recently had a one night stop over at this wonderful site along the west coast of New Zealand. The staff was excellent and the hotel and pub were terrific. It really lived up to the west coast NZ mentality of restaurants closing only when we are ready to leave. The food was excellent and everything about our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeGoPhoto
Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JoeGo What a wonderful way to start the day by reading you lovely review about your recent stay with us here at the Heartland World Heritage Hotel. Our team tries to assist wherever possible and it is lovely of you to recognise their efforts. Many thanks and safe and happy travels Warmest regards Tracey Dinan General Manager

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We stopped for one night in Haast at this motel. We were en-route from Franz Josef to Queenstown. There's not much to commend Haast itself as a destination, but it was a good place to break the journey. The motel looks very dated from the outside - it looks like the worst of 1960s architecture - concrete. It's a 'traditional'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rthomp
Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rthomp Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. Glad to read that you found your room to be of comfort. Our Waiatoto Restaurant where breakfast is served, is on the books for a revamp starting this coming winter. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay on the Westcoast....

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haast hotels
0.4 km away
Haast River TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.6 km away
Aspiring Court Motel
5.8 km away
Bay Road Motel
Bay Road Motel
#2 of 4 in Haast
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Hannah's Homestead
Hannah's Homestead
#3 of 4 in Haast
18 reviews
2.5 km away
Heritage Park Lodge
Heritage Park Lodge
#2 of 3 in Haast
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Heartland World Heritage Hotel

Address: Haast-Jackson Bay Road, Haast 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Haast
Price Range: $122 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland World Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heartland World Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Haast World Heritage
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Heartland World Heritage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Probably wouldn't stay again. Definitely tired and overdue for an upgrade.”
pam4967, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are much the same - may as well ask for one close to the reception desk.”
OutdoorsmanEdmonton, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Dont stay there!! Its very disorganised and cold at end of April, would be really freezing in winter. Appears to cater bus tours.”
LeighR625, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with parking near by”
Pictonbear, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Unsure it has any good rooms to be honest.”
AlfaRomeoSpider76, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5