We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Castaways Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Castaways Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 185: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A fantastic place to stay in West Coast style and watch the Wild West coast sea. The colours and the sound were wonderful. The units are lovely and very self contained. What a view. We had a great time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ravenwo
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have stayed a Castaways a number of times on business and used their meeting facilities. It has always been very well organised and well catered. The rooms are comfortable and pleasant. The views are great and also proximity to the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely loved my stay here. The view was just gorgeous. The rooms were quite big as well. The staff were lovely and very friendly. I would definitely come back here to try out their day spa facilities. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to escape the crowded city life to relax in a calm and chilled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanii12
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Castaways Resort, 68.5 Kariotahi Road, Waiuku, North Island, Aotearoa New Zealand 29th -30th Oct 2016 Attention to Detail We loved the stunning views of the wild west beach, the great stretch of churning Tasman sea and rugged cliffs. The Chalet was stylish, well furnished and equipped, very clean and comfortable. The dining area has wonderful views and the breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paty423
Auckland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great place to go to get away from it all. Close to Auckland CBD. Great views over the sea and the setting sun. Very clean and spacious room. Easy to go for walks rides on the beach. very quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cricketfanBB
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On Wednesday night we decided to have a celebratory meal at Agave. The restaurant has recently undergone some changes, and we were extremely disappointed with the results. One ordered the Stone Grill steak with bacon (really, bacon is THAT much more expensive than seafood?!), and that's literally all he got. A steak, with one strip of bacon wrapped around it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
Auckland
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Our family spent last weekend at Castaway Resort. What a beautiful place it is to just relax and soak in the wonderful view from the chalets. The chalets are beautifully appointed, lovely linen, nice and clean and fresh and wonderful. Great place to just get away and chill for a weekend. Restaurant on site as well, we didn't eat there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi4
Whitford, Auckland
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We had lunch at Castaways with overseas guests. Firstly the view is spectacular and next time we would definitely ask for window seating. The meal itself was also very good. Well presented although the chocolate dessert was a little disappointing. One came out quickly and was flat as if left a little long. The second was more appealing and came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheezel
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

A beautiful setting. Food okay, not startling. Staff more interested in talking to each other than checking on customers. Waited 25 minutes after finishing main meal to be asked if we required anything else, inspire raising our hands twice to attract attention. Would have just left but wanted to enjoy a glass of wine on the deck with the stunning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 4SherylH
Mauri-vdB, General Manager at Castaways Resort, responded to this review

Hi 4SherylH Thanks for the feedback and coming out to enjoy the view for our stunning clifftops. Sorry that we have let you down services wise. This is an area we are constantly striving to improve, hopefully we will see you again soon. Regards Mauri Van Den Bosch General Manager

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing 2 days at castaways. Our chalet was incredible, well appointed with magnificent views. The restaurant served us yummy breakfast both days and we had an excellent 2 course meal on Saturday night. The staff were really customer focused and very friendly. We will definitely return as we loved the rugged beach and great walks 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiuku
26.0 km away
Tuakau Hotel
Tuakau Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
123 reviews
33.0 km away
Novotel Auckland Airport
35.8 km away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
The Kentish Hotel
The Kentish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waiuku
13 reviews
7.6 km away
No photo provided
Waiuku Motel
#1 of 1 in Waiuku
5 reviews
9.2 km away
Waiuku Lodge Motel
Waiuku Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Waiuku
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castaways Resort is located on the stunning cliff tops of Kariotahi Beach, Auckland.With a fabulous range of services available, friendly and helpful staff and a commitment to providing wonderful experiences to guests, Castaways Resort is Auckland most popular cliff top ocean front resort.Be pampered at onsite Bersantai Day Spa, recharge with a walk along the ocean beach below, savour as you dine on the cliff tops at Agave Restaurant with the sounds of the ocean below, have fun with onsite activities such as 4WDing, archery and blokarting and relax in seaview accommodation - it's all here at Castaways Resort.Wonderful as a weekend getaway, perfect for a stopover during your New Zealand holiday (Aucklands International airport is only 45 minutes away), gorgeous as a wedding destination, ideal for your next conference or retreat and a true escape for a day trip, Castaways Resort is not to be missed! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castaways Resort

Address: 685 Karioitahi Road | Karioitahi Beach, Waiuku, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiuku
Price Range: $204 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Castaways Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castaways Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Castaways Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“high room with wonderful views”
 of 5 bubbles paty423, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the chalets are staggered on the cliff so every chalet is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles jodiec228, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles desandadi, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“You obviously need to specify if you want a double bed!”
 of 5 bubbles lisas940, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Any room would be great. My chalet was #14 and was very private.”
 of 5 bubbles elad24, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay