We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Back of Chapel Backpackers

Save
Share
50 Green St, Windsor, Stonnington, Victoria 3181 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 3 Speciality lodging in Windsor
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
“Back Of Chapel is devoted to providing our guests with the best experience. We hope to see you soon.”Back of Chapel is a 150 year old Victorian terrace, which has recently been renovated. We are Located in the South-Eastern suburb of Windsor in Melbourne, Australia. Back Of Chapel is nestled in the core of Chapel Street, which is a vibrant, cultural and popular tourist area in Melbourne. Chapel Street provides an historic setting with diverse dining in many cafes, restaurants and bars as well as innovative architecture with exciting arts and cultural venues. Here at Back Of Chapel we pride ourselves on offering the most fun, friendly and chilled out hostel in Melbourne. All of our rooms are reasonably priced and we cater for many types of travelers. Many of our guests make a reservation for a few days and end up staying for a few months. The diversity and enthusiasm of our guests provide a great family vibe. You can always count on meeting new and friendly people from all over the world. Back Of Chapel also has a dedicated bar for backpackers and friends. The BOC bar features a variety of local and imported beer, wine and spirits all at low prices. Our friendly staff will always make you feel welcome. If you are looking to stay for a few nights or a few months, Back Of Chapel will provide a homely and relaxed feel that will make your stay in Melbourne more enjoyable than anywhere else. Please note that our triple rooms consist of a double bed and a single bunk on top.Hostel reception hours are:8:30am-5pm everyday (closed 1-2pm)Recommended for guests over 18 years of Age.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Adults only
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Self-serve laundry
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
93Reviews0Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 20
  • 8
  • 6
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Troy G wrote a review Feb 2020
45 contributions25 helpful votes
There are good aspects about this place but a couple of things let it down. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was really hot and stuffy and the room only had a small pedestal fan so if you’re on the top bunk you don’t get to feel any of the air. Also there was a strong smell from bins out in the street came into the room through the window. The backpackers was kept clean by staff but was let down by guests not keeping it tidy, particularly in the rooms. The building has an interesting layout and there are bathrooms and toilets on different levels and around corners, this worked out great as there always seemed to be one free when I needed it. There is onsite laundry facilities which is handy, and a big kitchen area which was well equipped. I originally booked for 3 nights but I cancelled after the first night as I couldn’t handle the heat in the room and lack of fresh air. The guy at reception, Aaron, was very understanding and friendly. He gave me a refund for the balance which was great. I would stay again but probably in cooler weather.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Luca L wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
My experience in Back of Chapel was amazing. Its been my house and my big family. You can feel good vibes and staff are very helpfull and gently. In the middle of Chapel street you have everithing you need. Nightclubs, restaurants markets and very closed to st kilda beach. Free parking is available just near. Ill come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from BackofChapelManager, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Thank you so much for posting such an informative review. We are always trying to make it feel like a second home for everyone here.
Read more
Charlotte C wrote a review Jan 2020
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Amazing location right on Chapel Street! Homey, family atmosphere. Feels more like a share house due to the living room and friendly guests and staff. Free breakfast between 9 and 12 every day. Close to teams and trains, the CBD and the beach
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from BackofChapelManager, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Thank you so much for the kind and thoughtful review. Back of Chapel is indeed in a great location right in the heart of Chapel Street and easily accessible to get to the city. WE are glad that you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again soon. ;-) Aaron
Read more
Cubb T wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions
If you want to appreciate any other hostel you may stay at during your time in Australia, I’d recommend doing one night here. Extremely weird vibe going on in this hostel, it’s pretty dirty and smells in the rooms. People like to have the lights off and curtains drawn all day long and have no consideration for others. The bloke at reception was cool though and very helpful. Bathrooms were actually clean and okay. Wouldn’t stay here again. When we checked out my Girlfriend removed her sheets to reveal massive blood stains on the mattress also which is always a Brucey bonus. 🤙
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from BackofChapelManager, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers
Responded 5 Oct 2019
Thanks for posting a review. We clean all communal areas of the hostel daily. We also recommend guests in dorm rooms to open the windows to get fresh air inside. Staff wont be forcing all the windows open if guests are still asleep or comfortable to have the window closed. All our mattresses should have protectors on them which get cleaned on a regular basis. We will need to educate our staff to do this more efficiently. Thanks for staying with us. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels, Aaron
Read more
blythemcneish wrote a review Nov 2018
Edinburgh, United Kingdom4 contributions
Stayed at Back of Chapel for 5 nights. Reception was very helpful and friendly. Bathrooms although cleaned everyday became very dirty quickly. Other occupants leaving the bath mats soaking in a pile on the floor. Floor became very gross and we didn’t particularly want to stand on the floor without thongs on. Bit of noise each night but bareable. Very disappointed by the last night. Loud music was blasted outside our window at 3am. When asked to quiet down the other backpackers did so unwillingly for around 20 minutes. Before blasting it louder again yelling and bashing the table downstairs outside our room. Making noise until around 6am! We had to checkout by 10 so only left us with 2/ barely 3 hours sleep. In a great spot which is why we picked to stay here but felt it was more like a party pad for foreign backpackers. Won’t be returning. Definitely should lower its prices after this experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from BackofChapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers
Responded 28 Nov 2018
Thanks for your review. After checking your reservation we gave you a full refund on your last night. No guest of ours should have to put up with that kind of behavior - I apologies for that. The culprits also departed the next day. We promote a 10 P.M. curfew of group gatherings, after this time we advise those guests to continue their night on nearby Chapel St or any other location. I have checked all the showers. There are no leaks. My guess is that we need to try and educate the guests on closing the doors fully to prevent water flowing out. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Melbourne. Aaron
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 21 - USD 74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaGreater MelbourneStonningtonWindsor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Back of Chapel Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Back of Chapel Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include Chapel Street (0.04 km), 56 Bricks (0.3 km), and Back Bar (0.03 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Back of Chapel Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and self serve laundry.
What food & drink options are available at Back of Chapel Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Back of Chapel Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Betty's Burgers & Concrete Co., Amok, and Mr. Miyagi.
Is Back of Chapel Backpackers located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Windsor.
Are there any historical sites close to Back of Chapel Backpackers?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Melbourne Gaol (5.6 km), St. Patrick's Cathedral (5.0 km), and Rippon Lea Estate (2.9 km).