We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castaways Resort

Orbitz.comUSD 151*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 155*
USD 151*
USD 155*
USD 151*
USD 155*
USD 151*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Castaways Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Castaways Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Auckland
Reviewed 6 November 2016

This is a great place to go to get away from it all. Close to Auckland CBD. Great views over the sea and the setting sun. Very clean and spacious room. Easy to go for walks rides on the beach. very quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cricketfanBB
Reviewed 5 November 2016

On Wednesday night we decided to have a celebratory meal at Agave. The restaurant has recently undergone some changes, and we were extremely disappointed with the results. One ordered the Stone Grill steak with bacon (really, bacon is THAT much more expensive than seafood?!), and that's literally all he got. A steak, with one strip of bacon wrapped around it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
Auckland
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Our family spent last weekend at Castaway Resort. What a beautiful place it is to just relax and soak in the wonderful view from the chalets. The chalets are beautifully appointed, lovely linen, nice and clean and fresh and wonderful. Great place to just get away and chill for a weekend. Restaurant on site as well, we didn't eat there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi4
Whitford, Auckland
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We had lunch at Castaways with overseas guests. Firstly the view is spectacular and next time we would definitely ask for window seating. The meal itself was also very good. Well presented although the chocolate dessert was a little disappointing. One came out quickly and was flat as if left a little long. The second was more appealing and came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheezel
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

A beautiful setting. Food okay, not startling. Staff more interested in talking to each other than checking on customers. Waited 25 minutes after finishing main meal to be asked if we required anything else, inspire raising our hands twice to attract attention. Would have just left but wanted to enjoy a glass of wine on the deck with the stunning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 4SherylH
Mauri-vdB, General Manager at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hi 4SherylH Thanks for the feedback and coming out to enjoy the view for our stunning clifftops. Sorry that we have let you down services wise. This is an area we are constantly striving to improve, hopefully we will see you again soon. Regards Mauri Van Den Bosch General Manager

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing 2 days at castaways. Our chalet was incredible, well appointed with magnificent views. The restaurant served us yummy breakfast both days and we had an excellent 2 course meal on Saturday night. The staff were really customer focused and very friendly. We will definitely return as we loved the rugged beach and great walks 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Don't be put off by the distance from civilization because you will miss the charm of this lovely rugged and isolated west coast of the North Island. The drive out to the coast onto the Awhitu Peninsular is stunning especially in spring with the blossom and green green grass on the rolling countryside. Then you arrive at the black sand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiglobetroter
Orere Point, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 September 2016

the experience in this chalet was nice however no lights outside and we had to clamber down steps in the dark..this should be checked on regular basis as a fall down those sort of steps would not be nice

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y4985TLjames
Mauri-vdB, General Manager at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hi Y4985TLjames Glad to see you liked the view and the chalet and your review is greatly appreciated. Regarding the lighting, I wanted to let you know we are working through our lighting around the resort and improving the darker areas. Definitely want to provide a safe area for our guests to get around. Regards Mauri Van Den Bosch General...

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

From the spectacular staff to the tidy and well situated view with an amazing view of karioitahi beach everything was perfect, awesome place to get away from the norm, managed to find some pretty awesome cliff walks and hidden waterfalls around the resort views are breathetaking will deffinately be back . Thank you so much castaways.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maia h
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The staff at Castaway are amazing. So friendly, helpful, professional at both reception and Agave Restaurant onsite. We enjoyed a cocktail at the restaurant before dinner, watched the sunset (stunning ocean views!), then ordered from the stonegrill menu, cooking our steak and seafood on our own plates at our table. Fastest service! The chalet is lovely with views to refresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael W

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiuku
25.9 km away
Tuakau Hotel
Tuakau Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
137 reviews
33.1 km away
Novotel Auckland Airport
34.9 km away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 km away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
7.6 km away
The Kentish Hotel
The Kentish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waiuku
18 reviews
26.6 km away
Big Bay Holiday Park
Big Bay Holiday Park
#3 of 3 in Waiuku
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castaways Resort is located on the stunning cliff tops of Kariotahi Beach, Auckland.With a fabulous range of services available, friendly and helpful staff and a commitment to providing wonderful experiences to guests, Castaways Resort is Auckland most popular cliff top ocean front resort.Be pampered at onsite Bersantai Day Spa, recharge with a walk along the ocean beach below, savour as you dine on the cliff tops at Agave Restaurant with the sounds of the ocean below, have fun with onsite activities such as 4WDing, archery and blokarting and relax in seaview accommodation - it's all here at Castaways Resort.Wonderful as a weekend getaway, perfect for a stopover during your New Zealand holiday (Aucklands International airport is only 45 minutes away), gorgeous as a wedding destination, ideal for your next conference or retreat and a true escape for a day trip, Castaways Resort is not to be missed! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castaways Resort

Address: 685 Karioitahi Road | Karioitahi Beach, Waiuku, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiuku
Price Range: $179 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Castaways Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castaways Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Castaways Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Remote so bring your own Wine and food and enjoy at the room.”
X32DQrayb, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Spa is not open on Mondays or Tuesdays. Tree tent < Coastal tent (for us).”
MattFranX, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“high room with wonderful views”
paty423, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the chalets are staggered on the cliff so every chalet is nice.”
jodiec228, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All have great views.”
desandadi, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 151* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 151
TripAdvisorUSD 151
Booking.comUSD 155
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates